• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root [HOWTO] Root and Flash Motorola A854

How to flash MIUI/CWM and Root your Motorola A854 (de-branded Droid)

Hello and greetings,

This is my very first time on showing you, the reader, how to flash anything. You see I’m not the most certified or the most knowledgeable person to be showing you this or even writing this guide, but this is why I am doing it.

A few days ago a relative of mine had a Motorola Droid, well that is what it looked like but upon further inspection it was branded A854, and he said it wasn’t working. So story short it was a bad battery so I replaced it and all, then to my very bad luck I found it was running Android 2.1. A quick Google search and I found that this model (A854) was being called “Milestone” BUT when I looked up specifications of said device, they all pointed to a GSM version of the Droid. This phone I had was not GSM but CDMA. More and more reading in random blogs and forums, someone finally posted that the A854 is hardware-wise identical to the A855 (VZW Droid). Since I was not very familiar with these devices, I was fighting within myself if it was a de-branded Droid or was a completely different device. So I did what any other “scientist” would do. I said to hell with it and I followed a Droid guide which was not very helpful because every guide was based on Android 2.2+ devices. So this is how I got to root an A854 running Android 2.1 and flashed using CWM Recovery.

Well this is it and I do apologize for the long intro but I had to tell someone just how hard it was just trying to find a guide.