• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help HTC Desire S Screen Freezes Often

m2uet

Lurker
Sep 13, 2012
Hi Everyone,

I am new to this forum. I hav just got HTC Desire S and facing problems from the first day:(. The problem with my fone is that it freezes every now and then in approx everythng like calling, messaging, browsing r even watching movies/pictures. Sometimes, i have to press the touchscreen for a longtime and it starts working while at some moments this technique doesn't work and i have to lock the screen using power button and then unlocking it restore the previous work that i was doing on it. this situation is very much annoying for me and making me crazy:mad:. I am new to android and this is my first android fone. when i bought it it was on:

Android Version: 2.3.5
HTC Sense: 3.0
Software No: 2.10.161.3
Kernel Version: 2.6.35.10-g9ac6c7a
Baseband Version: 20.4801.30.0822U_3822.10.08.04_M
Build No: 2.10.161.3 CL156318 release-keys

RADIO-3822.10.08.04_M

I updated it via RUU to ICS and thought that the screen problem will be gone but my bad luck that it is still there. After update:

Android Version: 4.0.4
HTC Sense: 3.6
Software No: 14.01.401.2 710RD
Kernel Version: 3.0.16-gce03037
Baseband Version: 20.76.30.0835U_3831.19.00.110
Build No: 4.01.401.2 CL434411 release-keys

RADIO-3831.19.00.110

Plz help me guys as to how should i be able to get rid of this problem.

Another question is:
This problem is hardware related or software related???? and if software related either the HTC Sense is creating this mess or the ROM.

Waiting for your helpful advices....

Hi and welcome to the forum (I'm relatively new here myself).

I don't have the knowledge to determine whether it is hardware or software. But I can give you some things I wouldn't and would do;