1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support HTC Desire HD: Odd Temperature Readings & Constant Overheating

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by zhertec, Jun 2, 2011.

  1. zhertec

    zhertec Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011

    Jun 2, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    I got the HTC Desire HD about 5 months ago, it was perfect until one time it rebooted randomly. And now it is constantly showing "Overheat" on the battery information. The temperature readings oddly show very low temperature (-12 to 5 degrees Celsius), even though the temp around me is about 18-25 degrees.

    Is this a hardware or software problem? And Can you give me any advice on how to fix this?

    THANKS:)

    BTW: its running on android 2.3.3 and I've tried rebooting it many times and taking out the battery, but it still stays the same.
     

    Advertisement

  2. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,117
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,117
    24,060
    3,118
    Scotland
    What 3rd Party app are you using to get the temp?

    In running applications, what's running and taking up a wedge of resources (if anything)?
     
    zhertec likes this.
  3. zhertec

    zhertec Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011

    Jun 2, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    I wasn't using a 3rd party app, I was using a widget, downloaded from HTC HUB, that shows the temp of battery, health etc. I am also using "OS monitor" app, which shows the exact same info as the "Battery Widget" which I downloaded from HTC HUB.

    I keep using "Task killer" app, so most of the time 1-2 apps are running (LookOut & Voice search only).

    Any clue why it is showing such low temp?
     
  4. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,117
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,117
    24,060
    3,118
    Scotland
    If it's reporting the same with 2 apps, either the sensor is faulty or there is some other sort of hardware problem.

    If it says overheating, does it get hot to touch, especially round the back?

    Just to be 100% sure, install Batteryminder (just the first app I can think of off the top of my head that is free and displays the temp), see what that reads.

    Regardless, I think something is faulty and it may need to go in for repair.
     
    zhertec likes this.
  5. john_g

    john_g Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    558
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010

    Nov 6, 2010
    558
    186
    93
    London, UK
    If possible, I'd suggest you try it with a different battery. I don't know whether the temperature sensor is housed within the battery, but it might well be. Perhaps your local phone shop would let you try one of their batteries?
     
    zhertec likes this.
  6. zhertec

    zhertec Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011

    Jun 2, 2011
    10
    0
    15
  7. zhertec

    zhertec Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011

    Jun 2, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    Thank You for all your replies :)

    Do u think its a software or hardware problem?

    And when it says "Overheat", the back is no hot at all for some reason

    I was thinking of send my battery back to my phone service provider, so they can swap it for a new one and I could test if the issue is the phone or the battery.
    Would you recommend this? Or is there a easier way to fix this problem?
     
  8. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,117
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,117
    24,060
    3,118
    Scotland
    There's certainly no harm in asking for a new battery. John_g made a pretty good suggestion, if you go to the shop where you got the phone, they may well let you try another battery.
     
    zhertec likes this.
  9. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,117
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,117
    24,060
    3,118
    Scotland
    I just noticed you said you were using a Task Killer. Seriously, they do more harm than good.
     
    SB13X, zhertec and Xyro like this.
  10. zhertec

    zhertec Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011

    Jun 2, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    Thanks for the help!

    Is taskiller bad? And I tried using batteryminder app u recommended for me and it shows the same as the battery widget and the OS monitor app

    I thimk I'm going to swap my battery then, thanks again, you have helped me a lot :)
     
  11. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,117
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,117
    24,060
    3,118
    Scotland
    That's what we're here for :)

    Yes, Task Killers are bad. Android is designed to be it's own task killer and if it doesn't need something running, it will kill it of its own accord. By using a Task Killer, you're really just trying to do Androids job better than Android. Do you notice a lot of the apps you've killed just opening up again? Also, just because you see these tasks running, it doesn't mean they're using battery, they could just be sitting idle in RAM.

    Here are some links if you're interested -

    AndroidSPIN Why you don’t need a task killer app with Android.

    Android Developers Blog: Multitasking the Android Way
     
    zhertec likes this.
  12. zhertec

    zhertec Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011

    Jun 2, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    I'm only using "Task killer" because it says it saves battery, is this true or is task killer just plain bad?
     
  13. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,117
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,117
    24,060
    3,118
    Scotland
    They used too, but from Android 2.2 upwards, they're pretty pointless.
     
    zhertec likes this.
  14. zhertec

    zhertec Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011

    Jun 2, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    Thanks for all the help people, I really Appreciate it ! :D
     
  15. zhertec

    zhertec Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011

    Jun 2, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    I have just two more questions:

    1. If I send my phone back to the factory, will they factory reset my phone (lose all data) or not?

    And I just noticed that sometimes when it says overheat, I can somewhat charge my phone and it'll instantly turn normal, So I think it's a sensor problem and not my battery.

    2. Where is the sensor for the battery located? On the battery?

    Thanks
     
  16. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,117
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,117
    24,060
    3,118
    Scotland
    Most likely. They'll ask you to take out the SD Card so stuff on there will be ok, contacts should be backed up to your gmail account, do you know how to check? Apps will be backed up too so if you assign the same gmail account to the phone, they will download them again. App data will be lost though.

    Not sure to be honest, I wonder if it is in the phone and it measures the external temprature of the battery or it's inside the charging chip?
     
  17. zhertec

    zhertec Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011

    Jun 2, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    Can you teach me how to: Back up Contacts & back up apps etc. thanks
    :D
    When you say app data, do u mean like the contents in the app?

    And Im just curious, why do they "Factory Reset" your phone, can't they fix the sensor and return the phone without "factory reset"?

    Thanks for the replies :D
     
  18. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,117
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,117
    24,060
    3,118
    Scotland
    No problem.

    Via a PC, log into the gmail account associated with your phone, click the contacts button in the top left corner of the page. Do you see a list of contacts associated with your phone?

    Yeah, app data is kinda like that. It would be like settings for apps and progress for games etc. The apps themselves would redownload, but it would be a fresh install. The only way to backup data is by rooting but that voids your warranty.
     
    zhertec likes this.
  19. zhertec

    zhertec Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011

    Jun 2, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    Thanks

    I'm just curious but, is there another way to solve this problem? Because like a few days it is working perfectly fine, but when I place it in my pocket for a couple of hours, it overheats for some reason , constantly showing -11 degrees celsius.

    So is there another way to solve this issue? because I don't really want to factory reset my phone and lose all app data etc.

    And has this issue happen to anyone else besides me?

    Anyways, If you people find a solution Please tell me.

    Thanks.:D
     

Share This Page

Loading...