1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root How-To: Use the Sprint Update Utility to Flash Custom Kernel

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by xxbbyxxgirlxx, Mar 1, 2010.

  1. xxbbyxxgirlxx

    xxbbyxxgirlxx Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    35
    14
    18
    We can now do partial flashes with the CL14 SBL.... If you have not had the CL14 official update yet, you can follow these steps to get it:

    Remember... THIS WILL PUT THE CL14 BOOTLOADER ON YOUR PHONE!!!

    What you need:
    Sprints Update Utility

    1. Create a datatool back-up.
    2. Download and install Sprints Update Utility found above.
    3. Run the program (now called SWUpdater) and follow all the directions until it says "Flash Downloading Complete".

    Once you have the official CL14 update on your phone, or if you already had it, and you would like to flash SDX/Joey's Kernel (and Max's Recovery), follow the steps below.



    What you need:
    CL14 official update
    An SDX/Joey's Kernel
    Max's Recovery

    1. Create a datatool back-up... (Although you most likely wont need it if you are just flashing a kernel.... But JUST in case, you should create a datatool back-up if you aren't confident that you wont wipe your data!)
    2. After downloading and installing Sprints Update Utility, go into the binary folder (C:\Program Files\Samsung Electronics\SWUpgrade\Models\Binary) and move the CL14 file to a safe place, MAKE SURE IT IS NO LONGER IN THE BINARY FOLDER.
    3. Find the Kernel you want to flash and put it in the binary folder.
    Note: Now you should only have one file in the binary folder (the custom kernel). Also make sure that if the file you are putting into the binary folder says 7zip or winrar, extract it!! If you dont you will get the message "Cannot access bin folder!", and you will not be able to start the download.
    4. On your desktop there should be a program named SWUpgrade. Run the program and follow all of the steps through the end. After every thing finishes successfully, you will end up with STOCK CL14, this includes the CL14 SBL, along with the custom kernel you put in the binary folder (you are root).
    5. Double check that everything worked by going into Settings-About Phone, under BaseBand version you should see S:M900.8.0S.CL14, under Kernel version= 2.6.27 moment(at)momentdev, under Build number= Joey's name (or any other developer who's kernel you put in the binary folder).
    6. Repeat steps 1-4, putting Max's recovery in the binary folder instead of the kernel.
    7. You're all set.

    (If you happen to want to flash one of Zefie's kernels, repeat steps 1-4 also.)

    It wasn't a great thing to get the CL14 update before, because it was hard to obtain root. But now with Sprints Update Utility, and all the new kernels, we are able to get root with the CL14 SBL easily.
     

    Advertisement

    Mama Luigi, dib.1138, itmike and 4 others like this.
  2. shakuyi

    shakuyi Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    45
    1
    16
    quick question how do i create a datatool backup? cant find any tutorial on it...i dont have zefies kernel if thats what i need i have stock cl14. thank you for all your help too
     
  3. xxbbyxxgirlxx

    xxbbyxxgirlxx Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    35
    14
    18
    If you dont already have a custom kernel, i dont believe you can make a datatool back-up, but not 100% sure....
     
  4. shakuyi

    shakuyi Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    45
    1
    16
    eh its fine so i flash this i wont lose my apps right?
     
  5. infamousjax

    infamousjax Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    182
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010

    Feb 16, 2010
    182
    21
    38
    If your still using the CJ05 SBL then yes, it will wipe it.
     
  6. black34v6

    black34v6 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010

    Mar 3, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    would love to get suggestions on files i should be using to do this - not sure which files are stable and which are going to brick my phone - just got it, dont want it to become a large paperweight :)

    thanks!
     
  7. cbrooks105

    cbrooks105 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010

    Jan 13, 2010
    42
    1
    36
    Does it matter which CL14 update we have? I think I got mine from Zefie, not sure if it was Sprints or his.
     
