1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General HTC DROID Eris OS 2.1v3 download

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Caddyman, Apr 29, 2010.

  1. jxnrxy

    jxnrxy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    127
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    127
    38
    63
    Arizona
    i'm gonna wait until after the weekend to see if the rollback that was promised works. If nothing happens i'll be on v3 sometime monday

    already downloaded, the wait game starts now
     

    Advertisement

    Rav20 and andrizoid like this.
  2. wamsille

    wamsille Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010

    Apr 21, 2010
    129
    28
    43
    If you don't need (or want) superuser access on an Android device, you don't need to root it. If your only goal is to get 2.1, the leak isn't a bad way to go. Really, it isn't. You have just as much chance bricking your phone with a leak as you do root. Yes, you can brick your phone during the rooting process. The devs own up to the possibility - although it is far less likely with a recovery image.

    Rooting is the lesser of two evils in that regard - but careless rooting could result in a bricked phone regardless!!!

    If you want 2.1, cannot wait and don't mind paying the insurance deductible if you cannot warranty replace your Eris, use the Leak.

    If you want 2.1 and think the Eris could be faster, try rooting and use a custom rom.

    Otherwise, sit on 1.5 and wait.
     
  3. NickDroid86

    NickDroid86 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    509
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    509
    21
    83
    Largo, FL
    How do i do this without a computer and with 2.1v2 leak already installed?
     
  4. Skeletronix

    Skeletronix Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010

    Feb 17, 2010
    193
    29
    43
    Philthadelphia
    Thats ok. I appreciate all and any suggestions. But yes. 1st 2 times I did what I've done in the past, copy PB00IMG to the root folder of my sd card, power off, reboot with volume down. I then went step by step, which seemed a little redundant to me, but still nothing. I'm baffled.
     
  5. Viper023

    Viper023 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    22
    0
    15
    is there anything verizon can do if they found out that my Eris is loaded with a leaked frimware? (v1,v2 or v3)

    thanks
     
  6. W4LLY

    W4LLY Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    675
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    675
    36
    68
    NYC
    Facebook still doesn't work...I'm going to VZ and having them give me a refurbished one or something because it has to be hardware related..since all 3 versions of the leak it isnt' working just on my phone.


    Gmail does load images though :)
     
  7. TJTHEBEST

    TJTHEBEST Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010

    Feb 11, 2010
    128
    5
    36
    Homebrewer
    arcata, ca
    Make sure its PB00IMG.zip not PB00img(2).zip or (3).
     
    Skeletronix likes this.
  8. andrizoid

    andrizoid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,266
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    2,266
    358
    163
    ive decided to wait till the weekend to try anyways.
    its clearly not working, im re downloading the .zip file now and will save it on my computer. after we hear about that kids cousin and hit rollback method i will try again.
    might be for the best, should probably wait and see if any bugs come out on this one.
     
  9. thenestor

    thenestor Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,038
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009

    Dec 27, 2009
    1,038
    316
    173
    Male
    I make webs.
    Orange, California
    Honestly, I bet it's your Facebook account having the problem, not your phone. You already tried removing the HTC Sense application from your Facebook on your computer, right?
     
  10. Skeletronix

    Skeletronix Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010

    Feb 17, 2010
    193
    29
    43
    Philthadelphia
    My file says PB00IMG(1).zip

    Should I erase the 1?
     
  11. andrizoid

    andrizoid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,266
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    2,266
    358
    163
    according to some it voids warranty.
    just depends. case by case.
    this IS official firmware. its signed by HTC.
     
  12. tonyb81

    tonyb81 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    507
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Jan 19, 2010
    507
    88
    78

    are you unmounting card?
     
  13. Skeletronix

    Skeletronix Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010

    Feb 17, 2010
    193
    29
    43
    Philthadelphia
    I'll bet thats it. I erased the original PB00IMG off of my phone, but its still on my comp. I'll bet thats it. I'll confirm in a sec.
     
  14. tonyb81

    tonyb81 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    507
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Jan 19, 2010
    507
    88
    78

    whatever happened to you taking the phone back because of sense rebooting on you so much?
     
  15. TJTHEBEST

    TJTHEBEST Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    128
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010

    Feb 11, 2010
    128
    5
    36
    Homebrewer
    arcata, ca

    Yes thats your problem. It shouldnt have any numbers or parentheses
     
    Skeletronix likes this.
  16. Roaddog

    Roaddog Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    200
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010

    Jan 26, 2010
    200
    28
    43
    Yep. Any numbers added to the official filename will screw it up. Also, since it added a (1) to the end of that .zip make sure the original has been deleted off of your sim card as well.
     
    Skeletronix likes this.
  17. Brians0717

    Brians0717 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010

    Apr 1, 2010
    17
    1
    16
    YES!!! haha
     
    Skeletronix likes this.
  18. enkode

    enkode Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    63
    1
    36
    Is it illegal to post this on my personal web server to share?
     
  19. W4LLY

    W4LLY Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    675
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    675
    36
    68
    NYC
    I've done everything. It just doesn't want to work.
     
  20. W4LLY

    W4LLY Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    675
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    675
    36
    68
    NYC
    i put it on my public disk, i mean, i pay for it, I can put what ever i want on their..
     
  21. andrizoid

    andrizoid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,266
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    2,266
    358
    163
    oddly enough, after i backed up all my apps with astro in anticipation of a factory reset it stopped crashing. i didnt even have to reset lol
     
  22. Romparoo

    Romparoo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    615
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010

    Feb 13, 2010
    615
    74
    98
    Investment Banker
    Arizona
    LOL, LMAO!!!!!:D I am sitting in my office at work eating lunch laughing out loud at this one!!!

    Thanks for fun!
     
  23. enkode

    enkode Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    63
    1
    36
    I just dont want to get pegged.. Its a dedicated server and would be a super fast download for everyone..
     
  24. cevMkV

    cevMkV Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    122
    9
    36
    Johnstown, PA
    mine downloaded in about 20 seconds from caddy's link
     
  25. Skeletronix

    Skeletronix Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010

    Feb 17, 2010
    193
    29
    43
    Philthadelphia
    Phone now running 2.1 v3. I feel stupid. Thanks for everyones help!
     

Share This Page

Loading...