1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support HTC Desire screen shots... question

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by flying dog, Jun 30, 2011.

  1. flying dog

    flying dog Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010

    Oct 12, 2010
    65
    0
    15
    Android 2.2
    Not rooted.

    I looked quickly at the apps, but it didn't seem clear/easy to do.

    I am thinking of getting a screen grab app, but want to know how "easy" they are to use. Looking at some you need to be a rocket scientist to use them.
     

    Advertisement

  2. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,117
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,117
    24,060
    3,118
    Scotland
    If you're not rooted, your options are limited.

    MyPhoneExplorer or the Android SDK will do it without root access though. MPE is probably easier to use though.
     
  3. SiHa

    SiHa Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    624
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010

    Oct 29, 2010
    624
    81
    78
    Southampton, UK.
    Download Visionary+ from the Marketplace. This app will give you temproot (you lose it on reboot). ShootMe, also from the market will then allow you to take screenshots.

    Run Visionary, then check your app drawer for the Superuser (Ninja Android) icon to check you've got root -sometimes you need to do it twice, although I think the latest update of Visionary checks and runs it again by itself.

    Run ShootMe, it will ask for Superuser rights, which you should allow. Then once the server has started, press 'Hide'. Once you've got the screen you want to grab, give it a good shake (trying not to press the volume rocker when you do it :eek: ). The photo should end up in a folder called shootme in the root of your SD.

    Have fun!

    The first few times I tried this it was a bit tempremental - I didn't always get the right screen, but I think that was probably because I didn;t have root properly, it's been OK lately.
     
  4. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    I use Drocap for root screen shots.
     
    lyniroquai likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...