1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General HTC Desire with prepaid voice and no data, what to expect?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by y2y, May 2, 2011.

1. y2y

y2y Lurker
    None

May 2, 2011
    Hi all. I'm extremely new to the smartphone game having rocked the same old Nokia since 2004 and, while I'm not completely ready to jump in as far as many others have, I have a few basic questions regarding my journey into the world of phones with fancy futuristic things like cameras, colors, and actual ringtones.

I am an American expat in Germany and I have been surviving on prepaid cell service for 4 years now. It costs me around 15 Euro per month because I barely use it at all. For the last year or so I've been seeing someone and we basically only call each other and send about 20 texts per month. Strangely enough, she's in a similar situation with her phone (prepaid) and we're both looking at Desire HDs as our entry into the smartphone world. Since we would like for our monthly costs to remain as low as possible, we are entertaining the idea of using a simple prepaid voice only SIM in our new phones. The reasons for this are twofold: A) We travel extensively and do not wish to get involved in the incredibly expensive and confusing details of roaming data and B) We find that nearly everywhere we go (work, home, fav restaurants/coffe shops) we have wifi available. Therefore, if we can get by with prepaid voice and wifi only data that is the way we want to go.

That said, here are a few questions.