• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help How to Uninstall Al-moazin, Iquran, Hiziri calander from HTC desire

baswan

Lurker
Aug 25, 2010
Hi m8 i am new to android and picked me an HTC desire while transit from Abu Dhabi airport. It appears that this machine is customised with some preloaded programmes which are used for Muslim Prayers: Al-Moazin, IQuran and Hiziri Calander; the Al-Moazin programme activates GPS.

These programmes keep giving notices and alarms regarding parayer timings. They use a lot of battery these are on ROM and not on SD card I have tried my best to uninstall them using all option in "manage application" at the best i could do is " clear data" and "Forced Stop" but i am not able to uninstall these programmes, how to remove these programmes from my phone memory to save space and power without formatting my Phone . I am in desprate need of help... :( any ideas??

Try Advanced Task Manager. It lists everything running in your system and allows you to uninstall it (long press on the item and select the option). Be warned that if an item is integral to Android, Android itself might not let you uninstall without root access.

If worse comes to worst, you'll need to reinstall android with a standard, non-muslim, version.

Upvote 0
thanks for your reply but frankly I have no idea how do i root to rom and get rid of these irritating applications
If you'd have looked before asking, you'd have seen there's a whole section on rooting on this board -

forum_new.gif
Desire - All Things Root

Firstly, go through the section reading all, and then if any questions aren't answered only then ask them.

Unh.

Upvote 0
Hi everyone
I know this thread is bit old;)
I brought it up because I've exactly the same problem.
I've even rooted my HTC desire and tried removing those apps but I couldnt.
I tried the following apps and got those messages :
File Manager : No suffessient permission