1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General HTC 10 SD card issues

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Skullie, May 27, 2016.

  1. Skullie

    Skullie Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013

    Mar 16, 2013
    7
    2
    6
    I recently got the HTC 10, and put my SD card in. I did not want the adaptable storage, so I formatted it as typical removable storage. However I'm finding I cannot write to it as I used to. I set the camera to store pictures on the SD card, and it does. But if I try to create folders or albums, I get errors. Therefore, I cant move pictures to different folders or albums. I tried hooking up to a computer and manually creating folders on the SD card. It lets me do that, and drag pictures to it while connected to a computer, but I cant do it on the phone itself. I've also tried a couple different Gallery type apps but determined this has to do with the SD card. And of course, lastly, I tried more than 1 DS card and the issue is consistent. Formatted them both multiple times as well. Anyone know why something formerly so simple now seems to be a problem? Thank you,
    PJ
     

    Advertisement

  2. PyroSporker

    PyroSporker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    1,773
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010

    Apr 3, 2010
    1,773
    1,281
    323
    If your Micro SD cards were purchased in an online marketplace like eBay or Amazon (3rd party seller) there is a high probability that they are counterfeit or fake. Fakes and counterfeits can cause all kids of errors since they are usually low capacity cards spoofed to look and operate like larger capacity cards.

    Im not current on my OS knowledge;
    I think in an older version of Android it let you write photos and video to the Micro SD and move it around existing folders on the Micro SD but new folders couldn't be created without Root access. And Root access was required to move data from the phones internal partition to external storage on the Micro SD.

    Ensure that the MicroSD tray is inserted perfectly straight and fully seated within the slot
     
  3. Skullie

    Skullie Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013

    Mar 16, 2013
    7
    2
    6
    Hi, sorry maybe I should hamentioned that the SD card is in fact Sandisk, not a generic brand EBay card. I didn't buy it online. It sounds as if I want that functionality back, it would have to be rooted. I'm not savvy enough to do anything like that. Last night I even tried resetting the phone to factory defaults with the same results.
     
  4. PyroSporker

    PyroSporker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    1,773
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010

    Apr 3, 2010
    1,773
    1,281
    323
    Make a backup first on your computer
    What if you clear the card of all data and format it in the HTC 10 and not add any old data to it. Snap a few NEW photos and videos. Are you able to move or manage these new files?
    Does the 10 include HTC's file manager program?

    Even SanDisk cards can be faked
    http://www.happybison.com/reviews/how-to-check-and-spot-fake-micro-sd-card-8/
    http://www.phonearena.com/news/Bewa...-tell-a-counterfeit-from-the-original_id77769
    http://www.bunniestudios.com/blog/?p=918

    If it occurs across multiple known good cards and through a factory reset it might be a hardware problem with the phone.

    Im not sure if previous OS short comings are still currently a factor in recent builds. So don't take my word as fact. Root might not be necessary. Even so rooting is easier than it sounds.
     
    #4 PyroSporker, May 28, 2016
    Last edited: May 28, 2016
  5. Skullie

    Skullie Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013

    Mar 16, 2013
    7
    2
    6
    Hi. I actually did all of that today. I factory reset the phone, formatted the card from scratch, took a few pics. The pics saved on the SD card, but I was unable to make folders or move the pictures. I tried the card in buy old M8, and it worked with no problem. I had to download the file manager and that also couldn't do anything bin the SD card. This is making me think it's the phone. Over an hour online with HTC live support, and they couldn't resolve it. Maybe I should exchange it.
     
  6. PyroSporker

    PyroSporker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    1,773
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010

    Apr 3, 2010
    1,773
    1,281
    323
    Yeah, why not return if you are within the return window. Bring it back to the store. Bring your Micro SD card with you. See if they will let you put it in the store display unit and if the display HTC 10 will accomplish what you are trying to do.
     
    KOLIO likes this.
  7. NightAngel79

    NightAngel79 Bounty Hunter
    Administrator
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    2,013
    Posts:
    23,928
    Joined:
    May 11, 2010

    May 11, 2010
    23,928
    11,842
    2,013
    Male
    IT Administrator
    Northern Ky
    Within the gallery app you should be able to move and create folders (i sideloaded HTC gallery app).

    But.... last few versions of Android have disabled the ability to manually delete/write to SD card via phone. This has been since 4.1 or so I think.
     
  8. Skullie

    Skullie Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013

    Mar 16, 2013
    7
    2
    6
    Hi,
    I think it's an issue on the phone honestly. My old phone was an M8 with the same SD card and it upgraded to Android 6. The card works perfectly on that phone. I've contacted HTC and I have a case open with them. Hopefully I can get to the bottom of this.
     
    dontpanicbobby likes this.
  9. tonganprince

    tonganprince Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 16, 2016

    May 16, 2016
    5
    1
    16
    I had the same thing happen to me. Worked fine in my old M8 and even my S5. I replaced it with a 128GB card from Bestbuy and have had no issues since. (knock wood)
     
  10. NightAngel79

    NightAngel79 Bounty Hunter
    Administrator
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    2,013
    Posts:
    23,928
    Joined:
    May 11, 2010

    May 11, 2010
    23,928
    11,842
    2,013
    Male
    IT Administrator
    Northern Ky
    I had issues with switchung cards from one phone to another (htc). I'd always have to backup card on PC, then reformat in phone for it to work. Just went with a new card on this phone though
     
    KOLIO likes this.
  11. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,488
    Posts:
    27,895
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    27,895
    17,548
    3,488
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    OK, the card might have SanDisk stamped on it. Might be best to verify its integrity though with SD Insight.

