1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support HTC Desire 3G wont turn back on

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by blackfox, Jul 14, 2010.

  1. blackfox

    blackfox Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    18
    1
    16
    IT Hardware
    Midlands, UK
    Hi, I have had a hunt around on the net and these forums for answer to this issue, but can't seem to find it anywhere! Can anyone else confirm having this or even part of my issue?

    I quite often turn the 3G off on the phone to conserve battery when not using it. Sometimes (roughly once every three days) the 3G refuses to turn back on. I use a the mobile data widget to disable/enable the mobile data, and the widget changes colour to green to show it has been pressed, but the data doesn't resume. I have also tried changing it in the phone settings as well and get the connection failed error message after 1-2 seconds. The only thing I have found to correct the problem is restarting the phone.

    When the phone comes back on, the data works as normal, and I will get another couple of days from it without having the same issue. To add another element of confusion I get a text message after rebooting the phone from having this problem from "Anonymous" with nothing in the message and SIM card symbol on the right hand side of the screen???? :thinking:


    Anyone else getting this loss of mobile data and/or text message?

    Thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. tomvdp

    tomvdp Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    37
    4
    16
    About the 3G not coming back: yes, I had the same problem before the latest update. Now with build 1.21.105.2 this issue has disappeared for me.
    A work around was to go to airplane mode and back (instead of rebooting).
     
  3. StevenSeed

    StevenSeed Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    396
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    396
    30
    63
    Male
    Network Analyst
    South Yorkshire, UK
    You can either do that, or change the Mobile Internet settings in settings > Wireless and Networks > Mobile Network > Network mode, and change to something other than what it currently is, wait for a minute or so, and then change it back. :cool:
     
  4. blackfox

    blackfox Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    18
    1
    16
    IT Hardware
    Midlands, UK
    That was quick! thanks for that, I will try doing this and see if I still get the annoying text message when it re-enables.
     
  5. snowmobile

    snowmobile Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    479
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010

    Apr 10, 2010
    479
    92
    73
    Toggling in and out of airplane mode usually works for me when I occasionally lose the connection.

    The text message thing seems odd :thinking: The widget you are using, is it an app from the market or the built in shortcut to settings? I wonder if it may be an app acting strangely?
     
  6. blackfox

    blackfox Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    18
    1
    16
    IT Hardware
    Midlands, UK
    It's the inbuilt widget I use. I used to have APN droid installed for Timeriffic to control the Mobile Data automatically, but I uninstalled it a while a go thinking it might be causing the issue. I am still having it though. :(
     
  7. Jason71

    Jason71 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    238
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009

    Aug 5, 2009
    238
    24
    38
    IT consultant
    Shropshire UK
    I think it is quite a common problem. I have had the problem and also had it come back but without the icon in the notification window to say it is working
    Tasker even warns you if might happen but doesn't have any very useful advice on what to do about it
     
  8. davas

    davas Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I've been having the same problems since I got my Desire about a month ago... only found that rebooting (removing the battery in my case as it has the never-shuts-down problem too) worked. I will try the airplane mode trick next time!

    Thanks for the tips
     
  9. cheechoun

    cheechoun Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    I have the same problem with losing 3G connection on my HTC Desire. Toggling airplane mode, turning off the mobile data connection, and even a soft reset (power-trackpad-volume down) do not restore 3G. The only thing that works is a power down. No battery pull required, thankfully. Tasker 1.0.5 on Eclair.

    I've turned Tasker off, and things seem to be okay now. Will continue to monitor it over the next few days. Too bad I now don't get my Tasker warnings that I'm spending too much time on the net on my phone! :p
     
  10. Jason71

    Jason71 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    238
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009

    Aug 5, 2009
    238
    24
    38
    IT consultant
    Shropshire UK
    were you using Tasker to turn off the 3G? If so then it uses APNDroid to do the turning off and I have found with or without tasker that APNDroid does cause this problem from time to time. I use tasker and have no problems so long as I don't use it to turn on or off 3G.
     
  11. Missing_Link

    Missing_Link Member
    Rank:
     #1,205
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    May 8, 2010

    May 8, 2010
    63
    5
    16
    Yes! - unfortunately I suffer with both the issues you mention. Usually 3G refuses to come back to life after I've enabled wifi and then disabled it. I usually wait ages for it to right itself, or switch the phone off. I'll try the airplane idea though - quicker than switching the phone off :)

    Also, that really annoying blank anonymous message - I get that too. I thought it was probably spam or something. I usually open and then delete it. I guess I probably shouldn't open it... I wonder what it's really all about ?
     
  12. cheechoun

    cheechoun Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    I did not have any tasks that control the mobile data connection, or even contexts that monitor connection status. And no APNDroid installed.

    Anyway am running Froyo now. Will test Tasker and see if it behaves better now, if I'm so inclined! :)
     
  13. sammyvine

    sammyvine Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    38
    0
    15
    I have the same problem. Like at work i turn on mobile network and it doesnt turn on even though it says its on. I end up switching the phone on and off, and then its on when its re-started.

    Is there something wrong with my handset, or its a common problem? If so, should i just always leave the mobile network turned on?

    The funny thing is, that this only ever happens when im at work and the signal over there isnt that great, so im thinking is that the issue?
     
  14. nx1977

    nx1977 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,421
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,421
    174
    163
    UK
    So long as the apn is valid the network will allow connection so long as there is capacity.

    Priority is always given to already connected devices over those wishing to join the data connection. It's one reason why disabling data can actually use more power than running it on 24/7 - especially in areas like London with low data capacity.
     
  15. sammyvine

    sammyvine Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    38
    0
    15
    So you think i should leave it running all the time? I'm a bit confused lol
     
  16. nx1977

    nx1977 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,421
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,421
    174
    163
    UK
    Try it. You might be surprised there is very little change to battery use.

    Most of the battery saving tips regarding 3g and data stem from the US, where their signals, frequencies etc differ from ours in the UK.
     
  17. HCT99

    HCT99 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010

    Sep 18, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    HELP!! I'm having the same problem but I have tried every suggestion on this thread and nothing is working.
    I read one of the 'saving battery life' threads on here, added a widget someone recommended to turn the mobile data off when I didn't need it (can't remember what it was called, gave me a box with up and down arrows in it that turned red or green when pressed) and I've never been able to turn 3G back on :eek:(.
     
  18. MolefeM

    MolefeM Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    Now REALLY! is there no fix for this problem!? HELP! btw i am in S. Africa on MTN network. running froyo... same problem.
     
  19. ben.fred

    ben.fred Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    144
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    144
    1
    56
    i have this toooo :( any ideas?

    i use the htc widget to turn it on and off.....

    UK Vodafone , latest 2.2 update didn't fix it....
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...