1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support HTC EVO 3D: Full specs for TECHIES & DUMMIES!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Vanquished, May 31, 2011.

  1. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,589
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,589
    70,375
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Yep.

    That's not a problem at all.

    Other phone operating systems have apps that can tend to be very large. Not Android. The apps are very small, because they rely on the large software libraries (under the hood - not within that 1 GB) to provide common services.

    iPhones come with large memory, for example, because they have to - to do the same thing as an Android app, an iPhone app must be very large.

    Besides, you can place many of your apps on the SD card.

    My Evo has never let me down for loading and using LOTS of apps - and it has not 4 GB, but only 1 GB total of rom, not 1 GB ram, only 512 kB!

    Those other Androids with the higher memory - it's being used exactly the same as the SD card for storing data or more apps - in fact, Samsung tells their users that it is "an internal SD card" according to what the Samsung fans and owners tell me.

    So - you're 100% safe here.
     

    Advertisement

  2. IoriYagami

    IoriYagami Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    May 8, 2011

    May 8, 2011
    36
    15
    18
    Used to be a Tv tech, now comp tech.
    Los Angeles, Ca

    well i kinda get what you are saying but then what happen with the other 3gb that are not accessible for storing our apps or data?:thinking:
     
  3. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,589
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,589
    70,375
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    It's pretty much a standard partitioning layout:

    So, the 4 GB is being used by - 1) the underlying system to make the phone work as a phone, 2) the operating system, 3) HTC and Sprint apps and 4) your apps - and probably a little hidden for future update needs.

    The HTC apps supporting the new Sense and 3D are going to be very big. The Sense 3.0 alone needs over 500 MB.

    Giving 1 GB for apps is really a lot - and some of that will be taken up by the pre-installed and included apps.

    Android apps are small. Example - on my phone, my apps range from 10 kB to 1 MB in size - I would say that the average size is maybe 300 kB.

    So, you can store hundreds of apps in that 1 GB space - and then store more on the SD card.
     
    Djblue11 likes this.
  4. IoriYagami

    IoriYagami Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    May 8, 2011

    May 8, 2011
    36
    15
    18
    Used to be a Tv tech, now comp tech.
    Los Angeles, Ca

    Thank you earlymon i got it know..:D sorry making you explain it twice..
    Those HTC "$#%$#& why they announce 4gb anyway if we are just allowed to use only 1gb if not less, to regular consumers its understood as 4gb internal storage one assumes its all for you..:rolleyes:
     
  5. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,589
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,589
    70,375
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    I'm happy I could be helpful. ^_^

    Many others agree with your idea about the memory specification - maybe someday they will change this - but it just how they all do this - HTC, Motorola, Samsung, LG if I am correct.
     
  6. NeoteriX

    NeoteriX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    905
    734
    163
    Attorney
    All I know is that I'm desperately running out of application space on my Evo 4G, even with most apps stored on the SD card with Apps2SD :/

    I'm hoping the Evo 3D helps breathe some space into my application library.
     
  7. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,589
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,589
    70,375
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Entire /system partition on the Evo is only 350 MB, with /system/app being something like 200 MB. This is a times 5 increase if my data are correct (my phone app area right now is 100 MB and I've got 100 free in /system).
     
    cobalt and NeoteriX like this.
  8. NeoteriX

    NeoteriX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    905
    734
    163
    Attorney
    Thanks, just the information I was looking for.
     
  9. cletusowns

    cletusowns Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    44
    25
    23
    Hey guys, I called HTC directly and the rep couldn't give me a definitive answer but I just got the following email (I have added emphasis to the important statements):

     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  10. Djblue11

    Djblue11 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011

    Mar 25, 2011
    47
    25
    43
    Well why does the Sensation have all of its advertised storage to use(1gb)?
     
  11. NeoteriX

    NeoteriX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    905
    734
    163
    Attorney
    No gorilla glass? You have to be effin' kidding me.

    Does anyone know where we first saw or assumed that there would be Gorilla Glass? HTC reps have been known to be wrong before...
     
  12. PyroSporker

    PyroSporker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    1,773
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010

    Apr 3, 2010
    1,773
    1,281
    323
    My post from 2 pages back:
     
  13. cletusowns

    cletusowns Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    44
    25
    23
    Done. I'll look around for a phone # to call too. Calling suppliers is part of my day job anyways so this is almost work... right?

    /Edit: Directory spits you to a voicemail. I'll post if they end up calling me back.
     
