1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support HTC Desire Notification Bar

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by lyra42, Oct 26, 2010.

  1. lyra42

    lyra42 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010

    Oct 26, 2010
    21
    0
    15
    Hi guys,

    I'm new to this so forgive me if some of this sounds a bit silly...

    I bought the HTC Desire last week and absolutely love it. There's two problems I have, the most important being the notification bar (I'm with Telus for any Canadian's out there). The damn thing keeps dropping down without my doing anything and it's been ruining my experience with the phone. The phone works great during the day but during the evenings the notification bar goes crazy and continuously drops down. It happens during the day but maybe I don't notice it as much because I use the phone only for calling/emailing. In the evenings I'm much more involved with apps and whatnot so that might be the cause. The bar dropping down isn't so much a problem as the fact that it makes it difficult to do anything and results in an almost complete loss of functionality. I have to turn the phone on and off multiple times to get it sorted.

    In any case, has anyone else had this problem? I love the phone but the freezes and unresponsiveness caused by the bar (I suspect...) are frustrating me to the point where I want to consider returning the phone. I hope it doesn't come down to that. As I said, I love it and if there's any fix for this, or any ideas, I'd be very grateful. If you feel that it's a problem with this particular phone, then I can try to exchange but would rather avoid that hassle if possible.

    Sorry for the long message and thanks for helping me out :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. dinaro

    dinaro Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    214
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010

    Sep 9, 2010
    214
    19
    58
    Toronto
    I've got the Telus Desire and have had no issues with my notification bar, let alone having to restart it because it freezes. You might have a lemon.
     
  3. chris 290

    chris 290 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    280
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010

    Jun 29, 2010
    280
    44
    43
    Hi,

    I get the same problem if I hold the phone and there is the slightest pressure on the volume buttons. Check that is not the cause, if it is - try holding the phone from the bottom.

    If its not that, then it could possibly be a defective phone that needs to go back.

    Hope that helps :)

    Chris
     
  4. lyra42

    lyra42 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010

    Oct 26, 2010
    21
    0
    15
    Thanks guys!

    Chris290, you might be right. I'll watch out for that...otherwise, I'll talk to Telus about an exchange.
     
  5. bfksc

    bfksc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,262
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010

    Aug 29, 2010
    1,262
    201
    143
    Canada
    Before you spend time with an exchange, try doing a factory reset on the phone. It will reset the phone back to original new status and wipe all the data off the phone. The memory card won't be touched so anything you have on there like music, videos, photos, won't be deleted. But you will lose text messages, call history, contacts that are not stored on the SIM or in your Google account, downloaded apps, etc. You will be able to download your apps again, and paid apps can be downloaded too as long as you log into the Market using the same GMail address.

    It's a bit of a hassle, but it will reset the phone so you can see if there are any hardware problems, and if needed you can return the phone for an exchange.
     
  6. lyra42

    lyra42 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010

    Oct 26, 2010
    21
    0
    15
    Thanks. I'll give that a shot today evening and if it doesn't solve the problem, will take it back to Telus. I'm not sure if it's a hardware problem...it may be since the touchscreen and phone become unresponsive whenever the status bar problem pops up
     
  7. bfksc

    bfksc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,262
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010

    Aug 29, 2010
    1,262
    201
    143
    Canada
    Maybe, or screwed up software. Let us know if it fixes the problem or not so we can keep an eye open for similar issues.
    :)
     
  8. lyra42

    lyra42 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010

    Oct 26, 2010
    21
    0
    15
    That didn't fix the problem unfortunately :(

    I talked to Telus and they had no idea either. Unfortunately, the phone's out of stock for the next couple of weeks so my only bet seems to be Froyo. If that doesn't work, I'm not sure...I hope I don't have to switch to Apple or Blackberry
     
  9. bfksc

    bfksc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,262
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010

    Aug 29, 2010
    1,262
    201
    143
    Canada
    Too bad...I doubt Froyo would fix it then because this is not normal for 2.1 which I ran for about a month.
    :eek:
    Hey, just because your phone isn't working right yet, there's no need to swear!
    :D
     
  10. lyra42

    lyra42 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010

    Oct 26, 2010
    21
    0
    15
    You're probably right...Unfortunately the phone's out of stock and I'm sick of dealing with Telus at the moment. I'll wait till next week to see if they have any in stock. Otherwise, I'll try to get Telus to send my phone in for repair.
     
  11. prinzhernan

    prinzhernan Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010

    Aug 31, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    Maybe the software was corrupted and he should do an RUU install instead? To refresh the phone's OS data, etc.
     
  12. Rogue

    Rogue Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    154
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010

    Jan 26, 2010
    154
    10
    38
    You could always use something like launcher pro or another app and get rid of the notification bar?
     
  13. yenrod

    yenrod Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    203
    4
    36
    Admin
    NW England
    LYRA - I had this and I know what causes it = YOU;

    Yes, what it is is that if you hold the phone on the side either your thumb or one of your fingers on the others side 'very slightly' feather the screen so when your navigating the phone etc...the screen gets mixed up and the above prob happens..i get it cause I do it and i think its the fone but its not ITS ME :eek:

    I moved the digits et voila :)

    Stupid :D but true ! ! ! lol
     
  14. lyra42

    lyra42 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010

    Oct 26, 2010
    21
    0
    15
    Interesting...I think I've been careful enough, I even ripped out the screen protector but that had no effect either. Does your phone become unresponsive as well whenever this problem happens?

    What's launcher pro? And what's an RUU install? I'd be willing to try those if you think they'll fix this!
     
  15. yenrod

    yenrod Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    203
    4
    36
    Admin
    NW England
  16. marvin_android

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010

    Dec 2, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    I have the same problem as well, just tried the hard reset, let's see what happens!
    I really do love this phone, but this bug really ruins everything sometimes
     
  17. marvin_android

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010

    Dec 2, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    nothing, the funny thing is that when this happens the phone seems to go totally crazy..
     
  18. anjum

    anjum Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011

    Jan 31, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Hi ,

    I have the same problem, some of the time the notification bar automatically drops down itself then I need to collapsed it many time to see the main desktop or drawer.
    This problem occur and disappear itself. Any idea?

    I am running stock 2.2 htc sense rom with rooting (unrevoked) and S-ON.

    Thanks
     
  19. usman1947

    usman1947 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010

    Nov 8, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    i have the same problem :(
    and it is very annoying. I don't think so that WE are the problem, not the DESIRE.
    Could this be a possibility that my desire's screen is pressed hard and that problem arises due to it?
    ANY HELP!!!
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...