1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!
  2. We apologize for the disruption in email services! They are sending out now, but there is a backlog, so it may take a little time to catch up.

How to tether tablet to phone?

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by kingoftheworms, Sep 20, 2011.

  1. kingoftheworms

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011

    Sep 12, 2011
    9
    0
    5
    OK, so I'm a total beginner at this kind of thing and find the internet solutions too complicated.

    So could someone tell me in layman's terms how to tether my Archos & home to my android phone? The tablet doesn't have Bluetooth, spo that's totally out and I only have the AppsLib market place (the hacks to get the full market place just don't work) So, how could I tether the two to get 3G?
     

    Advertisement

  2. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #23
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    14,813
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    14,813
    4,535
    1,108
    Male
    Do you mean from the tablet to the phone or from the phone to tablet? Either way, you should be able to turn your device into a wireless hotspot by going to Menu>Settings>Wireless>Mobile AP.
     
  3. kingoftheworms

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011

    Sep 12, 2011
    9
    0
    5
    I'm confused, what would be the difference between the two?

    And I have nothing in Wireless apart from Wi-Fi.
     
  4. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #23
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    14,813
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    14,813
    4,535
    1,108
    Male
    The difference is that, where is your SIM where you will get the 3G signal located, in the phone or the tablet? Of course 3G internet is available only on where the SIM is inserted. And you will tether from that device.

    Nothing in wireless apart from WiFi? That's almost not possible, unless you are referring to your tablet. You Menu>Settings>wireless and network option should contain the options for "flight mode", "bluetooth settings", "USB settings", "Mobile Networks" and "Mobile AP" (mobile AP is available on Android 2.1 and higher).
     
  5. kingoftheworms

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011

    Sep 12, 2011
    9
    0
    5

    From my mobile? Ah right. I'm on 2.1 here but there is no mobile AP Airplane mode, Wifi, WiFi settings, Bluetooth, Bluetooth settings, VPN settings and Mobile Networks. That's it.
     
  6. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #23
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    14,813
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    14,813
    4,535
    1,108
    Male
    Oh sorry. A quick Google search states that 2.2 is the one with native Mobile Hotspot support. You could use WiFi tethering apps though, get some from the market. Although I think they may need root.
     
  7. Bob Cat

    Bob Cat Careful, They're sharp!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,046
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010

    Nov 17, 2010
    7,046
    4,288
    513
    Midland's, South Carolina
    I use my Viewsonic Gtablet using wireless tethering from my Incredible but it does need root.
     
  8. dan330

    dan330 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #26
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    11,819
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    11,819
    3,411
    923
    1. you have too root...your phone. to get permission to share your data connect to other devices. you will need to find the rooting solution for you phone in the sub-form dedicated to your phone.

    2. since you do not have the full android market... you can search online for the "wifi tether for root users" app. download and install. it is free.

    3. keep in mind this is data usage of your cell service...so if you are not unlimited.. you will be charged
     
  9. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #23
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    14,813
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    14,813
    4,535
    1,108
    Male
    I wonder, since I dont have a device where market is disabled, will appbrain work for those devices?
     
  10. kingoftheworms

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011

    Sep 12, 2011
    9
    0
    5
    Yeah, I'm a heavy mobile internet user but I have a data plan.

    OK, so once I root it, will it all be there?
     
  11. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #23
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    14,813
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    14,813
    4,535
    1,108
    Male
    Once you root, wifi tether apps will be able to work on your phone. Install one, then activate the app.
     
  12. kingoftheworms

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011

    Sep 12, 2011
    9
    0
    5
  13. dan330

    dan330 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #26
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    11,819
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    11,819
    3,411
    923
    you root the phone.. not the tablet.

    install the tether app of choice... I use "wifi tether for root users"

    that should be it.
     
  14. Bob Cat

    Bob Cat Careful, They're sharp!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,046
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010

    Nov 17, 2010
    7,046
    4,288
    513
    Midland's, South Carolina
    You have to root the phone. In the list of phones on the front page, find your phone , inside that forum there will be a sub-forum call "all things root", that's where you want to go. Then ask those folks what you need to do to get started.
     
  15. kingoftheworms

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011

    Sep 12, 2011
    9
    0
    5
    Will the root wipe my phone?
     
  16. Bob Cat

    Bob Cat Careful, They're sharp!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,046
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010

    Nov 17, 2010
    7,046
    4,288
    513
    Midland's, South Carolina
    Root will not wipe your sd card (pictures etc) but it will wipe whatever is on the phone.
     
  17. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    8,853
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    8,853
    2,370
    433
    Network Admin
    Chicago
    This is inaccurate, there are some root methods for certain phones that do not require a full wipe. Especially with temporary root solutions such as Visionary, z4root, and Gingerbreak.

    Regards, IOWA.
     
  18. oppermanf

    oppermanf Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011

    Dec 9, 2011
    2
    0
    25
    FSE
    Namibia
    How can i make my tablet into a cellphone when sim card is in. I am also new at this. I have lenovo tablet k1 with android 3.1 on it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...