1. Check out our companion app, Forums for Android! Download from Google Play

Root HTC and leaks.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by wuthton, Mar 4, 2010.

  1. wuthton

    wuthton Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    43

    Aug 18, 2009
    378
    27
    43
    Yorkshire, UK
    As some have probably already seen the new 2.1 update with Sense for the Droid Eris was leaked to XDA last night by a HTC employee in China. It is only a matter of time before some clever dev will port it to the Hero as the Eris is basically a hero encased in a rubber lump.

    My question is who thinks these leaks are endorsed by HTC as a backdoor to public beta testing, no strings attached?

    If you remember the 2.73 build update was "leaked" to Modaco about a month before the public release. Hopefully the same timescale applies.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    1,413

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,867
    9,180
    1,413
    UK
  3. wuthton

    wuthton Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    43

    Aug 18, 2009
    378
    27
    43
    Yorkshire, UK
  4. SFA_AOK

    SFA_AOK Well-Known Member
    15

    Aug 10, 2009
    55
    0
    15
    Interesting stuff. For those without rooted phones, I'd takes this as a good sign that official ROM upgrades aren't too far away.

    As for the reason they get leaked - I think it's because it doesn't really matter as it'll be released officially at some point anyway. It's probably beta-stage software though, so they don't want to upset people who don't know what they're doing with buggy software. But for those who know what they're doing and understand the implications - yeah, they probably make good testers and are help HTC out. :)

    "Release early, release often" as the saying goes...
     
  5. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    1,413

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,867
    9,180
    1,413
    UK
    Lol, I was on my way here to post that link just now :p

    I'm tempted to try it. But I'll probably wait a while untill everyone's got everything running smoothly.
     
  6. wuthton

    wuthton Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    43

    Aug 18, 2009
    378
    27
    43
    Yorkshire, UK
    Yeah, I am going to give it a go as soon as he gets wifi working, can't imagine it will be a huge fix.
     
  7. vjprakashbe

    vjprakashbe Well-Known Member
    36

    Nov 24, 2009
    182
    9
    36
    Bangalore
    Wifi fix is already there but need to go for one more flash. 9/10th page of that thread I believe.
     
  8. wuthton

    wuthton Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    43

    Aug 18, 2009
    378
    27
    43
    Yorkshire, UK
    Still no root access, but it is getting awfully tempting now.

    EDIT: Nprussel has left work to go home and work on this, I am going to wait for his release this evening.
     
  9. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    1,413

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,867
    9,180
    1,413
    UK
  10. wuthton

    wuthton Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    43

    Aug 18, 2009
    378
    27
    43
    Yorkshire, UK
  11. vido.ardes

    vido.ardes Well-Known Member
    163

    Oct 17, 2009
    1,059
    200
    163
    Software Developer
    Kent, UK
    I am running it myself (with wifi fix) and everything works fine except root access. I can tell you it is lightening fast, well worth the wait
     
  12. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    1,413

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,867
    9,180
    1,413
    UK
    Is it true it performs better than modaco's 3.2?
     
  13. vido.ardes

    vido.ardes Well-Known Member
    163

    Oct 17, 2009
    1,059
    200
    163
    Software Developer
    Kent, UK
    There are a couple of slowdowns, most notably when removing widgets, but for the most part it is by far the quickest my phone has ever been. All the new apps work great (maps, market e.t.c) and the only thing I haven't seen working is the live weather wallpaper, but other have. I have no reason not to use this as my new everyday, and all he did was take the Eris dump and port it. Imagine how good it will be when the devs get their grubby little mits on it and tweak the task killer, compcache... It'll be like a new phone! I was thing about buying a Desire at the end of the month but I have lost all 'desire' to buy a Desire now (pun fully intended :D)
     
  14. Ziani

    Ziani Well-Known Member
    98

    Sep 20, 2009
    836
    92
    98
    Norfolk, UK
    OMG....even more excited about it now. I really hope this Apple crap wont delay it even more :(
     
  15. bluenova

    bluenova OK Computer
    143

    Jan 11, 2010
    1,617
    243
    143
    Driver
    W Midlands, UK
  16. vido.ardes

    vido.ardes Well-Known Member
    163

    Oct 17, 2009
    1,059
    200
    163
    Software Developer
    Kent, UK
    You can install busybox from within titanium backup, I have just restored all my apps with it no problem. Just open Titanium Backup, hit the "Problems?" button and it will download busybox for you.
     
  17. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    1,413

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,867
    9,180
    1,413
    UK
    Awesome, I assumed from the posts on xda that busybox was something that had to be added to the original update.zip.

    Is Maxo64's copy rooted?

    EDIT: Villain's version is out as a torrent, and soon as a normal download :)

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=622468&highlight=villian
     
  18. james

    james Well-Known Member
    36

    Aug 24, 2009
    148
    9
    36
    UK
    Can anyone confirm this for me. I'm currently running MoDaCo. If I install this to try out, and go back to MoDaCo with a nandroid backup, will all my app2sd still work and stuff or will it get screwed up?

    Cheers :)
     
  19. vjprakashbe

    vjprakashbe Well-Known Member
    36

    Nov 24, 2009
    182
    9
    36
    Bangalore
    Yes it does! Please make sure you do "nandroid + ext backup".
     
  20. G8D

    G8D Well-Known Member
    61

    Sep 2, 2009
    533
    4
    61
    Does a BART do the same?
    So taking both is extra safe?
     
  21. james

    james Well-Known Member
    36

    Aug 24, 2009
    148
    9
    36
    UK
    Cool I think I'll try it out over the weekend then :)
     
  22. vjprakashbe

    vjprakashbe Well-Known Member
    36

    Nov 24, 2009
    182
    9
    36
    Bangalore
    I ever did only one BART backup in my life (not even restore) :).
    Where I haven't noticed any difference between these two back-ups. I read somewhere BART will create .TAR files with app, app-private and lost+found from SD. But practically I notice "nandroid + ext" also does the samething.
     
  23. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    1,413

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,867
    9,180
    1,413
    UK
    I've never used BART either, NAND + Ext is about as complete as backups get anyway.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...