1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tips HTC Desire Tips & Tricks [READ ME]

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by lekky, Apr 4, 2010.

  1. mcnob

    mcnob Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    215
    12
    58
    I don't think that recommending "shorting" of an electrical device is in anyone's interests. Not only is it a potential fire risk, it could damage your car electrics or your phone. I have the official HTC car charger (
     

    Advertisement

    buddy1983 and buggiejack like this.
  2. PJD

    PJD Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    110
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010

    Quite agree with you on that one mcnob
     
  3. Bob253

    Bob253 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    107
    13
    58
    Retired old git.
    London
    Hi folks,

    New to Android as well, I'm afraid.
    Bought my Desire from Play, unlocked and sim free so to speak.
    Is that the same as being 'rooted'? Or would I have to go down the path mentioned in the other thread about rooting.

    Basically I want to save to the sd card and not to the memory, as I think most other seem to want as well.
    Thought it better to do now before I have to much on here to reinstall etc.

    Also like to thank people on here for all the brilliant advice and tips.

    Many thanks, Bob
     
  4. c_man

    c_man Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    174
    40
    43
    London, UK
    Bob,
    No its not the same as being rooted. Rooting is known as voiding the warranty and is something that is 'against' HTC's wishes; Play.com would not sell you a device in this state!

    I bought my Legend from Play.com too.
     
    Bob253 likes this.
  5. Bob253

    Bob253 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    107
    13
    58
    Retired old git.
    London
    Ahhh right your are.
    I thought that might be the case, but I must admit i was getting confused with all the terms being used.
    I'll leave well alone then until I understand the thing better. Also I'm on a Mac as well, so things don't always work the same anyway.

    Many thanks for the help.
     
  6. OFI

    OFI Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    580
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010

    Apr 17, 2010
    580
    53
    78
    Having spent a weekend out on the town with my phone in my pocket I can concur that without a pattern lock all sorts will happen!

    Made calls, made emails, updated facebook..but my favourite.. I managed to open the Barcode scanning app and killed the battery in no time :eek:
    I now have a pattern lock!
     
  7. lekky

    lekky Lover
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    5,231
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    I don't know how you guys manage to do all this with phone in the pocket.

    I putmine in my pocket all the time, and not once ghave I ever managed to turn the screen on, and slide down to unlock the phone, thn proceed to make calls and send sms to people, not once!
     
  8. AlastairH

    AlastairH Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    15
    1
    16
    I agree, I've not managed it either, maybe my jeans aren't tight enough!
     
  9. Quboid

    Quboid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    561
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009

    Jun 30, 2009
    561
    120
    93
    Male
    Londonderry, UK
    I've had my phone in loose pockets and tight pockets and never had anything more than the power button get pressed accidentally. WTF are you guys doing? :)
     
  10. OFI

    OFI Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    580
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010

    Apr 17, 2010
    580
    53
    78
    Like I said it did it ALL weekend!

    It did it while driving, drinking, dancing, drinking, BBQing, drinking...


    Not drinking AND driving ;)
     
  11. devilmaycry1611

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    11
    0
    15
    Hi Guys, I'm having some problems in putting my own photos into HTC Desire. Supposingly, when I create a new folder "Albums" in sdcard for my photos, the phone should automatically recognize and create a new album named "Albums" rite? It doesn't work for me. Seems like my HTC desire can't recognize any photos unless I put them inside DCMI folder. Anyone has the same problem?

    And 1 more thing, how to refresh music library? everytime I add more songs into my sdcard, i can't see it inside music library unless I reset it to factory default.

    Thanks
     
  12. lekky

    lekky Lover
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    5,231
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    once you create the album, run an app called sdrescan or restart your phone. This causes the phone to rescan the sdcard for any changes. Ditto for music
     
    buggiejack and -V-O-Y-A-G-E-R- like this.
  13. devilmaycry1611

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    11
    0
    15
    Thanks 4 ur reply. I tried, but the SDrescan would scan my sdcard for a few hours and may be forever if i don't force to stop. Anyway, i solved the problem, i need to format my sdcard, after that it works, kind of weird :(

    But my music library still doesn't auto-update
     
  14. lekky

    lekky Lover
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    5,231
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    for a few hours??! It does mine in 10 seconds on my full 8gb card
     
  15. devilmaycry1611

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    11
    0
    15
    Ya, for me, it just scans forever until i press the "back" button. Any idea why is it? any setting i need to change?
     
  16. lekky

    lekky Lover
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    5,231
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    How much space have u used on your sdcard. Maybe it takes longer the first time because it has to index everything. I'd let it run for like 10 minutes and see if it finishes, it will be faster on subsequent runs
     
  17. Quboid

    Quboid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    561
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009

    Jun 30, 2009
    561
    120
    93
    Male
    Londonderry, UK
    It could be a sign of corruption, causing software to get into an endless loop. If you can, put the card into a card reader and use the Windows disc checker. Also, give it a full format (copy everything off it before you do!).
     
  18. devilmaycry1611

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    11
    0
    15
    Last night, i put in a new sdcard and i used Sdrescan to scan it for a whole night and when i wake up, it's still scanning =,=. My sdcard is 4gb and i think i only used about 500 MB.
     
  19. Quboid

    Quboid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    561
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009

    Jun 30, 2009
    561
    120
    93
    Male
    Londonderry, UK
    Out of curiosity, I've downloaded SDrescan and giving it a shot. My card is an 8GB class 6 card, with 512MB take off for apps. According to the "SD & phone storage" settings menu, it is 6.93GB, with 5.65GB free so I'm only using about 1.3GB.

    2 seconds.

    It took 2 seconds to rescan. Either SDrescan is unreliable, or your cards are messed up!

    To check it for errors (with Windows and a card reader):
    1) Insert the card so it shows up as a drive.
    2) Open Windows explorer by double-clicking on "My Computer" or "Computer" on the desktop and load the page that shows all your drives (on the left hand panel, it has the same name as the icon, "My Computer" or just "Computer").
    3) In the main panel, right-click on the drive that is the MicroSD card and left-click on "Properties", at the bottom of that menu.
    4) In the new dialog box, click on the "Tools" tab.
    5) Click on the "Check now" option in the "Error-checking" section. If you get a security box, click OK.
    6) Turn on "Scan for and attempt recovery of bad sectors".
    7) Click on "Start".
    8) Cross fingers.
    9) Wait.
     
  20. devilmaycry1611

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    11
    0
    15
    Hi Quboid, i gave it a try and found no error, anyway, I bought a new sdcard to test before but problem persists.

    There's only 1 way to force my fone updating sdcard is to reformat it. So, whenever i want to add in just 1 song, i need to copy out everything, format the card and copy back.
     
  21. lekky

    lekky Lover
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    5,231
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Turning it on and off does the same thing
     
  22. devilmaycry1611

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    11
    0
    15
    Yes, I cant understand why is it? Everytime I restart my fone, it does reload the sdcard but no updates at all. Is there any other application out of sdrescan to do it? Thanks.
     
  23. azz

    azz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    132
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010

    Apr 22, 2010
    132
    20
    58
    Tv Presenter
    UK
    Hi does it void warranty if you change the firmware from Orange branded to gsm using goldcard?
     
  24. 4ngi3

    4ngi3 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    130
    1
    36
    Great tips.. with the addition of these apps I'm loving my Desire more and more! Thank you!!
     
  25. kustodian

    kustodian Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    12
    3
    16
    I noticed that:
    /sdcard/ringtones
    /sdcard/notifications
    /sdcard/alarms

    work as well, no need for a media subfolder, but it is neater like that.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...