1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

How to stop "xxxxx has stopped" messages

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by tim091, Aug 12, 2017.

  1. tim091

    tim091 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016

    Jul 13, 2016
    16
    1
    36
    Male
    I disabled some stuff I don't want on my phone but can't uninstall (You Tube, Google Music, Google search for example).

    Now I regularly get error messages like "You Tube has stopped", "Google has stopped" etc.

    Well, I know they have stopped because I have disabled them! Any way to stop these pointless messages?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    22,848
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    22,848
    16,273
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Well is YouTube (for example) is disabled you shouldn't get such messages. Do you have something else that's trying to launch YouTube? Some app that's coded to use YouTube for opening videos, for example?

    See whether you can still "clear defaults" for these apps (logically disabling should do that automatically, but maybe something isn't being logical).

    If these messages pop up in any particular circumstance, that might be helpful information in establishing the cause. I've never had messages pop-up about disabled apps having stopped, so there must be something that's causing this.
     
  3. tim091

    tim091 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016

    Jul 13, 2016
    16
    1
    36
    Male
    Thanks for the info. So, I have just had a look at You Tube and it says "some defaults set", but that is greyed out. But I haven't run any app that (as far as I know) is likely to need You Tube.

    I could sort of understand the logic with Google Search, for example, when I launch Chrome (and if Google Search is set to be the default provider) that may trigger a "hold on, Google Search isn't working" type of message. But I don't have it set as the default search provider in Chrome.

    I haven't found any specific triggers for these messages yet (they pop up when the phone is idle) but I will monitor it and see if I can find more info.
     
  4. tim091

    tim091 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016

    Jul 13, 2016
    16
    1
    36
    Male
    UPDATE: Looks like it happens when I switch on wifi. So, my thought is that it is checking for updates on those disabled apps.

    I have disabled auto update in Play settings and will see.
     

Share This Page

Loading...