1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root How to use Mobile Odin?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by JAJameson2010, Apr 25, 2012.

  1. JAJameson2010

    JAJameson2010 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    349
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011

    Oct 14, 2011
    349
    29
    63
    Female
    Sit at a desk all day
    Wilmington DE USA
    I finally rooted (hoping for better battery life)

    I think I want to try the New Senzation ROM, unless someone else has a better idea for fast and saving on battery life.

    I bought and installed the Mobile Odin which is supposed to make flashing a ROM really easy. Apparently I am too stupid to figure it out! LOL

    I've downloaded the New Senzation Zip file. Now what do I do? Please help! I'm on hour 4 of this adventure and my eyes are crossing...
     

    Advertisement

  2. chrlswltrs

    chrlswltrs Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    6,728
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    6,728
    1,795
    333
    Male
    Private Security
    Seattle
    Usually zip files are flashed using CWM recovery. tar files are for Odin.
     
    rounsy222 likes this.
  3. JAJameson2010

    JAJameson2010 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    349
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011

    Oct 14, 2011
    349
    29
    63
    Female
    Sit at a desk all day
    Wilmington DE USA
    Oh..... LOL Well I actually have that installed to! I'll try that now Thanks!
     
  4. rounsy222

    rounsy222 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    592
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    592
    69
    78
    machinist
    superior wi
    Just wanted to add that mobile Odin doesn't do so well flashing modems either. Just a fyi.
     
  5. chrlswltrs

    chrlswltrs Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    6,728
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    6,728
    1,795
    333
    Male
    Private Security
    Seattle
    Yep, modems need to be done with Odin on a pc, but I use mobile Odin for everything else
     
  6. JAJameson2010

    JAJameson2010 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    349
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011

    Oct 14, 2011
    349
    29
    63
    Female
    Sit at a desk all day
    Wilmington DE USA
    Well I tried to use clockwork mod and it took me to a yellow triangle with the android guy screen. So I said some colorful words and did a battery pull. Now instead of rebooting it looks like it's doing a backup? Maybe it will install the ROM afterwards? *fingers crossed*

    and I don't even understand what a modem is. I know what it is when it comes to my internet provider, but not the phone. When people say that everyone can root their phones... I'm not sure they are talking about me!

    Once I get this ROM put in place I don't need to mess with Kernels and Modems right? If I do can someone give me a direct link to exactly what I need to install? LOL
     
  7. JAJameson2010

    JAJameson2010 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    349
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011

    Oct 14, 2011
    349
    29
    63
    Female
    Sit at a desk all day
    Wilmington DE USA
    It's there and working!!!!!!! :) Thank you all so much! I'll deal with Kernels, Modems, Radios and stuff another day. I'm off to take some migraine meds.... I better get decent battery life out of this! I started only getting 4-5 hours per battery a couple weeks ago! There's no way this phone shouldn't be able to stay charged overnight.
     
  8. chrlswltrs

    chrlswltrs Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    6,728
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    6,728
    1,795
    333
    Male
    Private Security
    Seattle
    Glad you got it working! Any questions you have when you start upgrading kernels or modems just ask!
     
  9. rounsy222

    rounsy222 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    592
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    592
    69
    78
    machinist
    superior wi
    also with any rom install you won't see maximum battery life until after a charge cycle or two so don't be alarmed right away if it doesn't seem any better. Things need to just "settle" in a bit.
     
    jbemmz likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...