1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root How to UNROOT Milesone?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dbbreaker, Mar 8, 2010.

  1. dbbreaker

    dbbreaker Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010

    Jan 18, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    I have a Milestone that I rooted awhile back and want to go back to "unrooted" I find my Milestone has been rebooting alot since I rooted. Now I am not sure if it could have been the apps that I installed. So I went and removed all apps and it still reboots. I wiped data/cache reset, and still reboots.
    This is a UK Milestone. Is there any easy steps for this? I am a total newb and trying to find info on this has been sketchy at best. Now I was thinking of using RSD Lite and flashing the phone with the original 2.0 ROM. Will that get rid of root? I am thinking no. I just want to go back to the original stock and then see if the problem is with the phone itself then I could arrange to have it exchanged.

    Please halp!
     

    Advertisement

  2. hef

    hef Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010

    Feb 4, 2010
    99
    4
    36
    music producer/sound engineer/musician/computer en
    Livingston, Scotland
  3. dbbreaker

    dbbreaker Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010

    Jan 18, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Thanks I wasn't sure about it getting rid of root.

    I read over your post and will try reseating the SD card and SIM card...see if that makes a difference.

    If not then I am going to flash the Milestone back to 2.0. It's been really frustrating with the reboots. When I updated to 2.01, I didn't have any problems. Worked fine for a couple weeks then once I rooted, thats when it started.
     
  4. aumkar22

    aumkar22 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    7
    1
    6
    Flash up to 2.1 if you can. Atleast it fixes the autofocus bug thats there in 2.0
     
  5. knudsen81

    knudsen81 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    251
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010

    Jan 1, 2010
    251
    38
    43
    is this the stock 2.0.1 firmware for the milestone

    SHOLS_U2_01.14.0_UCASHLSEMEAB1B803F.0R_USASHLS00RTGB_P019_A016_HWp2a_1FF.sbf
     
  6. dancedreamfly

    dancedreamfly Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010

    Feb 13, 2010
    66
    7
    36
    Philippines
    ^ Yes that's the version for Hong Kong.
     
  7. knudsen81

    knudsen81 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    251
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010

    Jan 1, 2010
    251
    38
    43
    when i download the file it says it was retail uk firmware????
     
  8. dancedreamfly

    dancedreamfly Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010

    Feb 13, 2010
    66
    7
    36
    Philippines
    Oh sorry, my mistake then. Was just looking at the first few characters, and 1.14 is HK. Probably UK too. But in any case, I flashed the HK on my UK Milestone and nothing changed.
     
  9. knudsen81

    knudsen81 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    251
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010

    Jan 1, 2010
    251
    38
    43
    yes i think it is the same name for all
     
  10. dancedreamfly

    dancedreamfly Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010

    Feb 13, 2010
    66
    7
    36
    Philippines
  11. BadSectorGR

    BadSectorGR Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    40
    0
    35
    Hi all,
    Back to Android after 6 months!
    I just got a Motorola Milestone that is rooted and I want to un-root it.

    Some info re the rooting below:

    1) I live in Greece (Wind is my provider)
    2) Mod Version: CyanogenMod-7.2.0-RC1-umts_sholes-KANG
    3) Under settings > about phone > Firmware configuration version I can see this:
    Baseband version: 3GSMEPU91A_U_91.09.04I

    I have never "played" with rooting/un-rooting so I am a noob :)

    Thanks.
     

Share This Page

Loading...