1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

How to trigger a media scan?

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by Jethro10, Nov 15, 2010.

  1. Jethro10

    Jethro10 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    105
    7
    36
    Hi,
    With a lot of apps eg, camera, pictures appears in the gallery immediatley,

    but some apps like Dropbox or blackmoon Attachsave, if you put a picture or MP3 or whatever on the card, they can not appear for ages.

    One way on my Galaxy Apollo is to plug in USB and go into storage mode, it then scans the disk (A little icon in the status bar) and the media is now there.

    A more extreme way is to unmount the card and then physically remove it and re-insert (I dont have to remove the battery) and it sets off a scan.

    Is there anyway to trigger a media scan from within android to make it quicker for stuff to appear?

    thanks
    Jeff
     

    Advertisement

  2. icecold

    icecold Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    667
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    667
    75
    98
    WI
    Power cycle the device...that should cause any of the new media to show up as well. Don't know of anything beyond that.
     
  3. chrlswltrs

    chrlswltrs Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    6,728
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    6,728
    1,791
    333
    Male
    Private Security
    Seattle
  4. jimdroid

    jimdroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    805
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Oct 31, 2009
    805
    106
    93
    SF Bay Area
  5. Medion

    Medion Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,855
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010

    Aug 14, 2010
    1,855
    958
    233
    Male
    Auburn, WA
    Some media programs, like PowerAmp, will rescan folders their assigned to when you open the app.
     
  6. Jethro10

    Jethro10 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    105
    7
    36
  7. Whatstreet

    Whatstreet Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    251
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011

    Apr 23, 2011
    251
    38
    43
    Male
    Engineer
    Fremont, CA
    Apps that download media, such as Dropbox should force a media scan. It could be done by the Android client App performing a media scan after it has succesfully downloaded the file. It could be placed in the App settings as an option.

    The Android Gallery App should have an update button.

    They could do it the same way as Rescan Media by Adihja Talpade. I use this simple App to perform this task and it solves the problem.
     
  8. MyNamesTooLong

    MyNamesTooLong Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    826
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011

    Jan 17, 2011
    826
    51
    78
    First I have ever heard on media scan being desireadble...my vibrant does it and its a pain in the ass for the phone to take 3 minutes to find(the same) media files that my lesser phones could pull up after realizing an sd card was present
     
  9. lespaul

    lespaul Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    May 20, 2011

    May 20, 2011
    37
    9
    16
    Graphic Designer
    wrong post -sorry :)
     
  10. raudi

    raudi Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    If there is a (possibly empty) file named ".nomedia" (without quotations, and make sure you put the dot as the first character) in a folder of your card, then this folder WILL NOT BE SCANNED (if there is a .nomedia in the root of the SD card, then the SD card will NOT be scanned).

    So make sure you delete any unwanted of those and then try
    "Rescan Media" by Aditya Talpade (android market)
     
  11. lepke1979

    lepke1979 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011

    Nov 17, 2011
    1
    0
    5

    If it was every time, I can see that being a problem. But sometimes you download a file and the file does not show up in music player or something...

    I came here looking for an application that can force a rescan (why it's not an option within the OS is beyond me), but one thing I would usually do is find the file in the file manager and rename it. It will then start a rescan. I then rename it back. Possible solution for those that don't want to download a program to force a rescan
     
  12. adaaaam

    adaaaam Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    364
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010

    Oct 25, 2010
    364
    35
    43
    Male
    San Francisco
    Try taking a picture, usually does it for me
     
  13. shyguy6463

    shyguy6463 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012

    Jun 9, 2012
    4
    0
    25
    Leesburg, VA
    On my infuse 4g, I usually go into the stock touchwiz "my files" app, create a random folder, then delete it. It quickly triggers the media scanner.
     

Share This Page

Loading...