1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root htc dhd downgrade

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ken brown, Jan 2, 2013.

  1. ken brown

    ken brown Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012

    Dec 17, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    help how do i downgrade htc DHD running update 2.3.5 to 2.3.3
     

    Advertisement

  2. Mehta23

    Mehta23 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    2,448
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011

    Are you rooted currently?

    May I ask why you would like to downgrade?
     
    D-U-R-X and scotty85 like this.
  3. scotty85

    scotty85 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,131
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,131
    7,411
    1,413
    as mehta said,knowing more about your situation would help us answer you better.

    if you are currently s-off,and superCID,all you need to do is pick the RUU youd like to run,and run it :)

    if youd like to downgrade to run AAHK,theres no real need for that,as the aahk is pretty prepaired for all software/firmware combinations and will do the downgrading for you,the only exception being the most current update for the htc Inspire,running on us AT&T. i dont believe this is your situation,since you mention having a DHD(but if that is you,you need this guide: http://androidforums.com/inspire-4g...20-502-52-htcdev-in-preparation-use-aahk.html then run AAHK)

    biggest thing you can do for a smooth AAHK experience is to use a mac,or to create an ubuntu live cd if youre using windows. windows is a lil shaky,and the issues folks have are driver related,and "stuff running onthe PC" related(htc sync,itunes,pdanet,easy tether,etc)

    if you want to downgrade for some other reason,there are a couple ways to skin the cat:

    *youll first need the ruu you want to downgrade to. if its not for your CID/brand then youll also need to create a goldcard.

    *both of these will change the main version of your phone,letting you "update" to lower firmware:

    1)manual
    -find a temp root that works for your device(different builds have various exploits patched,so this could be a lil tricky)
    -run a script in a cmd window,via adb to lower the main version
    -run ruu

    this is basically whats going on in this thread:
    http://androidforums.com/inspire-4g...ally-downgrade-root-inspire-4g-desire-hd.html

    but that temp root may or may not work on your current build.

    you could simply flash your desired ruu instead of the "donwgrade ruu" used there,and stop at that point.

    2)htcdev
    -unlock bootloader with htcdev tools
    -install a recovery
    -flash this zip in recovery: http://forum.xda-developers.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=927706&d=1330664466
    -relock bootloader
    -run ruu

    method #2 is a lil more straight forward,IMO,since you wouldnt have to fool around with finding a working temp root.

    also,need to throw out there,that it is,IMO,extremely worth your while to run the AAHK and achieve s-off and superCID. this will make any ruu changes you do in the future extremely easy. :)
     
    ral, Mehta23 and D-U-R-X like this.
  4. ken brown

    ken brown Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012

    Dec 17, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    no am not and i want to root my phone again
     
  5. Mehta23

    Mehta23 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    2,448
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011

    Was your phone shipped with Gingerbread? If not, you may want to look at using the AAHK
     
  6. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,878
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,878
    7,194
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    By this, do you mean you were rooted before? If so, how did you root?
     
    Mehta23 and scotty85 like this.
  7. scotty85

    scotty85 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,131
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,131
    7,411
    1,413
    yes,if you were rooted prior,and have s-off,rerooting is easy,and downgrade is not needed.

    might want to tell us on the info in your hboot screen :)

    pull battery,hold vol down and power until you see white screen with colored letters.(hboot)
     
    D-U-R-X likes this.
  8. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,878
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,878
    7,194
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    Scotty... you been reading my mind again?!?! :)

    They were going to be my next questions, depending on how the phone was previously rooted :)
     
  9. Mehta23

    Mehta23 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    2,448
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011

    Thanks guys :p Didn't realise that the OP said "root again"
     

Share This Page

Loading...