1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

How to update rooted s3

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Bluebutter, Dec 28, 2013.

1. Bluebutter

Bluebutter Newbie

I have a rooted UK Samsung s3 on T Mobile, can someone please tell me where I can go to download the latest Android update for my phone as I am totally new at this? I am currently on 4.1.2 I9300BVEMF1. Many thanks in advance.

2. funkylogik

funkylogik share the love peeps ;)

Heres a guide to flashing it mate. Find the update firmware on sammobile.com/firmware
    When you flash it youll lose root. Is root important to you? Rooting 4.3 trips a fuse that voids your warranty.
    You thought about a custom rom instead mate?

3. Bluebutter

Bluebutter Newbie

Thank you for the response. Can you send me a link to a firmware that is suitable for my phone please?

I tried cyanogenmod 10.2 but preferred Touchwiz. I came across something called jkay, is their something similar to that where I can edit the notification bar/status bar etc on 4.3?

4. funkylogik

Oops i forgot the link lol :) http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1671969
    Theres Xposed Framework which is great. Its designed for stock android so most of its modules wont work with TW but i think theres a few that do.
    Make sure theres a way to root 4.3 on your model before updating mate. Id hate for you to update and really regret it.
    Most rooters wont touch that update with a bargepole lol :)
    EDIT i think the guide i gave might be out of date. Hopefully someone can confirm(?)

5. Bluebutter

Bluebutter Newbie

Is there a way I can update the same way I installed cyanogenmod 10.2 (clock work mod recovery)?

I want my Touchwiz notification bar to look like the one found on cyanogenmod 10.2, does xposed framework have a module for this & if so what is it called?

6. funkylogik

Yeah if you find a .zip version of the official firmware you can flash it in recovery mate.