    SanDisk, along with Samsung and Sony are probably the most counterfeited SD brands there are.
     
  12. Skullie

    Skullie Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013

    Mar 16, 2013
    7
    2
    6
    Hello everyone. Thank you or the replies. The SD card checks out fine. I downloaded SD Insight and watched a YouTube instructional before using it. My card shows as genuine. At this point i truly think its something with the phone. HTC "escalated" my case to 3rd tier; and told me its going to be 3 to 5 days before i hear anything back. Go figure. I just hope in the end it works or I'm going back to my M8 and selling the 10.
     
  13. dontpanicbobby

    dontpanicbobby 100% That Guy
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,563
    Posts:
    15,108
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011

    Dec 31, 2011
    15,108
    9,486
    1,563
    Male
    Boston MA USA
    The M8 sounds a lot better but the 10 has more processing power. Do you want to just use what you have or what's coming up?
     
  14. Skullie

    Skullie Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013

    Mar 16, 2013
    7
    2
    6
    I wouldn't mind having the faster phone, but I'd expect it to work properly. If something has changed where it won't use the card right, I'm not sure it's worth it for me. I wish I knew if this was happening to other people too. But something tells me it's this specific phone
     
    sobieski966 likes this.
  15. sobieski966

    sobieski966 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016

    Aug 3, 2016
    4
    1
    6
    Male
    Hello! I have the same problem with the HTC 10! Can't transfer from phone to sd(making albums). I'm so pissed off!
     
  16. sobieski966

    sobieski966 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016

    Aug 3, 2016
    4
    1
    6
    Male
    Did u find any solution?
     
  17. jonnie

    jonnie Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    42
    7
    36
    Male
    Retail communications manager
    In a house
    ive had the same issue here with 2 genuine sandisk memory cards, a 128gb and 64gb, it seems the cards arent quick enough and the htc 10 keeps giving me errors when using either of them...nightmare.
     
  18. jtc303

    jtc303 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    484
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013

    Jan 1, 2013
    484
    177
    68
    Male
    Process Engineering Technologist
    MA
    SD card issues here too... Some files (MP3, movies etc) are unreadable or become unreadable after reboot.. Thought it was just a crap SD card..
     
    jonnie likes this.
  19. Jake989

    Jake989 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016

    Oct 4, 2016
    1
    0
    15
    Male
    I was having the same issue after formatting my card in my computer, loading my content, and putting it in the phone. I WAS ABLE TO FIX BY TRANSFERRING CONTENT OFF CARD, FORMATTING THE CARD IN THE PHONE, AND MOVING THE CONTENT BACK OVER USING THE HTC 10 CORD.

    Try that, formatting has to be done in the phone.
     
  20. NightAngel79

    NightAngel79 Bounty Hunter
    Administrator
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    2,013
    Posts:
    23,928
    Joined:
    May 11, 2010

    May 11, 2010
    23,928
    11,842
    2,013
    Male
    IT Administrator
    Northern Ky
    Yea, that may fix it, but several of us, myself included, never formatted the card in a computer. One day it was fine, the next it won't write to card. I transferred all my data via card in PC though. Pain in the ass, but I may try re-doing it. Takes way more time than it should.
     
  21. netfortius

    netfortius Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010

    Nov 16, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    New phone. Two different Samsung cards. Both work with multiple phones and are correctly read on my mac. Come up with errors ("corrupted") in the HTC 10. Phone is now running Nougat, if that matters...
     
  22. PyroSporker

    PyroSporker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    1,773
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010

    Apr 3, 2010
    1,773
    1,281
    323
    Before doing anything else - Back up your data! Get that data off of the SD cards and save it, you don't want to lose any information here.
    (hopefully you don't have your data encrypted with Android, have a pile of applications with data installed to the MicroSD, or are formatted as Internal Storage)

    After your SD card data is backed up to a computer, I would wipe the card of all data and then install the emptied card into the Nougat device. Format the empty card in the Nougat device if you can and see if you can get a working clean card that is functioning correctly with the phone.

    Once you have a working clean card in the phone, then carefully put your data back onto the fresh clean card.
     
    #22 PyroSporker, Nov 28, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2016
    jpm136 likes this.
  23. NightAngel79

    NightAngel79 Bounty Hunter
    Administrator
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    2,013
    Posts:
    23,928
    Joined:
    May 11, 2010

    May 11, 2010
    23,928
    11,842
    2,013
    Male
    IT Administrator
    Northern Ky
    I've unfortunately had to do this multiple times when moving from one HTC to another. ALways end up backing up data, deleting card (leaving it unformatted) and letting new phone format it. Then pull all data back on card and put back in phone
     
  24. PyroSporker

    PyroSporker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    1,773
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010

    Apr 3, 2010
    1,773
    1,281
    323
    Yeah, I tend do it out of habit for each new device before even attempting to swap the card. It provides the best possible clean start and it allows me the chance to delete useless files and folders that tend to accumulate over time on the MicroSD. A device switch is also is a nice clean break to archive a final master back up for the old device being replaced - an important event in a backup timeline. It is also a great time to get a new MicroSD with a larger capacity, higher transfer speed.
    I've got a brand new 200GB MicroSD in package that has been awaiting (6+ months) a new device that I can't decide to buy.
     
    #24 PyroSporker, Nov 29, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2016

HTC 10

The HTC 10 is a flagship smartphone by the Taiwanese company. Announced April 12th and available May 2016, the HTC 10 features a full metal unibody design with unique chamfered edges. It was the world's first device with optical image stabilization on both the front and rear cameras.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...