1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support HTC Desire HD

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by DesireHDUser, Jan 10, 2012.

  1. DesireHDUser

    DesireHDUser Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012

    Jan 9, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    Management Consultant
    Birmingham UK
    HTC Desire HD
     

    Advertisement

  2. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,445
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Welcome to the forums!

    I've moved your post here where I'm sure you can get the right answers.
     
  3. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,120
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,120
    24,094
    3,118
    Scotland
    MPE should work no problem.

    Did the update switch off USB Debugging per chance? Settings -> Applications-> Development
     
  4. DesireHDUser

    DesireHDUser Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012

    Jan 9, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    Management Consultant
    Birmingham UK
    No, I thought of that: just in case it had turned it off, I went through and turned the de-bugging "on" (I think it was on anyway); I've also tried it both when the connection is set as "charge only" (as MPE states) and "HTC sync" (as when I previously used MPE, the phone had to be set to that to make it work, not "charge only"....! No idea why!).

    Many thanks for moving the thread; let's hope someone has an idea as having to manually sync my diaries is driving me nuts! :(
     
  5. dvhttn

    dvhttn Android Expert
    Rank:
     #100
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,523
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010

    Oct 17, 2010
    1,523
    281
    173
    I wish ....
    Sunny Cornwall
    I have the DHD (rooted and different ROM) and use MPE and found the 'new user' issue when I installed said ROM. My solution was just that, to create a new user and carry on. All was fine - though I double checked my settings before I synced for the first time, just in case ..... :eek:

    I connect via wifi though. Set my router to always give my phone the same ip address (it checks the mac address for this) and set MPE to start as soon as wifi is connected to my home network. Makes things so much easier than using a cable.

    I did use a cable to start with though. Maybe your cable is the problem? I was using a genuine Nokia cable and all was fine with it. But when I rooted the DHD it didn't seem to connect very well. I swapped it for the HTC one (from the mains charger) and that worked fine. Or maybe the USB port you're using?

    You could also try the MPE forum over at ... FJ Software :: Forum anzeigen - English section ... but please 'search' first .... :D

    HTH

    Dave
     
  6. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,120
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,120
    24,094
    3,118
    Scotland
    I'd a similar issue on another section and installing an older version of HTC Sync sorted (you need the drivers it provides). You might want to try that? There should be a version on the SD Card.
     
  7. DesireHDUser

    DesireHDUser Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012

    Jan 9, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    Management Consultant
    Birmingham UK
    Many thanks for suggestion ref. the Wifi / Bluetooth connections...

    Bluetooth didn't seem to work, but when I connected both my laptop and my phone to my broadband, set MPE on my laptop to "Wifi" and started MPE on my phone in the same way, it has now enabled a full sync to take place via MPE.... :D

    Many thanks once again
     
  8. JohnDF1

    JohnDF1 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011

    Jun 2, 2011
    33
    4
    16
    professional
    tunbridge wells
    I see HTC issued an overnight update to sync driver last night (Jan 18) which included "fixing" compatability and media uptake issues. They must have known the 2.3.5. update has caused huge sync problems with many users saying they get a continual "fail to mount/unmount" error when they try to sync the gallery and music from computer to deisre by HTC Sync. Why release the upadte without making sure that accompanying sync works with all phones? less haste more expertise?
     

Share This Page

Loading...