1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

General HTC Desire HD arriving today! - What to do first?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by StevieDog, Feb 21, 2011.

1. StevieDog

StevieDog Lurker

I'm sitting here waiting for the postman to deliver my new HTC Desire HD.

Truth is I'm a complete noob when it comes to HTC/Android, I'm coming from an iPhone background.

Are there any vital things anyone can recomend to do first?

Advertisement

2. El Kroket

El Kroket Well-Known Member

Reading the threads in this forum!!! So you can see that your question is already been asked a few times...

Besides that, welcome to the forum and I hope you'll enjoy your phone!!!

cheers

StevieDog likes this.
  3. bonerp

bonerp Android Expert

go to accounts & sync in settings and turn them all down or off, else the battery will die. You can set up email etc to sync only when the screen is enabled.

The battery takes 2 /3 weeks of charges before it settles down and you get better charge from it.

Turn the screen brightness down to 10-20%. You'll soon get used to it.

Add GreenPower free. This turns off wifi and net connections when the screen is off.

Enjoy.

P

StevieDog likes this.
  4. El Presidente

El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    VIP Member

Here's what I've advised my mates to install once getting the phone -

Also, check out some of the threads on conditioning the battery.

StevieDog likes this.
  5. StevieDog

StevieDog Lurker

Thanks a lot for the tips.

I'm absolutely loving the phone. It's such a refreshing upgrade from the iPhone 4 which seems so limited compared to the Desire HD.

A few questions if anyone can answer...

• I'm using the standard Desire HD theme/skin (the one with the moving colours). does this take up a lot of battery life?