1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root HTC Desrie Rooting, now rooted, help please

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by luckyruby4, Aug 6, 2011.

  1. luckyruby4

    luckyruby4 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011

    Aug 5, 2011
    18
    0
    15
    Hello All
    Firstly I am a newbe, so sorry if I m asking whats been said before, I have surfed for hours and read everything I can but I am still at a loss.

    My sons HTC Desire, is a Testra branded phone, we dont live in Australia any more so we dont want all the crap on it, so after 6 months of building the courage to do this, I tried and failed.

    I follow the instructions be Leedroid to the letter but it failed (or I did),
    www.t-mod.org/182-2/installation-rooting-and-installing-t-mod

    The error occured after installing the ROM, (the last step) now the phone boots and gets to the Android logo and loops, never moving on.
    (We were trying to install the T-Mod LeeDrOiD HD V3.3.1 Port R3 A2SD (152)version or ROM

    So I tried to re do it but when I try to mount the SD card, I get the following error,

    E:Cant mount /dev/block/mmcb1k0p1 (or /dev/block/mmcb1k0)
    (No such file or directory)
    Error mounting SDCARD?!

    I tried to connect the phone to the computer, but it wont mount either
    I took the SD card out and formatted it in another HTC, but still same error
    I have taken battery out many times, I have also tried to reset, etc but no luck.

    Does this mean the phone is bricked or broken?

    If this can be fixed, (and I hope so) I think I would prefer to install the following ROM, F1-GB-V3-(ENG-A2SD)-Signed, I found this whilst looking for a solution to my problem, it claims its a lighter, fast system.

    Please can some one advise what to do, by the way we live in Moscow, so I cant take the phone back to Tesltra with my tail between my legs and ask them to fix it for me. :thinking:
     

    Advertisement

  2. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Does the SD card from the other HTC work? As new as that guide is (august the 5th 2011) its still majorly outdated. It mentions nothing about PVT4 erase size which is essential to what recovery you have to use/

    Did you do the S-off? If so, did you opt to use the alpharev recovery? All bad things.

    Firstly tell me the PVT version on your hboot screen, then also answer the alpharev question.
     
  3. luckyruby4

    luckyruby4 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011

    Aug 5, 2011
    18
    0
    15
    Hi,

    This does not sound all that good, but I hope this is what you are after,

    No matter what SD card I try to mount now, it wont mount.
    Sorry what is PVT4 size?
    Yes I did the S-off, I do not know where to find the version, can you please advise where I can get this info for you?

    When I am in the boot screen, the following is listed, (volume down and power on) I hope this is where you mean.

    AlphaRev
    Bravo PTV1 SHIP S-Off
    Hboot-0.93.0001
    MICROP-031d
    Touch Panel-SYNT0101
    Radio-5.11.85.14
    Aug 10 2010, 17:52:18

    I hope this helps.
     
  4. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    OK so you have PVT1 not PVT4 so thats good. When you did s-off, did you install the alpharev recovery too?
     
  5. luckyruby4

    luckyruby4 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011

    Aug 5, 2011
    18
    0
    15
    Not that I am aware of, prior to installing the Alpharev, I did install Titanium back up to back up the data from the original phone, then I did the Alpgarev install, then I installed Nand Backup, then the Radio, and finaly system rom, and ended up here.
     
  6. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    The latest alpharev prompts to install recovery to which you would have had to select yes or no.

    I'm going to assume you did.

    Read the adb and fastboot faq linked in my Sig. You will need to use fastboot to flash recovery. You will need to also download clockwork recovery 2.5.0.7 from my toolbox also in my Sig.

    Try that and see if it works. Also report any usb connectivity issues
     
  7. luckyruby4

    luckyruby4 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011

    Aug 5, 2011
    18
    0
    15
    Hi
    Ok, I read your FAQ's and down loaded the files you recommeded, (I downloaded the last Clockworkmod 2.5.0.7 update zip for ROM manager mirror ), just so I understand fully and dont hash this up even more, is my understanding corect?

    Step 1, I run adb
    Step 2, then use this to flash the file "recovery" which is in the update/sbin folders in the unziped files from Clockwork. ?

    Then what do I need to do after this?

    (again sorry for my slow take up, this is my first of 3 phones I wanted to do, but maybe not after solving this on!)
     
  8. shauny13

    shauny13 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #119
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,272
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    1,272
    303
    163
    Male
    Beautiful Dorset
    Wrong one, you need clockwork recovery image from SUroots sig, not the update zip for rom manager.
     
    luckyruby4 likes this.
  9. GingaB

    GingaB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    856
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010

    Dec 26, 2010
    856
    64
    78
    London, UK
    As Shauny rightly pointed out do NOT use rom manager under any circumstances! You're asking for trouble! Read the sticky about rom manager....
     
    luckyruby4 likes this.
  10. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Not adb. Fastboot. The Rom manager clockwork is not the one. That's there for another reason.

    Once you're set up to fastboot, you plug the phone in, in fastboot mode (back + power from off) and use the.commands:

    Fastboot flash recovery cwm.img

    That's of course if you name the recovery.img cwm. I did.

