1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

How To How to take a screenshot with the HTC One M9

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Rob, Mar 6, 2015.

  1. Rob

    Rob I'm tellin' mommy on you!
    Administrator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #35
    Points:
    563
    Posts:
    2,232
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008

    Mar 26, 2008
    2,232
    3,871
    563
    Androiding
    This is one of the most common questions for any phone including the HTC One M9- how to take a screenshot. The M9 actually has 2 methods of taking screenshots, one of them brand new... let's have a look:



    The easiest way to take a screenshot is:
    1. Visit the screen you want to capture
    2. Hold down the power button and volume down button
    3. You'll hear a shutter sound and the screenshot will be added to your notification bar
    You can also add a "Screenshot" quick setting:
    1. Swipe your notification bar down twice to bring up quick settings
    2. Tap the paper and pencil icon in the top right to edit the quick settings options
    3. Scroll down until you see the "Screenshot" option
    4. Long press and drag the "Screenshot" option to the top panel of icons
    You'll now be able to take a screenshot from your quick settings by double swiping down and tapping the quick settings option.
     

    Advertisement

    feralicious and Nevis like this.
  2. Nevis

    Nevis Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    122
    38
    53
    Minnesota
    Side tip: Rather than swiping down twice from the top, you can use two fingers on a single swipe to access your quick settings.
     
    Rose4uKy and El Presidente like this.
  3. PyroSporker

    PyroSporker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    1,775
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010

    Apr 3, 2010
    1,775
    1,284
    323
    Great tip. This will be helpful to folks down the line when they get the device.

    This screenshot method through the notification pull down, quick settings, screenshot, is definitely not brand new though. HTC introduced that functionality with Sense 5 ;)
     
    #3 PyroSporker, Mar 7, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2015
  4. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Power + volume is the old HTC screen shot - but they used to retain the Android power + home . Wonder if they still will?
     
  5. PyroSporker

    PyroSporker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    1,775
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010

    Apr 3, 2010
    1,775
    1,284
    323
    As dumb as it is to have 3 ways to perform the same function, I wondered this too! :D
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  6. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Like @Hadron said in customizing navbar thread - it's all about muscle memory.

    I like power + home for that reason, and I built that muscle memory because it's the standard.

    If they really wanted to provide an easy third way, they'd adopt the power menu, a very popular root modification.

    1425756774617.jpg

    I've customized mine even further but you can see the advantage to the swipe swipe chicken dance lol.
     
    KOLIO likes this.
  7. Rose4uKy

    Rose4uKy Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,236
    Joined:
    May 6, 2010

    May 6, 2010
    1,236
    222
    143
    Kentucky
    I'm used to just doing the quick settings now that's how I do it.
     
  8. CapThrowback

    CapThrowback Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    878
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    878
    1,647
    273
    Male
    Manager
    Pwnnsylvania
    That's actually backwards - Power + Volume Down is the standard Android screenshot functionality (dating back to ICS, I believe). HTC implemented the Power + Home screenshot back in the days of Gingerbread, if memory serves. I remember adding the functionality to some custom ROMs for Supersonic.
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  9. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    TIL that I got that backwards.

    I plead temporary insanity. :D

    I remember needing root for the Supersonic and using the SDK trick on my 3vo after that, as I've always hated the volume - power trick.
     
  10. markdoc

    markdoc Android Expert
    Rank:
     #90
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    974
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011

    Jun 28, 2011
    974
    368
    193
    Male
    Retired Dentist
    Suburb of New York City, NY, USA
    I know this is an old post but maybe it's still active. I just a new M9 from Asurion for Verizon. I checked my quick settings and there isn't a "Screenshot" option. My software version is 2.6.605.15. I can take screenshots using power + down volume and power + home. Any ideas?
    Thanks in advance.
     
  11. AZgl1500

    AZgl1500 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    618
    Posts:
    6,396
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    6,396
    3,141
    618
    Male
    Retired and loving it.
    Oklahoma grasslands
    power button, plus 'home button' is the standard way to do a Screenshot.

    works on every smartphone I have owned.
     
  12. Dergon Dragon

    Dergon Dragon Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016

    Feb 12, 2016
    1
    0
    15
    Male
    there are three ways (ive confirmed this myself) to screen shot with the M9

    Quick Settings
    Vol. Down + Power
    Power + Home Button

    They All Work, And I Prefer the Vol. Down and Power button combo, since i can do it one Handed.
     
  13. markdoc

    markdoc Android Expert
    Rank:
     #90
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    974
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011

    Jun 28, 2011
    974
    368
    193
    Male
    Retired Dentist
    Suburb of New York City, NY, USA
    I'm still saying my Verizon M9 does not have "Screenshot" choice in Quick Settings. I've double and triple checked and it isn't there. I would really like confirmation from another Verizon user.
     
  14. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    If you don't see it on your VZW M9,then they (VZW) had it omitted from their M9.
    VZW & AT&T are notorious for omitting options/settings/controls that are on other models of the same device.
     

HTC One M9

The HTC One M9 is the company's 2015 flagship smartphone. Its specs include a Snapdragon 810 chipset, 5-inch 1080p display, 3GB of RAM, a 20MP rear camera paired with an UltraPixel front camera, 2,840mAh battery, and more.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...