1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root How to un-root?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by tennbuck27, Mar 2, 2011.

  1. tennbuck27

    tennbuck27 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    25
    0
    15
    I want to un-root my phone, but I want to make sure I don't mess it up in the process. Can anyone tell me what I need to do?
     

    Advertisement

  2. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    323
    Male
    Virginia
    what did you use to root it?
     
  3. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,933
    Posts:
    32,963
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    32,963
    25,367
    3,933
    Male
    Please provide more information. You can unroot it keeping all of your data, but there will be evidence of root on it. You can use Download z4root 1.3.0 for Android Free - z4root will root your device and enable you to supply system level access to applications that request it. - Softpedia to unroot it.

    If you want to completely wipe away evidence of it's having been rooted you'll have to flash masterstock.zip or do an sbf. We will be glad to walk you through, but please let us know how we may best assist you in this. Let us know how unrooted you need to be.
     
  4. fuzio1963

    fuzio1963 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    248
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    248
    22
    38
    Male
    Chicago, IL
    maderstcok340.zip you mean, right ? ;)
     
  5. gmenfan83

    gmenfan83 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,409
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Yes :D
     
  6. tennbuck27

    tennbuck27 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    25
    0
    15
    Sorry guys, I used Z4 Root. I thought that had an "un-root" option but it doesn't seem to be on my phone anymore for some reason.
     
  7. Bankswood

    Bankswood Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    1,066
    82
    128
    Charlotte
    Probably need to downloaded again. It definitely has an unroot button. As Steven58 says if you need it to be completely stock with no signs of root then do the Madestock340 flash.
     
    tennbuck27 likes this.
  8. ballisticn8

    ballisticn8 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    761
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010

    Mar 15, 2010
    761
    158
    113
    Male
    Data Analyst
    Phoenix, AZ
    maderstock flash will allow you to flash a completely stock rom onto your phone. all your apps will need to be restored from the market and you might lose any data associated with apps since you wont be able to restore the app data using titanium.

    maderstock should also remove any custom recovery (clockwork, etc) but as soon as its completed flashing you'll want to hop out of recovery and reboot ASAP.
     
  9. tennbuck27

    tennbuck27 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    25
    0
    15
    So this maderstock flash is something I need to do before I unroot with Z4 Root?
     
  10. Bankswood

    Bankswood Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    1,066
    82
    128
    Charlotte
  11. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    323
    Male
    Virginia
    are you turning your phone back in to get another one???
     
  12. thehulk20

    thehulk20 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010

    Dec 4, 2010
    72
    1
    36
    N'awlins
    i had a stock rom saved. i reverted back to it and did a master reset. it is a phone that i plan on returning. i saw no apps related to the root or any apps that i downloaded after rooting. is this enough?

    i tried flashing the maderstock, but i had problems.
     
  13. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    323
    Male
    Virginia
    what problems did you have? did you use clockwork mod? or did you use rom manager?
     
  14. tennbuck27

    tennbuck27 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    25
    0
    15
    I am having stuff force close regularly and my camera is really buggy. There have been some real advantages but I am definitely out of my element messing around with this stuff and just want to go back to stock. I will be getting a new phone in a few months anyway and will want to sell this one.


    Where should I save the maderstock on the SD card?
     
  15. thehulk20

    thehulk20 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010

    Dec 4, 2010
    72
    1
    36
    N'awlins
    i used bootstrap..cleared data/cache...tried to flash maderstock, but it said i had an error. i did put it on my sd card. so i used the "install zip from sd card" option.

    but, will the factory reset delete any root items left over?

    like i said, i deleted every possible app pertaining to root...z4..bootstrap...apex...etc.
     
  16. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    323
    Male
    Virginia
    yes save the maderstock to the sd card, and what are you using that is force closing? and what about your camera is real buggy? there are some unstable apps out there that cause these types of errors that rely on your camera.
     
  17. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    323
    Male
    Virginia
    factory reset will not delete any root items in your sdcard, if you used bootstrap and hit reboot recovery, install zip from sdcard and chose the location of the file and it still failed, you may need to download the file again, as you could have had an error downloading (which does happen quite often if you think about it) and if it fails then, you can sbf which is very simple once you do it.

    to delete everything, i would suggest you pull your files from your sd card that you want to keep and put them on your computer, and format your sdcard through settings, sd card & phone storage settings, unmount sdcard, and format sd card and verify you want to do it, and your done
     
  18. thehulk20

    thehulk20 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010

    Dec 4, 2010
    72
    1
    36
    N'awlins
    verizon only ships the "phone part" of the devices now. they do not send the battery or the battery cover or an sd card (refurbs) .

    i took my sd card from my old one and still have it. they are not getting it.

    i flashed the stock rom i had on the card...removed the card...deleted every single app i ever got that appeared in the drawer....and did a factory reset.

    i did all of this because i was having problems flashing maderstock. as it is right now, when the old X is powered on...it shows the droid screen that asks you to activate.

    i just figured that since i am not going to use the original phone anymore and i deleted everything with the factory reset and keeping my sd card...i was going to good to go.
     
  19. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    323
    Male
    Virginia
    i would go ahead and activate it until your new one gets there just to make sure the superuser icon is gone.

    better safe than sorry right?

    EDIT: besides you dont want it to look like you never activated the phone right???
     
  20. tennbuck27

    tennbuck27 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    25
    0
    15

    My gallery feature is really buggy. It seemingly was upgraded but I don't know if that was because I am running apex or if everyone's was upgraded through android. It takes me a solid 2 minutes before I can send/upload a picture that I had just taken.

    ESPN Radio app force closes all the time as does my music player. It could be my LPP but since I know so little about this stuff I would rather just go back to stock.
     
  21. thehulk20

    thehulk20 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010

    Dec 4, 2010
    72
    1
    36
    N'awlins
    well...it has been my new came in and i already deactivated the old one and activated the new one.

    i guess i will have to double check when i get a chance.

    but since i removed my sd card...where would i look for the apps and such in the old phone that would be root related?
     
  22. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    323
    Male
    Virginia
    quite understandable, if you feel that your phone is too buggy rooted with apex that is totally understandable, but i must let you know, apex is faster than the stock rom, it has enough features in it to remain close to stock, but its your choice to go back, and we are here to help you through the process if you want

    if you backed up any app with titanium backup it might be in the titanium backup folder (not sure cause i never backed up apps with titanium backup)
     
  23. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    323
    Male
    Virginia
    http://androidforums.com/droid-x-su...67211-gallery-keeps-crashing.html#post2320815
    try that see if it helps
     
  24. thehulk20

    thehulk20 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010

    Dec 4, 2010
    72
    1
    36
    N'awlins
    Ok. I never sent back the old phone. Had to re-activate it and found that superuser is still in. So..I am downloading the maderstock right now to my pc. Then I will transfer the file to my sd. Reinstall the bootstrap...go into it...clear data/cache...install maderstock from sd card...let it run its course....and should that be it?
     
  25. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    323
    Male
    Virginia
    that will be it, see doesnt it pay to be safe than sorry?
     

Share This Page

Loading...