1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

HTC Desire Stock ROM?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by JccageX2, Dec 30, 2010.

  1. JccageX2

    JccageX2 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    83
    1
    16
    So, I'm gonna ROOT + Flash my Desire soon, but first I'd need a safety net.

    Has anyone got the UK HTC Desire Stock ROM in ZIP Format ready to flash?

    the T-Mobile one if possible.


    Thanks :)

    EDIT: Instead of making a new thread I thought I'd ask here, to flash a ROM, does my Desire need to be rooted, or just have a Custom Recovery image on it (Like clockwork mod)?

    2nd EDIT: What's all this about a Gold Card? I have a branded T-Mobile HTC Desire, will I need a "Gold Card" for flashing Custom ROM's etc?

    Confused, really need help here :/
     

    Advertisement

  2. kuobob

    kuobob Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    60
    3
    16
    Student
    Kaohsiung, Taiwan.
    if your going to root, use unrevoked with this tutorial(How To: Root the HTC Desire (Unrevoked Method) | TheUnlockr). You wont need a goldcard if you use unrevoked.
    Instead of getting a stock rom, you can just backup the rom in recovery, unrevoked will flash a recovery(I believe it is clockworkmod) for you.
    to flash a rom go into hboot by shutting down you desire and booting it while holding the volume down button. after you go into hboot, select and enter recovery where you can flash a rom.
    for roms, download rom manager from the market or find it on the internet.
     
  3. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Sorry but ignore everything posted above.

    Read my faq on rooting. Hopefully its in my Sig. If not its in the sticky in the rooting forum.

    Do make a gold card. You have a branded desire. This is for recovery purposes

    Do not use Rom manager unless you have no choice.
     
  4. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    indeed, follow dans advise while Kuobob's is well intended its incorrect

    if you do not have a gold card it will mean that your methods of recovery (to standard) if you have a problem are somewhat smaller

    if you root then backup then you can restore but it will not be a stock rom, it will be a rooted rom so its not covered by warranty (kinda)

    Rom manager is for the lazy and in most cases causes more harm than good, it takes 2 seconds to boot to recovery manually instead of using rom manager and if you want to boot quickly to recovery mode you can get an app from the market called quickboot
     
  5. JccageX2

    JccageX2 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    83
    1
    16
    I've read the FAQ, But do I NEED The GoldCard to Root and Flash Custom ROM'S? How does it work, and has someone got a link to make one? (I have a T-Mobile U.K RUU Downloaded)

    And what's ROM Manager? Do I need to worry about that?

    Here's what I'm planning, could someone tell me if I'm doing anything wrong.

    ROOT With Unrevok3d

    Boot into Custom Recovery

    Flash a new Sense HD ROM

    Anything wrong, or something else I'd need to do with my T-Mobile UK Branded Desire?

    (Thanks to anyone who can help with this, I'm just very careful with my phone)
     
  6. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    have you read what we just said?
    gold card is important even if you are flashing a custom rom as if you mess everything up you can use it to install a stock rom from somewhere else.
    rom manager is never needed
    the faq links you to a guide on making a gold card
    READ READ READ
    we should have to tell you the same stuff youve just read if you did infact read the guide as everything we tell you is already there
     
  7. JccageX2

    JccageX2 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    83
    1
    16
    Right, okay, sorry about that, I think I understand Goldcard's now, they're to restore the phone to normal if it goes wrong?

    Now, I just want to know how I use one?

    I've found a guide to create one, but, say my phone goes wrong when I flashed a Custom ROM, will I just slot in the Gold Card, try and power it up and it'll install it back to normal or something?

    This is the last thing I'm stuck on before ROOTing and flashing.


    Btw, what are the problems that have happened when you install a Custom ROM On a branded phone?
     
  8. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Gold card allows you to restore a generic ruu on a branded device by presenting the ruu with a fake cid. In case your branded ruu fails

    Run the ruu as normal but with the goldcard in the prone
     
  9. JccageX2

    JccageX2 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    83
    1
    16
    Wait, so you put the Gold Card in your phone and run the RUU Where? On your computer?

    Sorry, I just really have no idea about this.


    Also, once I have a goldcard made, you think it'll be oka to just ROOT using Unrevok3d and then flash a custom ROM?

    Thanks to all that are helping :)
     
  10. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Yea ruus are .exe files, run from a pc with goldcard in phone

    And yes to the rest too ;)
     
    JccageX2 likes this.
  11. JccageX2

    JccageX2 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    83
    1
    16
    Right, awesome :D


    Thank you all so much for the help, when I get a spare micro SD Card I'll go ahead and do this, thank you all so much :D
     
  12. Hadron

    Hadron Smoke me a kipper...
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    24,915
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    24,915
    19,427
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    You can use a Goldcard as your everyday SD card, so you don't have to get a spare first.
     
  13. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Infact, its recommended (well, by us here anyway)
     
  14. JccageX2

    JccageX2 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    83
    1
    16
    Wow, that's awesome, may get this done today then.

    Just asking, the phone doesn't need to be debranded first does it?

    And how do I check if the GoldCard has worked?
     
  15. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    as long as you are booted into a rom of any kind you can create a goldcard
     
  16. JccageX2

    JccageX2 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    83
    1
    16
    Yeah I know, I want to know how to check if the GoldCard works?
     
  17. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    i dont think there is a way untill you try and flash a rom not specific to your vender
     
  18. JccageX2

    JccageX2 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    83
    1
    16
    How about if I try and De-brand my phone first, will that do it?
     
  19. Hadron

    Hadron Smoke me a kipper...
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    24,915
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    24,915
    19,427
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Well if you debrand by running a generic RUU, then that is indeed a test of the goldcard.
    But it will wipe all user data, so back up anything that's important to you first.
     
  20. JccageX2

    JccageX2 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    83
    1
    16
    Will do.

    One last thing though, I heard problems of LCD Or Amoled disply and something about the RUU's, how do I check which I have and how to avoid it?
     
  21. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Why are you running an RUU now?? No point debranding if you're flashing a custom rom? Or do you have an annoying splash screen?

    Choose a recent RUU and you'll have no problems with screen. How long have you had the desire? It was August time when they stopped shipping AMOLED. If it says AMOLED on the box, its AMOLED. SLCD says nothing on the box about screen type
     
  22. JccageX2

    JccageX2 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    83
    1
    16
    Oh oky, I have a splash screen but don't mind it. I won't de-brand first then.

    I bought my Desire 2nd hand, but it does say Amoled on the box.

    Also, if the phone gets corrupted/the custom ROM goes bad and won't boot up or something, can't get into recovery or whatever, how would you go about putting the RUU On the Desire or putting it back to stock?



    Thanks
     
  23. SUroot

    SUroot Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,916
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,916
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Make sure your phone has the goldcard in.

    Then connect in fastboot mode via USB cable (from off, Hold the back button and press power) Then run the .exe from the PC.

    What branding is it? Whats your current software version in settings>about phone?
     
  24. JccageX2

    JccageX2 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    83
    1
    16
    Its T-Mobile UK, Software Version 2.12.110.2


    Edit: Slight confusion about running the RUU, I'm gonna test the Goldcard by de-branding first, what do I need to install/what state the Desire has to be in to install the RUU? (Got my Goldcard created btw)
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...