  8. mrmojoz

    mrmojoz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    591
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    591
    63
    78
    If you aren't sure I'd put a fresh 14 on there just to make sure. You don't lose anything if you backup afterall.
     
    cbrooks105 likes this.
  9. shakuyi

    shakuyi Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    45
    1
    16
    i have cl14 update from sprint store
     
  10. xxbbyxxgirlxx

    xxbbyxxgirlxx Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    35
    14
    18
    best files are here at sdx How-To: Using the Sprint Update Utility for Flashing
     
  11. xxbbyxxgirlxx

    xxbbyxxgirlxx Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    35
    14
    18
    then you just need to follow the second set of steps, and you wont lose data....
     
  12. RoboPastries

    RoboPastries Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    9
    0
    5
    Great! Hopefully thos works out for me as I had absolutely NO luck with Odin
     
  13. NOMster

    NOMster Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    429
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    429
    109
    88
    GA
    this is not working for me at all. i have reinstalled the swupdater 3 times and it keeps getting stuck on the install screen with ready in the square and in the lower corner it says [DEBUG]SETUP CONNECTION.
     
  14. infamousjax

    infamousjax Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    182
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010

    Feb 16, 2010
    182
    21
    38
    Sorry man, you're SOL. If you can't get it work that way then either:

    1. Your USB cable is broken.
    2. Your phone is broken.
    3. Your software/drivers are corrupted.
    4. Your an idiot.
     
  15. NOMster

    NOMster Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    429
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    429
    109
    88
    GA
    :lol i am going with option 4.
     
  16. NOMster

    NOMster Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    429
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    429
    109
    88
    GA
    alright, thanks to joey i retried repeatedly by completely closing swupdater and it finally took.
     
  17. reneeminyard

    reneeminyard Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010

    Mar 6, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    how do I extract the 7zip file? I try to open and it doesn't work, I right click and there is no 'extract' option.
     
  18. xxbbyxxgirlxx

    xxbbyxxgirlxx Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    35
    14
    18
    you need to download 7zip....
     
  19. reneeminyard

    reneeminyard Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010

    Mar 6, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    ok, I didn't ask my question well...I try to extract the file I downloaded the .tar 7zip file but when it extracts, I get 3 files: logo.png, zImage, recovery.rfs The instruction I have said to drop the .tar file into the binary folder that I removed the cl14 from, but there is no tar file after the extract, only the 3 I list above. I just don't understand what I've done wrong.
     
  20. xxbbyxxgirlxx

    xxbbyxxgirlxx Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    35
    14
    18
    does the file say .7zip? if not then its already extracted correctly.... i know joeys kernels come in the correct .tar form so there is no need to extract it...
     
  21. reneeminyard

    reneeminyard Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010

    Mar 6, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    If I go to properties it indicates that it's a zip file, however the file name is .tar I can drop the cl14 stock right back in and it runs fine, but I cannot get the update to intall with the zel14.tar it keeps saying cannot open bin file
     
  22. reneeminyard

    reneeminyard Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010

    Mar 6, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    I guess 3rd times a charm. I did the exact same thing, but on the 3rd try it took. So I'm now running zel14.3, but I have no idea what to do now. LOL Thanks for your help!
     
  23. Gizmodo

    Gizmodo Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    79
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    79
    1
    16
    Microsoft Trainer
    Lafayette, LA
    I just successfully flashed to Joey's latest kernel and then replaced it with Max's recovery 2.0. Everything worked great and my phone is the fastest it has ever been! BUT...why did I add Max's recovery 2.0? What does it do? My phone still says it is loaded with Joey's kernel (1.9). Someone please explain this to me.:thinking:

    Thanks,
    Giz
     
  24. chibucks

    chibucks Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    412
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009

    Nov 3, 2009
    412
    48
    43
    max's recovery works when you reboot the phone and hold vol down, call, and end.

    a recovery screen will pop up where you can backup your data (all your apps) and your system (all your stock apps) and then be able to restore those (so you don't have to go through the process of reinstalling everything).

    hope that helps.
     
    Gizmodo likes this.
  25. Gizmodo

    Gizmodo Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    79
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    79
    1
    16
    Microsoft Trainer
    Lafayette, LA
    That is fantastic news!:D
     

Samsung Moment

The Samsung Moment was one of the first Android Phones with a slideout keyboard.

Share This Page

Loading...