1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

HTC Desire compatible in Canada?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Crusher3200, Jul 31, 2010.

  1. Crusher3200

    Crusher3200 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010

    Jul 31, 2010
    31
    0
    15
    I'm planning to buy an unlocked HTC Desire in Hong Kong and bring it back to Canada to use with a regular contract (non data) and I was wondering if it was compatible? As in being able to use it with wifi and not be charged for data. Will the 2.2 froyo update be available to Canada over the air? Any apps or anything compatible? Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. nx1977

    nx1977 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,421
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,421
    174
    163
    UK
    Won't work on 3g only edge
     
  3. Crusher3200

    Crusher3200 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010

    Jul 31, 2010
    31
    0
    15

    I don't plan on using a data plan do it doesn't matter for 3G or edge. Would wifi work in Canada and future updates ?
     
  4. anm00727

    anm00727 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010

    Jul 31, 2010
    18
    1
    16
    wifi and updates would work. But why not wait a few days til it comes to canada and buy it off contract. you dont have to use the data either, but its good to have it just incase.
    unless the reason is amoled :p
     
  5. sookster54

    sookster54 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    906
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    906
    56
    78
    Telus gets the Desire next week (or Sept), so it'll work on Telus and most likely Bell, not sure about Rogers or Fido or Koodo or whatnot. Also this supply of Desire won't have AMOLED, bummer.
     
  6. gr8lats

    gr8lats Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    Apr 25, 2010
    14
    0
    15
    Got my Desire8183 from PersonalDigital in Australia and 3G, HSPDA, texting, Gmail works great on Rogers. Got OTA update to 2.1 a month after setting it up. Check with Rogers for APN settings to enter manually on the phone.
     
  7. Trapperdoggy

    Trapperdoggy Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010

    Aug 27, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    I'm looking at buying and HTC Disire here in the UK but I'm leery to as I will be moving back to Canada so I am also concerned about its compatibility. Is it safe to assume, as I've read through this thread, that it will be compatible? Aside from 3G or edge.
     
  8. ennx

    ennx Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    10
    2
    16
    A European Desire will not work with a Telus or Bell sim card. Rogers and Fido are fine. I don't know about Wind Mobile and the other new GSM carriers. But telus and Bell, no. That is for sure.
     
  9. runlsd

    runlsd Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010

    Aug 20, 2010
    40
    2
    16
    Vancouver, BC
    using an unlocked Telus Desire with Fido. 3G works.
     
  10. nx1977

    nx1977 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,421
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,421
    174
    163
    UK
    Phone will work, but not on 3G.
     
  11. manicguitarist

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    31
    1
    16
    3g works in the UK just fine.

    Depending on my location, I get H, 3G, G or E displayed as my dataconnection.
     
  12. bfksc

    bfksc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,262
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010

    Aug 29, 2010
    1,262
    201
    143
    Canada
    To be clear, the phone will work for voice calls and texting here in Canada on Rogers, Fido, and Chatr (all owned by Rogers) since they have a GSM and 3G network. But it will NOT work on Bell or Telus or Wind mobile as they do not support GSM at all for voice calls.

    Data will work on Rogers, Fido and Chatr, but only 2G EDGE/GPRS on their GSM network. You won't get any kind of data with Bell or Telus since they don't support GSM.

    Voice calls, texting, and wifi will all work normally. As for updates, you should be able to get Froyo update over WIFI.

    Clear as mud?
    :D
     
    EmperorLu likes this.
  13. Zamboniman

    Zamboniman Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    IT Support
    Canada
    Not accurate actually. With the Telus/Bell new network it will depend on which frequency bands your phone supports. They will work with Telus/Bell 3G HSPA network if your phone supports UMTS/HSPA 850MHz and/or 1900MHz.

    Telus/Bell does not however have an older EDGE system to fall back on if needed.
     
  14. bfksc

    bfksc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,262
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010

    Aug 29, 2010
    1,262
    201
    143
    Canada
    That would be correct, except phones sold in Hong Kong do NOT support those bands because the phone wouldn't work for 3G in HK or most other asian and european countries - they use 2100MHz.

    While you might be able to find a Desire with NA bands in HK, it's highly unlikely since the HK/China market would have no use for that model. And I doubt retailers would stock NA models for the few Canadians/Americans that happen by looking for a deal.
    ;)
    Right, and if they have a 3G failure of some stature, you won't have phone calls, data, texting, or anything else. You'll still have the right time on the phone, but that's about it.
    :D
     
  15. nx1977

    nx1977 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,421
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,421
    174
    163
    UK
    But this thread is discussing Canadian networks using a UK purchased phone - which will work only on GSM. ;)
     
  16. manicguitarist

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    31
    1
    16


    I'm blond.
    :)
    Hope that covers it.

    :)

    However, with my wife (and hence my son) both being Canadian, I should know better....
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...