    That's it. You.have.told fastboot to flash recovery so it knows what to do. It should take 2-3 seconds. Then see if you can "mount usb mass storage" via the recovery menu to see if you can access sd
     
  11. luckyruby4

    luckyruby4 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011

    Aug 5, 2011
    18
    0
    15
    Cool, glade I checked, so I now have downloaded recovery_CWM_2.5.0.7

    So if I have it right, I should do the following,

    Step 1, I run adb
    Step 2, then use this to flash the file, recovery_CWM_2.5.0.7

    Then what?
     
  12. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    No not adb. Fastboot.

    Do that then check if you can access the sd card...
     
  13. luckyruby4

    luckyruby4 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011

    Aug 5, 2011
    18
    0
    15
    Hi I have successfully installed/flashed ClockworkMod recovery v2.5.0.7 on the phone, however it still will not mount the sd, and when I try to connect it to a computer, it will also not connect.

    I have tried another sd card, just in case, and the same result.

    any ideas?
     
  14. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Can you in recovery go into mounts and storage > mount usb mass storage? Then connect to pc whilst staying in that screen?

    If not we may have a usb brick (which is fixable)
     
  15. luckyruby4

    luckyruby4 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011

    Aug 5, 2011
    18
    0
    15
    I have just tired that, and the same result, the pc wont recognize the device,
     
  16. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Ok. Rastaman linked in the Rom manager thread to usb brick fix. He is familiar with this. Have a look
     
    luckyruby4 likes this.
  17. luckyruby4

    luckyruby4 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011

    Aug 5, 2011
    18
    0
    15
    thanks, sorry to ask, can you point me in the right direction to find that forum? I have searched and cant find it or Rastaman.
     
  18. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    20,793
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    20,793
    13,848
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    luckyruby4 likes this.
  19. luckyruby4

    luckyruby4 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011

    Aug 5, 2011
    18
    0
    15
    thanks, I have read the posts and it is making a lot more sense, (I think) any way I have installed adb to my pc, but still have no luck with mounting the htc or the sd card, so I was now going to install a stock ruu, to the phone via fastboot, however the only stock ruu I have is the telstra bloated crap one, which is what I was trying to get rid of in the first place.

    I have downloaded other ruu's, ie
    Android-2.3-Gingerbread-2.3-ROM and
    F1-GB-V3-(ENG-A2SD)-Signed

    Of which were in zips, so when I unpacked them, they are not a single ruu, like I thought.

    I am sure I am missing something here, can any one advise where I could get a good ruu, to flash to the phone with fastboot, to see if this solves my sd brick?

    (I am almost begining to like Tesltra crap, at least I did not break it!)
     
  20. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    RUU is a Rom upgrade utility. This is an official release from HTC. The link you posted is a custom Rom which will not have a RUU.

    A RUU won't fix the brick if it is one. You need to follow those steps.

    Also when you're ready for a custom Rom, there are much better Roms than f1
     
  21. luckyruby4

    luckyruby4 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011

    Aug 5, 2011
    18
    0
    15
    I have tired using sdk, but it will not recognize the phone, (still) or the SD card,
    I have also read and re-read the thread and I am 100 confused, I can not get the pc to se the phone, or the phone to see the PC.

    I just hooked up one of the working HTC phones to double check the actual PC drivers are good, and all is OK, so at least I have eliminated that.

    When I read the thread,
    http://androidforums.com/desire-tips-tricks/365476-guide-usb-brick-fix.html
    I see that if the fastboot command does not work, it is recommended to try to flash a RUU, is this done via Fastboot commander V1.0?
    I looked at this, it seems to be the only time my phone connected, when I flashed the clockworkmod.

    Do you think it will work if I try to flash a signed ROM, using the Full Zip?

    If so what ROM would you recommend?
     
  22. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Connect your phone in fastboot mode (from off back + power) and in command prompt as per the fastboot faq, type "fastboot devices" and see what happens
     
    luckyruby4 likes this.
  23. luckyruby4

    luckyruby4 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011

    Aug 5, 2011
    18
    0
    15
    I feel so stupid, I was trying all this, but I was not in fastboot on the phone.

    All is good, I can now mount the sd card on the phone, and I can now mount the storage to the pc.:D

    Can you please advise now how to install and new Android system, and which one you recommend, I am not sure I should go back to the leedroid instructions.
     
  24. luckyruby4

    luckyruby4 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011

    Aug 5, 2011
    18
    0
    15
  25. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    The flash debrand will unroot the phone. Is that what you want?

    Just to remind you there are 2 types of roms. 1 is the official kind, installed either by an RUU or by a PB99IMG.zip. The other is a custom, rooted rom.

    If you're not bothered about keeping root and literally just want no Telstra on it, I recommend downloading 2.29.405.5 (unbranded World Wide English) which you can get from the toolbox linked in my signature.

    If you want to keep root, there are many custom roms around but it depends if you need it / see a use for it...
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...