1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

How to Uninstall Media Dock?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dougiesgoindeep, Mar 2, 2010.

  1. dougiesgoindeep

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    35
    0
    15
    I use the media dock as a car dock. How do I uninstall the media dock app? I do not want it switching when docked (not even to the car dock, if there was a way to reverse them).

    I searched but came up empty.

    Thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. square

    square Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    506
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    506
    24
    63
    root and rename dock.apk. or remove the magnet from the multimedia dock.
     
  3. dougiesgoindeep

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    35
    0
    15
    Where do you find dock.apk?
     
  4. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,133
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,133
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    This requires root. Files are in /system/app
    I just renamed the file to Dock.apk.bak in case I wanted to revert someday.
     
  5. dougiesgoindeep

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    35
    0
    15
    Can this been accomplished through Astro or AndroZip? I am getting permission errors when I try to rename the file? The phone is rooted.
     
  6. square

    square Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    506
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    506
    24
    63
    use root explorer. not free, but worth $1.
     
  7. dougiesgoindeep

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    35
    0
    15
    root explorer gives the following error message when trying to rename: "Dock.apk cannot be renamed because the file system is read-only."
     
  8. square

    square Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    506
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    506
    24
    63
    click the "mount r/w" button at the top.
     
    dougiesgoindeep likes this.
  9. dougiesgoindeep

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    35
    0
    15
    That did it. Works perfectly.

    Thanks for the help.
     
  10. Humpa

    Humpa Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    125
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009

    Nov 18, 2009
    125
    11
    38
    IT/php
    Dallas
    He didn't mention this, but when you mount the system r/w, make sure to mount it back to r/o when you are done.
     
  11. dougiesgoindeep

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    35
    0
    15
    Yup, figured that was the right thing to do. Thanks.
     
  12. Humpa

    Humpa Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    125
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009

    Nov 18, 2009
    125
    11
    38
    IT/php
    Dallas
    Nice! We have smart members here at androidforums :D
     
  13. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,133
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,133
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    Smoke and mirrors... :D
     
  14. Humpa

    Humpa Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    125
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009

    Nov 18, 2009
    125
    11
    38
    IT/php
    Dallas
    ... funny members too. ;)
     
  15. ehechter

    ehechter Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010

    Mar 3, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    I bought the verizon docking station that goes in the car, does that one have a magnet in it too?
     
  16. Humpa

    Humpa Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    125
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009

    Nov 18, 2009
    125
    11
    38
    IT/php
    Dallas
    Yes, that is how it knows it is in the car dock.
     

Share This Page

Loading...