1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root HOWTO: Install Ultrajack Recovery via ADB

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by CyberTails, Aug 14, 2011.

  1. CyberTails

    CyberTails Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011

    Aug 8, 2011
    112
    31
    63
    Male
    Hey There

    This is a tutorial on how to install the Ultrajack Recovery Tool on your M835:

    You will need:
    Android SDK
    This IMG File
    a know how of the command line (I'm using Windows XP for this)

    1. Power off your phone
    2. Hold down the power button + vol down button + red button for about 6-10 sec. (It'll freeze on the Huawei Logo, THIS IS NORMAL! you are now in bootloader mode
    3. open a command prompt and type cd "location of your Android SDK's Tools"
    4. type in "fastboot flash recovery UltraJack-Recovery_v6.2.2.img"
    5. If it installed correctly, hard power off the phone by removing the battery from the phone for about 5 sec.
    6. Put the battery back into the phone and power it on

    Congratulations, you now have Ultrajack on your recovery partitionm to access it, while powering on the phone, hold the power button + vol up + green button for 6-10 sec. until the Ultrajack meny shows up, or start it using Clockworkmod with "Reboot into Recovery"

    EDIT: Here is a package link for newbies who can't use command-lines well :)
     

    Advertisement

    David_your_friend and puyow18 like this.
  2. starstress

    starstress Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    617
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    im familir with this as Ive done it with my optimus m but after I get adb working and I type what you put I get an unknown error.
    stboot not found

    To be exact it says fa
     
  3. CyberTails

    CyberTails Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011

    Aug 8, 2011
    112
    31
    63
    Male
  4. puyow18

    puyow18 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    254
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    254
    60
    83
    Male
    Florida
    Awesome. I got it to work following your OP instructions. For noobs (such as myself) be sure to navigate to the "tools" directory instead of "platform-tools" where adb is found. Also, the OP didn't say so, but be sure to put the "UltraJack-Recovery_v6.2.2.img" file in the "tools" directory before inputting the "fastboot flash recovery UltraJack-Recovery_v6.2.2.img" into cmd. Follow this and it should work w/out a hitch

    And just an fyi for the recovery menu:
    Volume down is the key to move back one step
    the navigation buttons (chrome ring) moves up and down
    the trackball (center black button) selects highlighted option/confirms choice

    Thanks for the safety net CyberTails :)
     
  5. josuemldnd23

    josuemldnd23 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011

    Aug 15, 2011
    27
    5
    16
  6. puyow18

    puyow18 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    254
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    254
    60
    83
    Male
    Florida
    yes this works for the m835; i just did it on my wife's phone
     
  7. CyberTails

    CyberTails Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011

    Aug 8, 2011
    112
    31
    63
    Male
    Yes it will, the U8150 and M835 are practically the same phone :)

    JUST don't mod it with Cyanogenmod yet, too many bugs xD
     
  8. starstress

    starstress Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    617
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    after typing fastboot recovery blah blah it says waiting for device and the cursor is just blinking, is that normal?, fyi putting it in bootloader mode the adb wont recognize it for me, im doing this with the phone on and in usb debugging.

    BTW it does recognize the phone when Im in the stock recovery
     
  9. crienn

    crienn Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    32
    6
    16
    Miami, FL


    Same exact thing happens to me. Running win7 x64
     
  10. nu2moding

    nu2moding Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    190
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011

    Aug 14, 2011
    190
    20
    58
    ok, so now im not TOO worried, but the same thing happened to me just now- i had thought that i screwed something up because i accidentally held vol up, (not down)pwr and end call while attempting to go to bootloader and ended up with all 3 buttons flashing and the screen had a yellow triangle saying update failed under a gray bar with firmware update step 1 of 2 UNPACKING on top of the gray bar. made a backup afterwards, but by then the barn door was
    locked after the horses were stolen:eek:
    is it fixable?
    p.s. U guys kick serious ashes, especially if a guy like me can make sence and understand most of what y'all talkin bout:):D
    vista 32bit n i cant get adb 2 recognise while in bootloader also...
     
    David_your_friend likes this.
  11. CyberTails

    CyberTails Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011

    Aug 8, 2011
    112
    31
    63
    Male
    1. ADB will NOT be recognized for when you are in bootloader mode (which is why I said to use fastboot to install Ultrajack into the bootloaded phone)

    2. @nu2moding: That is what I call "firmware update mode" and that Update failed message is because there is "update.zip" file in the SD Card, so don't worry, you didn't mess anything up

    Also, I will be updating the tutorial with a package link so that people can use it to install Ultrajack easier :)
     
    David_your_friend and starstress like this.
  12. starstress

    starstress Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    617
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    OK I get what your saying now. still doing that it just says waiting for device. should there be a success message or something

    *************************************************************************
    EDIT-Nevermind I got it, sweeett
     
  13. nu2moding

    nu2moding Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    190
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011

    Aug 14, 2011
    190
    20
    58
    so you're saying here that while in ABD on your comp, and the fon's in bootloader, fastboot is what you use to install certain things?- at least that's the basic principal, right?
     
  14. starstress

    starstress Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    617
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    yes, if you type 'fastboot devices' it should show your phone
     
    nu2moding likes this.
  15. CyberTails

    CyberTails Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011

    Aug 8, 2011
    112
    31
    63
    Male
    Yes, because fastboot looks for phones in bootloader mode and ADB looks for phones in USB Debugging mode :)
     
    nu2moding likes this.
  16. FezKazi

    FezKazi Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012

    Feb 13, 2012
    2
    0
    5

    Hi! I really dont know why when i hold down power + vol up + green call button no menu shows up! there is nothing at all! it stays stuck in the ideas logo screen
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...