• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help HTC desire crashes and restarts randomly

Tzast

May 12, 2010
London
Hi everyone,

I'm new to Android and smartphones in general so I was hoping for some advice, tips, etc for the problem I'm having.

Got my HTC desire almost 2 weeks ago and while the first few days it did happen to restart on its own, it only happened once or twice so didn't pay attention thinking it's the odd thing... (in fact i thought it had to do with the flash player and playing videos embedded in web pages).

Last week though, this has been happening more often and on doing different occassions, so can't isolate it. Once, it happened while browsing my contacts, then when browsing web pages, then something else (can't remember). The odd thing the last two days is that the first restart triggered a series of restarts back to back without my intervention, and after 2-3 it came back to normal.

As I said I haven't been able to replicate it fully or isolate the cause, but things i thought might be the reason, don't seem to be. Flash or videos in web pages seem to work, as i went back to some of these pages and now they load fine. May be the fact that when loading these through wifi is quicker and hence no problems. Or when charging it or not, think i've tried both when some of the restarts happened. But then that wouldn't explain other crashes.

I called carphonewarehouse where i got the phone from and since it's less than 28 days they can probably replace it, but i just wanted to make sure it's not a genuine phone/android issue that i obviously miss.

Any tips or advise would be much appreciated.

Thanks

What apps have you got installed?

Have you tried an uninstall of your apps and a factory reset to see if this helps?

Sent from my HTC Legend using Tapatalk