• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

HTC ARIA 2.2 from ATT alowing unknown source option!

so i am a noob here but i would like to share this info with all Att users :) i have HTC Aria running android 2.2 non-rooted and i was downloading launchers from the app market, not sure which one allowed me to get the "UNKNOWN SOURCES" OPTION but I will share that i have downloaded AWD.LAUNCHER along with the GINGERBREAD THEME AWD and at the same time downloaded an app just called LAUNCHER and both had flaws i did not enjoy so when i went to delete them in my Applications menu i now have the option to allow non-market app to be instaled :) hope this helps ya'll

so i am a noob here but i would like to share this info with all Att users :) i have HTC Aria running android 2.2 non-rooted and i was downloading launchers from the app market, not sure which one allowed me to get the "UNKNOWN SOURCES" OPTION but I will share that i have downloaded AWD.LAUNCHER along with the GINGERBREAD THEME AWD and at the same time downloaded an app just called LAUNCHER and both had flaws i did not enjoy so when i went to delete them in my Applications menu i now have the option to allow non-market app to be instaled :) hope this helps ya'll

AT&T actually sent you an update that enabled the Unknown Sources option, it was nothing that you did or downloaded. This was publicized last week.

Upvote 0
If you have received the Aria update that allows Unknown Sources, can you post the version it shows? Not sure if the Kernel changes, but it may be needed to. I can not run the AT&T Software Update. Tech support told me to reload the Froyo 2.2 update for it to work. I can not tell from the HTC site if it is a newer version then I had already updated to.

Your version may be helpful.

Upvote 0
I updated and still no "unknown sources" :(