1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

Howto: Free 3G Mobile Hotspot, AP Mode Tethering

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by FreeWELL, Oct 6, 2010.

  1. zarraza

    zarraza Newbie

    I'm trying this on sprint does anyone have any exprience with that or am I on my own? Ill test again when I get home and see if the steps work again
     

    Advertisement

  2. cbanning

    cbanning Well-Known Member

    stupid question #439, how can I tell if it's working for free?
     
  3. binary visions

    binary visions Android Expert

    ...because it's working ;)

    If you launch the Wifi hotspot and connect to it on the laptop WITHOUT toggling the cell radio, you'll see the Verizon self-provisioning page where it offers to let you buy the service. Toggle the radio, and boom, no self-provisioning.
     
    cbanning likes this.
  4. cbanning

    cbanning Well-Known Member

    OMG, like it really worked! Now, I can keep my X, and not have to go back to the incredible. Anyone want to buy it? :)
     
  5. Piiman

    Piiman Android Expert

    how much?
     
  6. sleepsafe

    sleepsafe Member

    Well that works, pretty cool. Thanks! It shows up like any other network and you just click on it. I know I didn't get the VZW page when I tried this. How it works....fricking magic for all I know. I haven't been able to get root to work on 2.2. So yeah, this is REALLY simple.
     
  7. Piiman

    Piiman Android Expert

    I'd be Leary you may find some unexpected charges on your bill next month.
     
  8. FreeWELL

    FreeWELL Member
    Thread Starter

    As long as you cycle the radio, you won't be sucking data down VZ's "mobile_dun" pay pipe... If you're really worried, login to VZW online, or call 611 and verify what features you have for your phone. As long as you aren't provisioned for tethering, you won't be able to get a connection through "mobile_dun" which is the pipe that the 2GB quota limit is on... Toggling the radio off/on puts you back on the Unlimited "mobile" connection.
     
  9. sund0wn

    sund0wn Android Expert

    thanks for sharing this discovery FreeWell. With P3's patch on the horizon, you may have started something really big. your little discovery may save a bunch of people a bunch of money.

    although, i do need to say, this is a clear violation of Verizon's TOS, so even though this should go without saying:

    everyone: use this at your own risk. dont hold FreeWell responsible when bad things happen because you got caught using this exploit. i doubt anything bad could/would happen, but you never know.
     
  10. Outlaw71

    Outlaw71 Android Expert

    I can vouch for it working. If you want to test it out first of all fire up your hotspot, then run a speed test before doing anything else. When you are hooked up through Verizon it will show you your ping and your download speed, but as soon as it starts the upload test it will stop and tell you there is an error in the test (this is because you can't upload anything before signing up for the service with Verizon). And don't worry about being charged to run this test, you have to sign up for the service before they start billing you.

    Now toggle the radio as is instructed and run the speed test again. When it runs through the entire test including the upload test, then you know you're running on the hotspot, and since you haven't signed up for it you won't be getting charged (at least you shouldn't... if you do then I'm screwed too because I've been using it since yesterday :D ) for it.

    I'm still curious how it fools them, but it's a super cool discovery forsure. I bet they patch this little loophole up in 3.0 though! :(
     
  11. Steven58

    Steven58 Recognized Incompetent Moderator
    Moderator

    I'm writing from 3g mobile hotpspot, now. It seems quite easy. As I understand it, I only will see the "provisioning" page the first time I log in to a browser page. Each subequent time, I do not get that page. (This is what I'm experiencing). Additionally, after I connect with mobile hotspot, I have to turn the radio off and then on again.

    Is this correct? If I get a bill for this, heads are gonna roll!!!!! :)
     
  12. Steven58

    Steven58 Recognized Incompetent Moderator
    Moderator

    Isn't using wireless teather a violation of the TOS, as well? What makes this particularly worse?
     
  13. Outlaw71

    Outlaw71 Android Expert

    Yeah well I figure if I see a $20 dollar charge on my next bill I can handle that. I'll just go back to Wifi Tether for Root Users. :)
     
  14. WalmartSecurity

    WalmartSecurity Android Enthusiast

    It worked for me yesterday, but I can't seem to get it to work today. I fire up 3g mobile hotspot and I never get the icon in the notification bar...it just seems to turn itself off. Toggling radio doesn't do anything.
     
  15. Steven58

    Steven58 Recognized Incompetent Moderator
    Moderator

    works fine for me
     
  16. wxman2003

    wxman2003 Android Enthusiast

    Works great for me! I decided to purchase it.
     
  17. FreeWELL

    FreeWELL Member
    Thread Starter

    Glad you got it working... What did you purchase?
     
  18. wxman2003

    wxman2003 Android Enthusiast

    I purchased (donated) easyswitch instead of using the trial verison. Figure since it allows me to tether via wifi, it's worth the donation.
     
  19. FreeWELL

    FreeWELL Member
    Thread Starter

    Cool. EasySwitch is probably the currently the best option for the unr00ted, average users to take advantage of this.

    Tasker has some cool possibilities as well, for those with a little more tech savvy, and willing to spend a little more.

    And really, $3 vs nearly how much over a 2 year period?
     
  20. wxman2003

    wxman2003 Android Enthusiast

    Agreed! Even if 3.0 closes this door, it is well worth $3, even if for a few months.
     
  21. sleepsafe

    sleepsafe Member

    Can't make this work today....anyone having success?
     
  22. Outlaw71

    Outlaw71 Android Expert

    Have they already patched it? This was working for me for the past two days, today it says, "can not connect the data link, please see your service provider"... man, that was fast! :(


    Wireless Tether still works.
     
  23. sleepsafe

    sleepsafe Member

    I get the same message.Wireless tether still works for me as well.
     
  24. sleepsafe

    sleepsafe Member

    I installed the Easy Switch update from the market...working now. Not sure what to think of this.
     
  25. sund0wn

    sund0wn Android Expert

    i know how you feel. it is esentially stealing. no two ways about it. it's like having a card that tricks a gas pump into thinking there had been a credit card approval, and then filling up your car.
    as much as i would love free gas, i just wouldnt feel right about using the exploit.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Howto Free Mobile
  1. Aliza Maheen
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    54
  2. Hardhguy
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    198
  3. NightAngel79
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    117
  4. NightAngel79
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    145
  5. TechHunter
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    250
  6. Eileent31
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    146
  7. xiart
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    193
  8. Mark Nespol
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    182
  9. sniperdronegame
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    236
  10. hstroph
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    463

Share This Page

Loading...