1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support HTC EVO 3D: Full specs for TECHIES & DUMMIES!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Vanquished, May 31, 2011.

  1. biggamer3

    biggamer3 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    52
    0
    15
    Any way to lock the camera button on right side? always goes on in my arkon car cradle
     

    Advertisement

  2. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,589
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,589
    70,379
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Vanquished - Changed Gorilla Glass reference in OP by several users' request - hope that's ok, let me know if that's an issue, many thanks!
     
    Vanquished likes this.
  3. Vanquished

    Vanquished Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,040
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010

    Nov 2, 2010
    1,040
    281
    163
    Male
    Student
    USA
    Not a problem. It's been a while since I've updated anything on this.
     
  4. 814 htc evo

    814 htc evo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    516
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011

    Apr 8, 2011
    516
    154
    93
    Male
    Food Service Manager
    Erie, Pa
    Can the EVO 3d support a 32gb micro SD card hc and does it haveto be a certain class!? Cause the stock memory card I received with my 3vo on release day from my local corp Sprint store was an 8gb micro SD hc class 4 !? So does class matter? And can it support it please help thanks guys!!
     
  5. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,589
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,589
    70,379
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
  6. zer0cool

    zer0cool Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010

    Oct 21, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Regulator
    The Darkside
    I am trying to use the Yahoo Instant Messenger app I used with the EVO 4G on the EVO 3D. I also have incorporated the plug-in app for audio and video chat with other yahoo users. For some reason the app does not utilize the forward facing camera when running it with the EVO 3D, nor do I see any function button or switch that allows me to manually select the forward facing camera. Is this a known issue concerning this particular app running on the EVO 3D or is there something else I should be doing in order to video chat via YIM using the EVO 3D device?
     
  7. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,589
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,589
    70,379
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    It's a known issue with yahoo instant messenger. Their last update broke video on FFCs for everyone and everything, including the Evo.
     
    zer0cool likes this.
  8. CrazyTechnoBoy

    CrazyTechnoBoy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    677
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    677
    135
    113
    Male
    Denver, Colorado
    Had a dream the other day that I was finally a proud owner of an E3D. It was awesome, but sadly, it was just a dream. :( *sigh* One more week.
     
  9. TheFrigz

    TheFrigz Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011

    Jul 2, 2011
    82
    17
    18
    ok, i'll start by saying that i'm not very smart when it comes to phones. but i was under the impression that the evo 3d came with 4gb storage, and when i go to my settings and to my sd and phone capacity, under internal storage it says i have only 0.97gb left and i barely have anything on my phone. my question is, is most of this memory taken up by apps that were pre-loaded on the phone? or does mine for whatever reason only have 1gb of storage <_<
     
  10. strat1227

    strat1227 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    246
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011

    Jun 25, 2011
    246
    56
    53
    Covered pretty thoroughly in other threads, but the nitty gritty of it is that the phone has 4gigs memory, but only 1gig is USABLE, the rest is tied up in system files and such.

    Maybe after rooting custom roms will free up a little more, but who knows
     
    EarlyMon and TheFrigz like this.
  11. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,589
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,589
    70,379
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    ^1 GB usable for apps. By default, it's all being used by you,(or me) except for whatever portion is set aside for expansion.
     
  12. SirSlayer

    SirSlayer Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    875
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010

    Feb 18, 2010
    875
    455
    113
    QA Engineer
    San Diego, CA.
  13. Sgt. Slaughter

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010

    Jun 26, 2010
    62
    17
    18
     
  14. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,589
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,589
    70,379
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    ^This plus the confusion over whether Novatec is second supplying the screens. (Saw your link on how to use dmesg btw, thanks again.)

    Or - they always had GG and no one told marketing and support.

    I _really_ hate it when they can't get their act together and clarify this stuff. People here worked at it to find out the truth on this.

    Editing OP - what else can I do?
     
  15. Wiley_11

    Wiley_11 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    270
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    270
    138
    78
    SoCal
    Yes we have Gorilla Glass. :D

    Corning
     
  16. ArmageddonX

    ArmageddonX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,559
    Joined:
    May 12, 2011

    May 12, 2011
    1,559
    846
    213
    Male
    Stay at home Dad
    Arizona, USA
    Huzzah! :D
     
  17. NeoteriX

    NeoteriX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    905
    734
    163
    Attorney
    For the love of God I have no idea what to believe anymore.
     
  18. Vinter

    Vinter Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    May 25, 2011

    May 25, 2011
    88
    13
    18
    New Bedford, MA
    I'm gonna say easily this isn't the same Gorilla Glass that was on my T-mobile Vibrant, that thing had over a year of heavy use, and ZERO scratches, my EVO 3D has been babied and has a scratch on the screen already from god only knows what.. so if it is Gorilla Glass, its either a new type or highly defective.
     
  19. NeoteriX

    NeoteriX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    905
    734
    163
    Attorney
    Scratches are more likely luck than anything else. Even Gorilla glass can be scratched by sand stray particles.
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  20. Vinter

    Vinter Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    May 25, 2011

    May 25, 2011
    88
    13
    18
    New Bedford, MA
    I'm a stay at home dad, I don't do a whole lot of anything, if I leave.. it goes in an empty pocket. Believe me, I baby the hell out of this thing, and it has no reason to have an unlucky scratch. It isn't as scratch resistant as Vibrant.
     
  21. ArmageddonX

    ArmageddonX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,559
    Joined:
    May 12, 2011

    May 12, 2011
    1,559
    846
    213
    Male
    Stay at home Dad
    Arizona, USA
    I'm a stay at home Dad, too. I totally relate to what you're saying.
     
  22. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #16
    Points:
    1,483
    Posts:
    20,103
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    20,103
    9,883
    1,483
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    ..I stumbled on this and thought that other might be interested in it.

    EVO 3D Content


    EDIT: Must log in with Sprint credentials to read the content.
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  23. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,589
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,589
    70,379
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    So - what did I see there besides a table of contents for discussions?

    Was there a specs discussion?

    Maybe my setup followed the wrong link or something.
     
  24. Bob Maxey

    Bob Maxey Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    4,836
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010

    Sep 24, 2010
    4,836
    806
    233
    The GG web site at Corning specifically say the HTC Evo 3D uses Gorilla Glass.
     
  25. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,589
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,589
    70,379
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    There's some confusion - thanks to HTC reps - if it did on the earliest copies. It certainly does at this point - maybe it always did? Can't tell on that last part.

    The Evo 4G started without it, got it later.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...