1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General HTC CEO Interview

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by vjetti, Jun 4, 2010.

  1. vjetti

    vjetti Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    37
    2
    36
    Dallas
    So there's an interview with the HTC CEO Peter Chou during the All Things Digital Conference.. D8 Liveblog: Peter Chou, HTC CEO | D8 Conference | AllThingsD

    One thing he said is just not true (yet) and made me :mad:.

    Chou: Well, what we do is try to add value on top of Android and Windows. HTC Sense focuses on things like the social networking experience. Our philosophy is that we don
     

    Advertisement

  2. Ovy

    Ovy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    151
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    151
    19
    38
     
  3. NoShftShck16

    NoShftShck16 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    638
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    638
    70
    78
    Marketing Analyst/Web Developer/Social Media Analy
    Philadelphia
    wait what? you can turn off sense? do tell my friend do tell
     
  4. milnivlek

    milnivlek Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    May 7, 2010

    May 7, 2010
    122
    15
    38
    Well, the question to him was "So you can take HTC software off these phones?" So maybe the CEO meant that, yes, HTC can take the software off when they want to. But of course the average consumer doesn't have that option yet (without root access).
     
  5. sheepforwheat

    sheepforwheat Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    53
    17
    18
    on droid incredible you can't turn off sense.

    I think what the CEO meant was that you don't have to use the HTC widgets if you don't want.

    His ignorance of the fact that HTC Sense is contributing to fragmentation is frustrating to me.
     
  6. pardonmyfreedom

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    24
    99
    33
    I really wish people would stop saying this, because it's not true. There are many of us who turned off Sense long ago. Now, the rumor was started because the Incredible does not include the default Android Launcher. However, you can manually install it (or any other launcher, I recommend LauncherPro) and disable Sense as your default launcher.
     
  7. ttamnedlog

    ttamnedlog Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    250
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    250
    55
    53
    Well you can use a home launcher replacement that effectively disables Sense on the phone. UI, widgets, the whole 9 yards.
     
  8. Bing

    Bing Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    174
    25
    43
    Software & Systems Engineer
    Washington, DC
    If you disable the Sense UI in this way, is that enough to get a Wiimote to connect? I know the CCP Wiimote app says it doesn't work with the Sense UI.
     
  9. vjetti

    vjetti Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    37
    2
    36
    Dallas
    Woah no idea I could disable Sense like that. I guess it isn't a route that many HTC users have taken? Might try it out just to see..
     
  10. fortesquieu

    fortesquieu Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,079
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    1,079
    144
    143
    We cannot turn off HTC Sense on Incredible, but EVO can.
     
  11. Ruben

    Ruben Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,152
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009

    Dec 20, 2009
    1,152
    349
    163
    HTC didn't take that off, VZW did.

    VZW decided to take off the default launcher AND a few Sense apps and widgets, i.e. news.

    Sorry :( One we have root we can push it right to the phone.
     
  12. ChiTownJim

    ChiTownJim Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,380
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010

    Jan 9, 2010
    2,380
    286
    163
    Restaurant Owner and Chef
    Denver
    Yeah Verizon pretty much always has to add there touch to phones .
    I can't wait to dump sense, although I notice running LauncherPro that Sense isn't running in the background like it use to when I was running diffrent UIs with my Eris. But still there are so many useless programs I want to take off and some that I've replaced so noneed for two apps that do the same thing
     
  13. Piiman

    Piiman Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,333
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    2,333
    153
    143
    OH yeah ? How about some links that tells us how? :thinking:
     
  14. coolbone

    coolbone Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    198
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010

    Mar 21, 2010
    198
    85
    73
    Musician
    Philadelphia
    1. Market
    2. Install launcher pro, gde, or adw.launcher (my pref)
    3. Go to applications > manage > htc sense
    4. Clear defaults
    5. Press home button
    6. select installed launcher
    7. Open desired app killer and kill htc sense
    8. Celebrate, you now have choice unlike other market leaders in phones

    Sent from my ADR6300 using Tapatalk
     
    Fatso Jetson likes this.
  15. CatsTide

    CatsTide Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    752
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    752
    106
    93
    save some steps by installing home switcher
     
  16. Mudavo

    Mudavo Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    15
    0
    15
    ATL
    I tried home switcher. Wouldn't let me change the default home app.
     
  17. CatsTide

    CatsTide Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    752
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    752
    106
    93
    it has never failed me...try a reboot

    o...and make sure you have another home replacement installed...
     
  18. DirtDiver

    DirtDiver Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    23
    2
    16
    Arizona
    Is anybody else unable to find ADW.Launcher on the app store?
     
  19. patkicks10

    patkicks10 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    140
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    140
    9
    36
    ADW Things

    can download there.
     
  20. Piiman

    Piiman Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,333
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    2,333
    153
    143
    I'll check it out thanks:)
     
  21. Piiman

    Piiman Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,333
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    2,333
    153
    143
    I'll check that out also. Thanks

    I get the feeling I'm going to have a new hobby/addiction

    I get the phone Monday and I'm stepping up from an old LG vx8600 flip phone.:eek: Oh what a phone! It had a 1 sq in screen, Great for surfing porn....(and it wasn't even an Android phone) It played music but requried a jack no one in the world sold but Verizon for about a million $$$. Oh and special software to transfer the music. #$%#@

    Any way do you think I'll notice a difference?:rolleyes:

    I love to monkey with my PC constantly and I have a feeling I'm getting a new PC. :D
     
  22. Outatime

    Outatime Android Expert
    Rank:
     #109
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    1,629
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010

    Mar 6, 2010
    1,629
    662
    253
    Male
    Fed
    This is the first person that understands how this works. The CARRIER approves and controls what software is on your phone.
     
  23. j-money

    j-money Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    107
    1
    36
    So i downloaded the adw launcher from the above link. How do i install it? tried and tried but im missing somthing lol.

    I have it on sd card in both .zip and extracted but cannot work out how to install.

    It looks awesome tho and id love to get it goin.

    Help a brother out anyone????
     
  24. dB Zac

    dB Zac Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    313
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009

    Nov 24, 2009
    313
    10
    38
    Custom car fabricator
    Oroville, CA
    none of this would work for the vanilla android launcher
     
  25. dB Zac

    dB Zac Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    313
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009

    Nov 24, 2009
    313
    10
    38
    Custom car fabricator
    Oroville, CA
    the bottom line is you can NOT "remove" any of the HTC software as of yet and you most likely will never officially be able to. So what he said with the words he chose is wrong. You can read into it but the fact is he miss spoke. Now He vary well may have meant you don't have to use the software but we will never know because that's not what he said.
     

Share This Page

Loading...