1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support HTC EVO 3D: Full specs for TECHIES & DUMMIES!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Vanquished, May 31, 2011.

  1. novox77

    novox77 Leeeroy Jennnkinnns!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,964
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    3,964
    3,257
    413
    given that the camera is capable of 5mp, there's no reason it can't do 1080p video at a hardware level. it was probably nerfed via firmware because the performance was crappy: too much data, crappy framerate, too taxing on processor, poor battery life, etc.

    why do we want 1080p video from a cell phone-made movie again?
     

    Advertisement

    jcunwired likes this.
  2. Rose4uKy

    Rose4uKy Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,236
    Joined:
    May 6, 2010

    May 6, 2010
    1,236
    222
    143
    Kentucky
    I'm confused cause I was running out of space also on my EVO with only 1 gig. And me and a friend even took an app (Google Earth) off oir my SD cards and it freed up 30mb on pur actual phone which I didn't understand. So are we saying that the EVO with 1 gig alot of that was being used for other stuff? Meaning we really didn't have a full 1gig for apps and that the 3D we will have a full 1 gig for apps? So saying that it has 4 gigs of internal really isn't true cause only 1 gig of that will be used for apps? Just trying to be sure I understand. Thanks!

     
  3. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,589
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,589
    70,375
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Yes, you've gotten the picture.

    You get a hard drive for your PC - some large part of that gets sucked up by the operating system and any pre-installed goodies. As you know, you don't get to use the whole hard drive space for your apps and data.

    Internal storage on these phones is acting like the hard drive on your PC.

    And add in your PC has some BIOS chips in it that configure things and get it to boot.

    In the case of the Evo or 3vo or Shift or ... that's all fitting that - and the radio firmware - into the space called internal storage (aka ROM on some spec sheets).

    And if any apps insist on putting their data and cache into that space rather than the SD card, that'll eat that internal storage up doing that, too.

    Some accept this, some don't and want to have free memory spec'd. HTC simply says space available to the user will depend on software configuration (of the pre-installed stuff).

    This is why moving apps to the SD card was so important. Not a perfect solution, but a pretty good one.
     
    Rose4uKy likes this.
  4. Rose4uKy

    Rose4uKy Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,236
    Joined:
    May 6, 2010

    May 6, 2010
    1,236
    222
    143
    Kentucky
    Well how come certain big apps were on pur SD card and when we deleted them it freed up memory on our phone. So when an app goes to sd card does so much of it still stay on the phone? But thanks! I think I should be ok with 1 gig on the 3D. I can't wait for the 3D.

     
  5. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,589
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,589
    70,375
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    I honestly didn't pay attention to the man behind the curtain on the apps to SD part of things. I just moved some over there and that was that.

    Maybe the app moved there but its cache or data didn't? Just guessing really. Maybe somebuddy else knows that one.
     
    Rose4uKy likes this.
  6. NeoteriX

    NeoteriX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    905
    734
    163
    Attorney
    This is exactly it. Moving an app doesn't move the entire app into the SD card space; there is typically some residual application left in the phone. I'll get a screenshot up that will explain.

    Edit: Below are two screen shots of Dolphin on the phone memory space and on the SD card. Not only is there the 1.59 MB of application data (user preferences, customization, skins, etc.), but as you can see, the Application space isn't completely shifted over to the SD card. Even when stored to SD via Apps2SD, .97 MB remains, and the efficiency by which an application is stored to SD really varies per application. Plants vs. Zombies which normally takes up 70-80 MB of space, can be moved to SD with only ~700 KB remaining on the phone. Dolphin for example is much less efficient, only shaving off about 75% of phone space.
     

    Attached Files:

    Rose4uKy and EarlyMon like this.
  7. SC300ES

    SC300ES Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    May 18, 2011

    May 18, 2011
    23
    15
    18
    Is there a way to lock the camera button on the side so it doesnt go on in my pocket?
     
  8. RichboyJhae

    RichboyJhae Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    439
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    439
    262
    88
    Texas

    I'd say just putting your phone to sleep. I couldn't imagine hitting the camera button would wake the phone and go into picture mode.
     
    SC300ES likes this.
  9. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,589
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,589
    70,375
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Does Apps2SD handle that differently than native Froyo apps to sd?

    Reason I ask - if a dev marks an app for SD install, seems he might've accounted for the right way to do it.

    If (and I don't know this) Apps2SD is just creating an app link from /system/app to the actual .apk, then it makes sense it's leaving stuff behind where the app thinks it lives.

    You'd think I'd just pull out adb and answer my own question. Maybe I'll do that later, unless someone already knows.
     
  10. NeoteriX

    NeoteriX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    905
    734
    163
    Attorney
    AFAIK, Apps2SD (at least the way I describe) is not a unique way of installing apps to SD -- it's just a convenient front end to get to the native Android application management where you have the option to move to SD.

