1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

HTC desire idle screen

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by samwillc, Jul 11, 2010.

  1. samwillc

    samwillc Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    Hi everyone, just upgraded from my omnia HD and I must say, I'm thrilled with the htc desire, it's a very impressive phone, does exactly all the things I require and it's easy to use!

    Only problem I have is that when the phone is locked, the screen is blank, and unlike my omnia hd, a press of any of the buttons would at least show up the clock (would still be locked though).

    On the desire, I seem to have to press that slightly awkward key at the top in order to see what time it is. Is there any way of changing this so that a press from the menu key, or home key, would have the same effect as pressing the top key when the phone is locked?

    Makes it so much easier when you just want to quickly check the time to be able to press any button. Anyway, any help would be appreciated, thanks everyone :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. tomq

    tomq Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    samwillc likes this.
  3. Mushhushshu

    Mushhushshu Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    119
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    119
    24
    38
    Bristol, England
    samwillc likes this.
  4. Phenomenological

    Phenomenological Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    782
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    782
    186
    93
    Try downloading lockbot from the market, I believe that allows you to put a clock on the lock screen. It also allows you to use the lower keys to activate the phone I believe, but don't hold me to it. no need to mess around rooting your phone either.

    LockBot Free v1.14.2 Application for Android | Entertainment
     
    Inno and samwillc like this.
  5. samwillc

    samwillc Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    Thanks for the quick replies, have already rooted the phone as soon as I got it, will give your suggestions a shot :)
     
  6. samwillc

    samwillc Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    12
    0
    15
  7. Inno

    Inno Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    158
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010

    Just spent 30 mins meddling with LockBot... made a Houston Astros lock screen. Yay! :)
     
  8. kilroy

    kilroy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    78
    13
    18
    NSW, Australia
    Install ROM Manager and do it through their Clockwork Recovery. Very simple, just let it reboot into the recovery and select 'flash from zip'. locate it on your SD Card and install. Reboot then you should be cooking with gas.
     
    samwillc likes this.
  9. samwillc

    samwillc Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    Nice one, thanks. Will try it later this evening after work.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...