1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tips How to update g870a without AT&T

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Jfalls63, Mar 19, 2016.

  1. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,220
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4,220
    3,185
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    Recently picked up a second S5 Active that was already on 5.0 OF2 when I fixed it so it is impossible to root. Looked around on XDA and found a link to all of the OTA updates by Muniz_ri. I downloaded the two that I needed to PC (OF3 and OJ3). Started with the OF3 update first.
    1- Rename zip to update.zip
    2- Copy to external SD card on phone
    3- Turn phone off then boot into recovery
    4- Select apply update from external storage
    5- Select the update.zip that you copied
    6- Press power to begin update.

    If doing more than one update, you should do them one at a time in order as you would if you received them OTA. After I flashed the first update to OF3 and phone rebooted, I used the stock file explorer to delete the update from the SD card so I wouldn't get confused when I copied the next update (OJ3) to SD card and repeated the process.
    I take no credit, all was found at XDA. Process worked for me but as always you do at your own risk.

    https://www.androidfilehost.com/?a=show&w=files&flid=27720


    Only use the downloads marked OTA.
    They are the only ones that will work with the stock recovery.

    3-29-17
    Just tried the OTA update zip files from here and can confirm all working. Successfully updated a 870A from NE4 to PK5. I did not rename the zip files and installed them as is.
    https://forum.xda-developers.com/att-galaxy-s5/general/g870a-updates-ph4-t3494717
     

    Advertisement

    #1 Jfalls63, Mar 19, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2017
  2. luke092601

    luke092601 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2015

    Dec 22, 2015
    14
    1
    26
    Male


    Is there a program like Odin I use to do this? I am confused, I am not tech savvy with android
     
  3. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,220
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4,220
    3,185
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    No program needed. What you are doing is downloading a zip file. The one you need is the OF3 to OJ3 OTA update zip. You download this to your PC.
    You rename the file "update. zip" without the quotes. You copy that file to your SD card.
    You boot the phone into recovery.
    Use the volume down button to scroll down to
    Apply update from external storage and press power to select it.
    Locate the update. zip that you copied to card.
    Then press power to install the update.
     
  4. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,220
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4,220
    3,185
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    Biggest thing I hate about AT&T is that they do not release their firmware. For those that have AT&T phones and not on their network or out of the US, this is about the only way to update.
     
  5. luke092601

    luke092601 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2015

    Dec 22, 2015
    14
    1
    26
    Male
    never mind
     
  6. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,220
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4,220
    3,185
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    You can always try Samsung Rep at Best Buy. Alot of people go there to get their phones updated.
     
    KOLIO likes this.
  7. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    So, you were able to downgrade & then root/ROM?
     
  8. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,220
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4,220
    3,185
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    If you are already on 5.0 OF2 or higher, no working root method available. The 870a that I rebuilt was on OF2 so nothing to do but update it. I was lucky and found one on 4.4.2 that I was able to root, flash 5.0 OF3 rooted deodexed ROM, install Xposed and a few mods.
     
    KOLIO likes this.
  9. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,220
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4,220
    3,185
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    Bootloader is locked. No custom Roms.
     
    KOLIO likes this.
  10. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Nice find,glad you were able to root/ROM.

    That's perfectly cool w/me,I like the mfgs U/I's,de-bloated of the garbage,keep what works well.
    I like ROMs that are mfg based (Sense/LG UX/TouchWiz).
    Pure stock Android is a bit meh for me.........
     
    Jfalls63 likes this.
  11. luke092601

    luke092601 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2015

    Dec 22, 2015
    14
    1
    26
    Male
    Yeah I need to go out and buy an SD card. I almost bought one earlier but we were already leaving when I remembered so I couldn't get it, oh well, as soon as possible, I'll do this, I think I know what to do, the instructions are pretty clear, thanks so much
     
    Jfalls63 likes this.
  12. wahab07

    wahab07 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2016

    Oct 8, 2016
    4
    1
    16
    Male
    hello sir ,i m alittle bit confused.my s5 active,is G-870a, 4.2.2. ATT.and i m going to update to higher version,like lollipope.so which rome do i have to download.thank s a lot.
     
  13. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,220
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4,220
    3,185
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    First question is do you plan on ever rooting the device?
    After you take the 5.0 OF2 update, root is not possible.
     
  14. wahab07

    wahab07 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2016

    Oct 8, 2016
    4
    1
    16
    Male
  15. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,220
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4,220
    3,185
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
  16. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,220
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4,220
    3,185
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    If you think you might want Xposed, flash the deodexed version.
    The tether add on zip will allow you to use the hotspot function.
     
  17. wahab07

    wahab07 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2016

    Oct 8, 2016
    4
    1
    16
    Male
    i updated my phone with 5.1.1 oj3 no root,how to downgrade 4.4.2 ineed te root.thank s.
     
  18. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,220
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4,220
    3,185
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    After you updated, that's it, your stuck.
    That is why I ask if you wanted to root and posted a link to the guide for root and update to 5.0 and keep root.
    Once you updated to 5.0 OF2 or higher, you cannot downgrade or root.
    Sorry.
     
  19. wahab07

    wahab07 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2016

    Oct 8, 2016
    4
    1
    16
    Male
    i am not stuck.i went back to 4.2.2 by odin+the ane 4_ full odin .tar and it s woking.
     
    Jfalls63 likes this.
  20. cbulos cnx

    cbulos cnx Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2017

    Mar 2, 2017
    3
    1
    16


    Thanks a lot for this. Have managed to get to OJ3 from Android 4.4.
    Right now looking for PB1 so I can get it all the way to Marshmallow. Any leads?
     
  21. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,220
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4,220
    3,185
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
  22. cbulos cnx

    cbulos cnx Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2017

    Mar 2, 2017
    3
    1
    16
  23. cbulos cnx

    cbulos cnx Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2017

    Mar 2, 2017
    3
    1
    16
    I got it all the way to PH2 Marshmallow. No hitches, just followed your instructions, didn't need to rename the files since they were already all .zip.
    My phone didn't get bricked and everything seems to be working fine.
    Now all I have to do is research issues related to G870A and Marshmallow!

    Thanks for your help!
     
    Jfalls63 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...