1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

HTC Desire Problems

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mickthebuilder, Jun 20, 2010.

  1. mickthebuilder

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010

    Jun 20, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Retired Builder
    Ramsgate,Kent
    Hi Everyone I have just joined your forum as it seems to be a very usefull
    site for android problem discussions.

    My wife and I have recently upgraded to HTC Desire from the HTC T-Mobile G1, the G1 we have had for 18 months and it has performed perfectly with no complaints,but, since we have changed over to the Desire last thursday, we have had a lot of problem with signal strength.

    Areas where we could get a signal with the G1,we can't with the Desire, it seems to me to have an aerial problem as it struggles in many areas that other phones don't.
    We are sending the phones back and will have to choose something else, has anyone out there with a Desire suffered the same problems?
    I will be interested to hear what you have to say.:mad:
     

    Advertisement

  2. AlanfromOz

    AlanfromOz Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Health Manager
    Unanderra, NSW, Australia
    Hi Mick,

    I have had my Desire for about 4 weeks now and love it. I am with Optus in Australia and they are not known for great coverage compared to Telstra however I have noted a significant lowering of apparent signal strength compared to my past Nokia N73 indicator.

    I am less than a mile from a transmitter but within the house (steel roof) I barely show one bar. If I go outside the bars grow to 3 in almost direct line of sight to the transmitter.

    Cheers

    Alan
     
  3. hilly81

    hilly81 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    25
    0
    15
    My signal is frankly dreadful in my apartment. Dropping calls, unsent texts and GPRS at very best. My old Samsung is not perfect but much better than my Desire. T-Mobile reckon there is nothing they can do as I took the contract out at my old address and have recommended sending the phone back for diagnostics which I will be doing once my Landline has been plumbed in. The thing that irks me most is the phone will show 3 bars of signal and then stilll drop a call or not send a text even if i dont move the phone! Surely signal cant fluctuate that much!
     
  4. mbatson89

    mbatson89 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    433
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    433
    45
    43
    UK
    Unlocked/Unbranded HTC Desire on Vodafone, no signal issues what so ever for me. Past phones have struggled to get even 2G signals indoors at my house but the Desire manages to get a 3G signal just fine.

    Have you got a network branded/locked unit?
     
  5. joe998

    joe998 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    23
    1
    16
    On my second sim free unbranded desire, first one was constantly dropping the signal brought it back and got a new one. This one has a slightly better signal but no where near as good as my old N95 which never dropped below 4 bars in my apartment.

    Seems a lot of people are saying this, is there any chance HTC could fix this with an update I love this phone and don't want to change it
     
  6. delinear

    delinear Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    80
    4
    16
    My signal seems weak quite often, but then my old phone was the same, I think I live in a poor signal area and work in a poor signal area so it's hard for me to test if this is location-based or if the phone adds to the problem.

    I will say I've noticed I rarely get above "G" for data, even in areas where my GF has solid 3G. I've had "E" and "H" a couple of times but it's always temporary and seems to drop back to G the second I start to use it, again I'm not sure if this is the phone or if it's O2 throttling the connection somehow because they're massively oversubscribed.
     
  7. machineman

    machineman Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    Hi Mick,
    I recently upgraded on O2 to the Desire from a Sony Ericsson C905, my girlfriend has also got the Desire on T. Mobile coming from a S E K800.
    Both of us now only get G at home where as before always a H (high speed signal).

    I only stayed with O2 because I was certain of a H signal at home.
    OK, I can use Wi-Fi, but the ramification of only having GSM signal at home is at least twice the battery drain.

    I read somewhere that the Desire has 5-10db poorer signal strength, than most peoples dumb phones, I would concur.

    Here's hoping the 2.2 update improves the cell radio reception.

    Hope this helps.
     
  8. delinear

    delinear Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    80
    4
    16
    It seems like this would be a hardware specific thing (at least, I've not heard of it being an Android issue in general), so maybe HTC can do something about it with an earlier fix, has anyone heard that they're working on this?
     
  9. machineman

    machineman Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    Yes, I think you are right.
     
  10. Dudditz

    Dudditz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    346
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    346
    19
    38
    Dundee
    No signal problems for me (T-Mob). If anything I would say that my signal has been better than my previous phone.
     
  11. asf

    asf Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010

    Jun 25, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    No problems for me. I'm with Virgin mobile in Australia and always get an H at home. At work it is a little slower from my desk, but I work in the middle of a large tower so that isn't surprising.
     
  12. daniel_osgood

    daniel_osgood Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011

    Oct 12, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    hi i have bought an htc desire and have problems with signal i have knocked my phone on and off numerous times and and my phone says i have limited service i have had it a week and there wasn't a problem till 2 days ago could someone tell me how to fix it plz

    thanks dan
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...