    PyroSporker and EarlyMon like this.
  14. NeoteriX

    NeoteriX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    905
    734
    163
    Attorney
    That won't work either:

    xda-developers - View Single Post - Evo 3d not 1080p

     
  15. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,589
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,589
    70,375
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Going by the Sensation spec page, it gives this footnote for memory:

    I'm still amazed that there's so little memory listed for the Sensation.

    EDIT - is this a European Union legal thing on specs? We're hearing early reports of the European 3vo having only 1 GB ... and I've stated often, I can see changing radios, but why the memory device?

    Maybe you're right, they're showing app space for the www version, memory device for US?
     
    Djblue11 likes this.
  16. Vanquished

    Vanquished Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,040
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010

    Nov 2, 2010
    1,040
    281
    163
    Male
    Student
    USA
    A couple of the reviews have been saying that the E3D has Gorilla Glass. The real question though, is whether or not they can actually tell the difference between the different glasses used. Is there some feature Corning uses that makes the glass noticeably different from other glasses (aside from strength and scratch resistance)?
     
  17. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,589
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,589
    70,375
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Not that I know or can think of. I think in this case, reviewers trust other reviewers and once an idea hits the blogosphere it gets its own life.
     
  18. cletusowns

    cletusowns Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    44
    25
    23
     
    PyroSporker likes this.
  19. Sauske

    Sauske Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    522
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011

    Mar 26, 2011
    522
    348
    113
    Student...for now!
    Orlando, Fl
    On one of the reviews they said that they contacted other reviewers and confirmed that the their phones models doesn't support 1080p? I'm wondering is this a simple update or will the 3D only support 720p? Any thoughts or news!?
     
  20. themuffinman75

    themuffinman75 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    421
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    421
    318
    88
    Atlanta
    I am sure it will be a simple update. I remember when the htc incredible 1 came out it could only do 480p then in a later update it was bumped up to 720p.
     
  21. MikeCzipri

    MikeCzipri Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    Jun 7, 2011
    29
    11
    18
    I read the same thing today...after pre-ordering my 3D yesterday...not happy about it but I really think it is due to a software glitch or something like that. They probably didn't want to release it with "bugs" and are going to try to figure it out afterwards...I really do think they will release an update to software at some point soon that will allow 1080p recording.

    In all honesty though, a 1080p recording on a phone was destined to be super choppy (much like 720p vids on EVO 4G) so I am not super unhappy about it. As long as the 720p video is better quality than the current EVO, I will be happy.

    I hope they give us the ability to record in 1080p in the future, but even if they don't as long as they improve the chopiness of hte 720p video capture that will be good enough for me.
     
  22. Sauske

    Sauske Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    522
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011

    Mar 26, 2011
    522
    348
    113
    Student...for now!
    Orlando, Fl
    I like to see evolution, and I wanted 1080p hopefully they don't screw us around and i feel you on the choppiness, and hopefully with two processors this shouldn't be a issue (I hope)


    I hope that's the case!
     
  23. cletusowns

    cletusowns Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    44
    25
    23
    I emailed HTC and they confirmed it will not have 1080p recording (only playback). It is sort of a let down for sure because I was getting excited about finally having a phone that could do full HD. I guess I would rather have smooth 720p and no 1080p rather than 1080p that is choppy and worthless.:cool:
     
  24. RichboyJhae

    RichboyJhae Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    439
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    439
    262
    88
    Texas
    I'm thinking we should push HTC for an upgrade bump to 1080 resolution. I'm sure the hardware is there (possibily not so much the camera) but we deserve the option, considering we were told about it at CTIA.
     
  25. PyroSporker

    PyroSporker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    1,773
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010

    Apr 3, 2010
    1,773
    1,281
    323
    Well, First thing is first, we should at least make sure that the hardware set up is even capable 1080p. If then we know its possible, and the end result is estimated of worthy quality, then maybe we can campaign HTC for more camera support. Mayhaps even a brave app developer out there can make it happen in spite of HTC?

    I was digging around the Android Developers page and found some stuff regarding the camera. I could be mis-interpreting but it seems there is a way to 'ping' the camera through the SDK or ADB Shell and have it return you the camera specs and profile? Question is will it return the underlying hardware profile and capabilities or is it just going to show us software-wise what is possible based on programming (what HTC will allow via Sense)? Again, I'm just stabbing in the dark; like I tend to do. I'm just an ideas man. I do not know how to use these tools, but others do and maybe we can figure out what we are working with. CamcorderProfile | Android Developers
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...