    As I understand it, there is a root required method of moving apps to SD which is a bit more precarious.
     
  11. jcunwired

    jcunwired Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011

    Jun 8, 2011
    82
    40
    23
    Semanticweb
    Virginia
    If it can't properly record 720p (see today's Phone Arena review) then its not going to do 1080p well.
     
  12. Doomstang

    Doomstang Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    474
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    474
    253
    88
    Student at Mizzou
    Missouri
    So it looks like it DOES have Swype...I thought I had read earlier that people said it wouldn't have Swype
     
  13. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,589
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,589
    70,375
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Just part of the pre-release confusion. One reviewer said it had the gingerbread keyboard.

    We'll see soon!
     
  14. PyroSporker

    PyroSporker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    1,773
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010

    Apr 3, 2010
    1,773
    1,281
    323
    Swype is listed in the Phone manual .pdf as an input option, so it is officially official.
    There is also a 'trace' feature for the new gingerbread input as well.
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  15. Rose4uKy

    Rose4uKy Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,236
    Joined:
    May 6, 2010

    May 6, 2010
    1,236
    222
    143
    Kentucky
    Yeah I read HTC had a new feature called Trace. But I got Flex T9 for free off Amazons free app of the day one day and I use it. I speak alot and it works very good.

     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  16. ebolamonkey3

    ebolamonkey3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    255
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    255
    67
    53
    This is when I wish I didn't go with AT&T and their locked loading of non-Market apps.
     
  17. Rose4uKy

    Rose4uKy Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,236
    Joined:
    May 6, 2010

    May 6, 2010
    1,236
    222
    143
    Kentucky
    Yeah a couple weeks ago I was trying to get my coworker Amazon app store and he has ATT and he was mad. I love Sprint!

     
  18. Android 17

    Android 17 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    575
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010

    Mar 30, 2010
    575
    176
    113
    I read somewhere that AT&T is the only carrier in the WHOLE world that locks down third-party apps like that too.

    They've started allowing it in limited cases now, but still....I would hate to be on AT&T.
     
  19. ebolamonkey3

    ebolamonkey3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    255
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    255
    67
    53
    That's why I'm not on there anymore :)

    Well, that and this phone.


    Ok, mainly this phone. :p
     
  20. ArmageddonX

    ArmageddonX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,559
    Joined:
    May 12, 2011

    May 12, 2011
    1,559
    846
    213
    Male
    Stay at home Dad
    Arizona, USA
    It's amazing to me how many people disregard the Evo3D simply because it had a 3D feature. I was reading PhoneDog had a Sensation vs Evo3D poll. Several people were commenting they would take the Sensation over the Evo3D simply because the Evo3D had the 3D feature. That was the only reason they had. Shocking... but not really... a lot of other 'fans' of other models do this too.

    I think they are both great phones. It comes down to a 8mp camera vs a 5mp camera and 1gb ram vs 768mb ram. The fact that the Evo3D has a 3D feature shouldn't play into peoples thinking, in my opinion. It's just a 'feature' on the device. That's like disliking a phone because it has a volume rocker because you dislike volume rockers.

    Personal preference is one thing for things like UI, display, or Form-Factor issues. Disliking a phone because it has more features than another? That's pretty radical in my opinion.

    I didn't really have any place to post this... I was just frustrated and needed to vent. Thanks...
     
  21. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,687
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    7,687
    4,270
    313
    Male
    I fix stuff
    Over there <points>
    Something interesting I noticed today. The water damage sensor is on the replaceable battery. Seriously, is HTC just looking to warranty repair more phones?
     
  22. flairmedk

    flairmedk Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    68
    11
    18
    Flightmedic
    Orlando Area
    Has anyone confirmed wireless n speeds with the 3vo? I am just thinking I would upgrade from a g router if speeds are much increased.
     
  23. PyroSporker

    PyroSporker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    1,773
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010

    Apr 3, 2010
    1,773
    1,281
    323
    Theres nearly always one on an HTC battery. Theres usually one on the outside of the housing under the battery door somewhere, and I'm sure there is always one on the inside of the phone inaccessible to the user.

    If you look closely at all the holes in the back of the housing (at least on my unit) you can see the pink and white sticker tucked underneath the edge of the shell in one of the screw holes or access points. Undoubtedly there is one more deep inside the phone somewhere.

    Nothing really to get worked up about here.
     
  24. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,687
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    7,687
    4,270
    313
    Male
    I fix stuff
    Over there <points>
    Still seems kind of silly to not have one in visible range of the rear cover. The store techs wouldn't be able to check the internal ones, and with no visible one, it just seems like they are asking for more warranty work.
     
  25. PyroSporker

    PyroSporker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    1,773
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010

    Apr 3, 2010
    1,773
    1,281
    323
    Pop open the back and look to the right of the camera bezel. There's a crack/access point where you can visibly see the sticker tucked underneath. A store tech would be able to see if it is tripped or not.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...