1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root HowTo Get Superuser.apk working VIDEO

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by DiegoMejia, Jun 11, 2010.

  1. DiegoMejia

    DiegoMejia Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009

    Sep 2, 2009
    134
    224
    68
    Credit goes to xcsdm from XDA-Developers

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HItQd-C81ww

    files: http://goo.gl/PYcX

    Use adb to push both the su file and Superuser.apk to /sdcard/

    Follow original rooting procedure, once at root (#) prompt in adb recovery

    export PATH=$PATH:/system/bin
    cd /system/app
    cat /sdcard/Superuser.apk > Superuser.apk
    cd /system/bin
    cat /sdcard/su > su
    ln -s /system/bin/su /system/xbin/su
    chmod 06755 su

    Done. I've now had Autokiller and a couple other apps request SU, and everything seems to be working like I would like.

    XC
     

    Advertisement

    0tter likes this.
  2. abe01

    abe01 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    50
    5
    16
    Can you completely test barnacle or wireless tether for root?
     
  3. jasonb1985

    jasonb1985 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    987
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    987
    67
    98
    Radio Shack
    why do we need the superuser apk? what does this get us?
     
  4. DiegoMejia

    DiegoMejia Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009

    Sep 2, 2009
    134
    224
    68
    funny that you say that, wireless tether turns on and gives no errors but my laptop does connect.

    barnacle doesnt even show up on my laptop as an ad hoc connection :/

    So no go for wifi tether yet
     
  5. 0tter

    0tter Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    28
    15
    18
    This must be done in recovery mode, correct? Do I need to go back through the whole rooting procedure again, or can I just boot to recovery mode, open the shell, type su, then follow these instructions?
     
  6. DiegoMejia

    DiegoMejia Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009

    Sep 2, 2009
    134
    224
    68
    use the method in the root process and get to the recovery menu.

    get to # then follow the commands
     
  7. prerunnerseth

    prerunnerseth Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    384
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    384
    89
    53
    updated the my root procedure thread to include this.
     
  8. DiegoMejia

    DiegoMejia Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009

    Sep 2, 2009
    134
    224
    68
    Yeah very nice thread you have going, Very nice tutorial!!

    you dont need

    /system/bin/cat /system/bin/sh > /system/bin/su
    /system/bin/chmod 4777 /system/bin/su

    anymore though

    One good thing about your tutorials over my video tutorials is you can easily edit lol i can only append to my videos.
     
  9. jasonb1985

    jasonb1985 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    987
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    987
    67
    98
    Radio Shack
    what does the superuser.apk get us? why do we want this? whats it do?
     
  10. DiegoMejia

    DiegoMejia Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009

    Sep 2, 2009
    134
    224
    68
    gives you SU permissions on apps like setcpu and root explorer, no real benefit from other su method but people just prefer superuser instead because it asks for permissions
     
  11. jasonb1985

    jasonb1985 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    987
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    987
    67
    98
    Radio Shack
    root explorer works without the superuser app, so what benefit does this give us? does it just add a prompt that asks for permissions, or does it actually do something?

    not trying to be a dick, just wondering what it really does.
     
  12. DiegoMejia

    DiegoMejia Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009

    Sep 2, 2009
    134
    224
    68
    before it would always give you su permissions, with superuser it asks you prior to granting asking.
     
  13. jasonb1985

    jasonb1985 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    987
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    987
    67
    98
    Radio Shack
    so it doesn't make more root apps work or anything, it just asks if you want to grant an app superuser permissions when you first launch it?
     
  14. DiegoMejia

    DiegoMejia Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009

    Sep 2, 2009
    134
    224
    68
    yep, i dont know if there are other programs that require superuser to work but i rather have this.
     
  15. abe01

    abe01 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    50
    5
    16

    I've been monitoring the ##incredibleroot irc room and there are atleast 2 people that have gotten wifi tether to work. Shrek guy in there got it to work but offers no additional details.
     
  16. 0tter

    0tter Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    28
    15
    18
    It's acts as a layer of protection. Since SU permissions are so powerful, it's better to disallow an app use of SU if you don't need it for your task.

    Also, thanks for the write-up and the tip to making it a bit easier to get into the recovery shell (holding vol- and power through the process)
     
  17. Dman089

    Dman089 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    46
    17
    18
    im having a little trouble here i did first root but the superuser app didnt work now i went to do the fix but i cant get get it to push the payload update again i get error Signature verification failed installation aborted any tips please ??
     
  18. DiegoMejia

    DiegoMejia Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009

    Sep 2, 2009
    134
    224
    68
    upload the ota.zip to the sdcard first, name it as update.zip
     
    Dman089 likes this.
  19. stanfna

    stanfna Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010

    Apr 16, 2010
    131
    29
    43
    DUDE...a huge thanks for taking the time to make and post these vids! VERY HELPFUL!
     
  20. sylent101

    sylent101 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    168
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009

    Dec 23, 2009
    168
    6
    36
    Could you maybe make a video on how to set up the usb drivers? A lot of people both here and on xda can't root cuz of driver issues
     
  21. rmk

    rmk Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010

  22. Piiman

    Piiman Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,333
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    2,333
    153
    143
    After I finally got root and did all the setup steps etc etc. and all went well and looked correct and when I reboot I have the superuser app.

    However when I try to use apps that need superuser permissions they fail.
    So it looks like I have root
    Some apps will report I have root
    They ask for SU permission and I say yes
    The SU app shows the apps with their permissions granted
    But so far all have failed
    WIFItether says I have root but can't load some module or setup the SSID and some other settings
    Titanium backup reports it can't get root access
    Juicedefender says I have root but can't access the APN's which need SU rights

    So what's happened. It's like only half of the SU is installed.

    PS I undid root and even tried it all again and the same thing happens.

    Thanks
     

Share This Page

Loading...