1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

HTC HERO Snesoid/xxx_oid/ very choppy.. Solutions?

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by tannerw_2010, May 23, 2010.

  1. tannerw_2010

    tannerw_2010 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    May 23, 2010

    May 23, 2010
    57
    2
    16
    Ok so I got my Sprint Hero a couple days ago, and one of the first things I did was download Snesoid and Gameboid. Added some roms, and they loaded up fine, except they are so choppy, it is not playable. In attempts to make it run smoother, I cleared everything off of my main screens, and used Advanced app killer to make sure everything was off. Still, not much better. I was wondering if anyone has any clues as to what I should do? I am thinking about getting a Class 6 micro sd card, I heard that it would help, but would it help that much? Please let me know if there is anything I can do. I have searched google for many different possible solutions, but none of them have worked so far. Any ideas?

    P.S. I am running Android 2.1; it isn't any faster than 1.5 as far as the emulators go FWIW.

    -Tanner
     

    Advertisement

  2. tannerw_2010

    tannerw_2010 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    May 23, 2010

    May 23, 2010
    57
    2
    16
    Bump. Anyone?
     
  3. mrmojoz

    mrmojoz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    591
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    591
    63
    78
    Not meaning to be crass, but get a faster phone. If you can, return the Hero for an Evo next month. You are always going to be butting heads with the limitations of your Hero.
     
  4. tannerw_2010

    tannerw_2010 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    May 23, 2010

    May 23, 2010
    57
    2
    16
    I wish I could, but that is really not in the question for me. The $10 a month fee extra is just something that I am not willing to pay, as funds are tight the way it is I just don't think it is a true NEED (I just needed a smart phone period, upgrading from a Samsung Reclaim lol).

    So the fact that sprint did not make it optional to have the $10 fee (we don't even have 4g where I live anyway which is ridiculous that they would make people pay for it), I think there is money spent in better in other places so I'm just going to have to live without ever getting an EVO :<
     
  5. TheAndroidWorks

    TheAndroidWorks Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    269
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009

    Dec 17, 2009
    269
    27
    43
    Android Developer
    Nashville
    Tanner, I think you will be pleased to find out that there are several ROMs out now for the Hero that can overclock it to a nice speed!

    Between the overclock, JIT, and removing HTC Sense you should have no problem running those games. I would recommend having one nandroid setup for your games and then another for everyday use. Once you get it setup, it only takes a few minutes to switch between the two. Worst case scenario, you end up using the overclocked version all the time, or wait it out till the good guys over at xda get all the wrinkles ironed out.

    I am happy to PM you where to find the ROM's but out of respect to AF, don't want to plaster links to other message boards.

    Hope this helps you out! :D
     
  6. tannerw_2010

    tannerw_2010 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    May 23, 2010

    May 23, 2010
    57
    2
    16
    Yes, this is very helpful! Isn't it a problem that I have the official 2.1 release though? If you could, a PM would be nice, Thanks!
     
  7. dubs28st

    dubs28st Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010

    Feb 4, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    i tried all the emulators on my hero but i needed a keyboard does anyone know of any emu's with on screen keyboards... much thanks
     
  8. TheAndroidWorks

    TheAndroidWorks Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    269
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009

    Dec 17, 2009
    269
    27
    43
    Android Developer
    Nashville
    There is a work around if you do not have 2.1 on your phone and care to root it. With one of the ROM's you should be able to use a bluetooth remote (like a wii controller) to play games!
     

Share This Page

Loading...