1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root HOWTO: Flash latest leaked Gingerbread

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by maerlim, Sep 13, 2011.

1. maerlim

maerlim Android Enthusiast
    None

Mar 9, 2010
    Missouri
    Is Froyo not working for you? The latest leaked official Gingerbread (KH3) is working pretty well. This procedure will get you on a stock non-rooted Gingerbread ROM with the least amount of trouble. I've done this several times now on several different Captivates.

** Please heed all warnings on the following link's OP's. You can mess up your phone doing this if you aren't careful. Please seek support in the XDA threads as I don't read the Captivate forums here very much anymore and I'm not a developer myself. Also if you were ever told in elementary school that you don't follow directions very well, stay away from this post. (Yes, I understand the irony in that last sentence.) **

1) Make sure you have Captivate drivers installed on your PC. I think my stickied post from last year still has download links to them.

2) I recommend you download the Android SDK from here. Get the minimum install so you have "adb" on your computer. adb is a command-line utility that allows you to issue commands to your phone. I will be referencing it in these instructions as it's really the easiest way to do certain things (but it is not the ONLY way).

3) Follow this link. This will get you Gingerbread bootloaders. This is the trickiest part as flashing bootloaders can be dangerous. The one-click utility uses Odin, which is a little particular about which USB you're plugged into on your computer. My advice is to make sure you're plugged into USB 2.0 that's directly on your motherboard. Not a USB hub or front-facing USB on your case. FYI the easiest way to reboot into download mode is to issue the command "adb reboot download" from a command prompt on your computer.
    [MOD][BOOTLOADERS]AT&T GB Bootloaders - xda-developers