1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General HTC Desire 610 Bootloop (Unrooted)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by KaapstadMK, Aug 9, 2016.

  1. KaapstadMK

    KaapstadMK Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016

    Aug 9, 2016
    10
    1
    25
    Male
    For the last ~36 hrs, my phone has been in permanent bootloop. It will boot up to the homescreen, stay for ~ 30sec and then reboot, continuing until the battery runs out. I've taken out the battery and SIM. It still loops w/o the SIM. I have tried messing with the HBOOT screen, but I am unable to effect a Factory Reset, Recovery, or Clear Storage. All three take me to the red triangle and exclamation mark screen and do not affect the bootloop - all my data is still present at each loop.

    I've tried running the appropriate RUU, but every time I ran it, it was unable to connect with the phone, even though it was plugged into the computer. Also, if it helps, my phone is unable to read my SD card, so any solution using that won't be of much use.

    Here is my HBOOT screen:

    *** LOCKED ***
    ZARA_CL PVT SHIP S-ON RL
    HBOOT-2.22.0000
    RADIO-1.14.50.0516
    OpenDSP-v18.2.0268.0925
    OS-2.15.625.15
    eMMC-boot 1024MB
    Aug 31 2015,15:46:45.0

    HBOOT

    <VOL UP> to previous item
    <VOL DOWN> to next item
    <POWER> to select item

    FASTBOOT
    RECOVERY
    FACTORY RESET
    SLEAR STORAGE
    SIMLOCK
    CHECK SMARTSD
    IMAGE CRC
    SHOW BARCODE
     

    Advertisement

    Himel Khan likes this.
  2. GypsyHarlow

    GypsyHarlow Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016

    Aug 14, 2016
    1
    0
    15
    Female
    °Time Mistress°
    the TARDIS all of Space & Time
  3. KaapstadMK

    KaapstadMK Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016

    Aug 9, 2016
    10
    1
    25
    Male
    Not yet, unfortunately.
     
  4. martimarti

    martimarti Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014

    Mar 29, 2014
    20
    0
    15
    Male
    Hello,
    I would boot the phone in Bootloader mode. After that I'll connect it to the pc and try to wipe/install recovery from there even though it does not allow me to actually boot it in Fastboot. This can happen with CMD and when you have the proper drivers installed such as ADB and phone drivers. Let us know how it goes!

    Best Regards
     
  5. KaapstadMK

    KaapstadMK Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016

    Aug 9, 2016
    10
    1
    25
    Male
    How exactly do I do that from the computer? Every time I've tried something with bootloader, it hasn't done anything (probably due more to my lack of expertise than anything else)
     
  6. martimarti

    martimarti Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014

    Mar 29, 2014
    20
    0
    15
    Male
    I'm going home and I'll be able to give you details about that. Hope I can help
     
  7. KaapstadMK

    KaapstadMK Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016

    Aug 9, 2016
    10
    1
    25
    Male
    I appreciate any help you can give
     
  8. martimarti

    martimarti Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014

    Mar 29, 2014
    20
    0
    15
    Male
    Before you try this procedure you must Unlock your Bootloader in order for this guide to work. Okay, here is what you need to do:
    1. Let’s start by downloading TWRP for your device. You can find a list of devices that are currently supported by following the link. - https://twrp.me/Devices/
    2. Download, install and read before usage - https://developer.android.com/studio/index.html
    3. If you find step 2 difficult or not conveniet, use this - http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?p=48915118#post48915118
    4. After you have completed the steps above do the following:
    4.1 Open the folder where your TWRP Recovery.img file is saved.
    4.2 Then open a CMD window inside that folder. To do that, Shift + Right click on any empty white space inside the folder and then select "Open command window here".
    4.3 Connect your Android device to the PC. Type the following into the command window to boot your device into bootloader/fastboot mode: adb reboot bootloader - keep in mind that you are able to be only in bootloader so first make sure the phone is in bootloader mode and then follow next steps starting with number 4.4!
    4.4 Once your device boots into bootloader mode, type this into the command line -
    fastboot flash recovery twrp-2.8.x.x-xxx.img - Here modify twrp.img with the name of your TWRP recovery .img file.
    4.5 Once TWRP is successfully flashed on your device, type this final command to reboot your device - fastboot reboot

    Let me know how it goes!
     
  9. KaapstadMK

    KaapstadMK Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016

    Aug 9, 2016
    10
    1
    25
    Male
    So, 3 problems:

    1) I am unable to turn on USB debugging on my phone. I tried following the directions, but I have no "About phone" and "Build number" menu selections (add to that, I have a limited amount of time in which to do so)

    2 & 3) when typing the commands, I get these responses:
    'adb' is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file.

    'fastboot' is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file.

    I have tried these commands while the phone was connected and off as well as while the phone was connected and on the HBOOT screen
     
  10. martimarti

    martimarti Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014

    Mar 29, 2014
    20
    0
    15
    Male
    How about when your phone is in HBOOT screen, go to Fastboot and click once there? If the phone is in HBOOT, connected to PC and after you go on Fastboot and click once, you should automatically here a sound from the pc like you put a usb in it and the pc will install drivers and you will have acces to the commands.
    The other thing, Bootloader has to be Unlocked. Yours is Locked. Do you know how to Unlock it?
     
  11. KaapstadMK

    KaapstadMK Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016

    Aug 9, 2016
    10
    1
    25
    Male
    I'll try that.

    No, I don't know how to unlock it
     
  12. KaapstadMK

    KaapstadMK Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016

    Aug 9, 2016
    10
    1
    25
    Male
    Yeah, that didn't work either. The only time something shows up on my computer is when the phone turns on - the comp reads it like a portable USB device.
    Discovered how to activate developer's options, but my phone is apparently so screwed up it won't reveal the dev's menu under settings to allow me to enable USB debugging. (and I have to re-enable developer's options each time it reboots)
     
  13. martimarti

    martimarti Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014

    Mar 29, 2014
    20
    0
    15
    Male
    Alright. Before we continue, are you able to turn the phone on, meaning, boot in android?
    You said you were able to put USB debugging.

    Try this: http://forum.xda-developers.com/desire-610/general/info-htcdev-unlock-root-t2844323
     
    #13 martimarti, Aug 16, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2016
  14. KaapstadMK

    KaapstadMK Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016

    Aug 9, 2016
    10
    1
    25
    Male
    I can turn it on. It will open to my home screen, stay open for ~ 30 sec, then restart. So, before the SIM card can fully register, it will reset. I've tried doing a factory reset this way and my phone just ignored it.
     
  15. martimarti

    martimarti Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014

    Mar 29, 2014
    20
    0
    15
    Male
    Have you tried the link which I suggested?
     
  16. KaapstadMK

    KaapstadMK Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016

    Aug 9, 2016
    10
    1
    25
    Male
    I'm working on it. Gonna try a couple things as well. Virgin Mobile's Support got back to me; apparently my phone's a 601, so I'm trying the correct RUU first.
     
  17. martimarti

    martimarti Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014

    Mar 29, 2014
    20
    0
    15
    Male
    Alright. Good luck and give us feedback how it goes.
     
  18. KaapstadMK

    KaapstadMK Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016

    Aug 9, 2016
    10
    1
    25
    Male
    Okay, so tarting out okay. The major glitch, again, is that I still need to enable USB debugging and, for some reason, my phone will not let me do so
     

Share This Page

Loading...