1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Support HTC Hero Virtual Keyboard on Moment

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dmoseder, Nov 9, 2009.

  1. dmoseder

    dmoseder Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    15
    0
    15
    Here is a link to get the HTC Hero virtual keyboard on the moment. In my opinion its much better than the android 1.5 keyboard.

    ** LINK REMOVED BY MOD**

    Ive been using it for a day now and its been working great.

    MOD EDIT: The HTC Keyboard is property of HTC, installling it on unathorised devices is illegal. Links to the the files are not allowed on this forum
     

    Advertisement

  2. baddubbin

    baddubbin Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    60
    1
    16
    awesome, definite improvement over using the handcent keyboard i was using.
     
  3. petrafan007

    petrafan007 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    52
    6
    16
    Male
    Comcast
    MA
    very sweet. NOW...using the same method...is there a way we can get voice-to-text features on the phone? like especially for "where" or "handcent sms". that would be NICE.
     
  4. indiana jones

    indiana jones Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009

    Nov 2, 2009
    75
    0
    15
    great tip works great. ill be testing which is better, seems more responsive than on my hero but only time will tell. thanks for the post!:D
     
  5. Pertinax

    Pertinax Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    65
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009

    Oct 14, 2009
    65
    2
    16
    Had the Hero and swapped it for the Moment. I missed the touch keyboard on the Hero. Nice to have it back. Thx!
     
  6. glitch77

    glitch77 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009

    Nov 14, 2009
    6
    0
    25
    Edit: got it!
     
  7. baddubbin

    baddubbin Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    60
    1
    16
    can someone try using the numeric keypad on the google search widget and tell me if the t9 works there? i swore mine did before, but now t9 doesnt work there or in the market. but it works other places like handcent.
     
  8. danielg

    danielg Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009

    Nov 14, 2009
    44
    2
    16
    installed.

    coming from the hero, I got used to the on screen keyboard it had.

    This is better than the better keyboard imo.
     
  9. prot0type

    prot0type Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    22
    0
    15
    Tried out betterkeyboard but wasn't impressed, went back to stock a few days later.

    It's been awhile, but what is the difference between the hero's virtual keybaord from the moment's?
     
  10. Weeton

    Weeton Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009

    Nov 3, 2009
    25
    0
    15
    this is awesome. one of the few features i wanted from the hero now on my favorite phone. great find.
     
  11. ddanny82

    ddanny82 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    30
    1
    16
    great find! my cousin has the hero and i have to admit i had a lil hero envy when it came to t9 on the virtual keyboard. not anymore!!
     
  12. prot0type

    prot0type Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    22
    0
    15
    Installed. Now I remember what the Hero's keyboard was like. Will give it a try for a few days, otherwise stock keyboard is fine with me.

    I did notice though when using the physical keyboard, suggestive words now pop up. Probably not needed but nice to have as an extra.
     
  13. chibucks

    chibucks Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    412
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009

    Nov 3, 2009
    412
    48
    43
    great find. i saw this on another forum as well. just installed it and it's pretty nice. the whole warning about keystrokes and passwords was a bit concerning though... thoughts?
     
  14. agent0014

    agent0014 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    394
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    394
    1
    36
    Suggestive words? Like sausage, fish taco and frolic? Now that sounds like a good time!
     
  15. AndroidSPCS

    AndroidSPCS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,222
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    3,222
    478
    183
    geek
    USA
    I have this turned on with the virtual keyboard (stock) for the Moment, and it works great.

    I went into the Sprint store and played with the Hero virtual keyboard and compared it to the stock Moment virtual keyboard, and can't really tell any advantage. I'm used to the virtual Moment keyboard and it works fine for me now.
     
  16. Redflea

    Redflea Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,623
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009

    Oct 6, 2009
    2,623
    289
    163
    Works great on my DroId. :)
     
  17. joshpdavis80

    joshpdavis80 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009

    Dec 4, 2009
    37
    0
    15
    Rockwall, TX
    So far this seems to have fixed my keyboard lag. I had the hero previously and I definitely like its virtual keyboard better. Great find! :D
     
  18. vonfeldt7

    vonfeldt7 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    108
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    108
    3
    36
    It looks terrible though, doesn't it? I tried it on my Droid, and because of the high-res screen, the keyboard looks pretty bad in portrait. That, and in landscape it doesn't stretch to fit the whole screen.

    On a related note, I have have been using Anysoftkeyboard from the Marketplace, and have been pretty pleased with it.
     
  19. aclark414

    aclark414 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    151
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009

    Dec 13, 2009
    151
    13
    38
    Ohio
    I followed the directions, but when I open App Manager, at the top it says

    SD: 0/0 not accessible

    When I press menu, then install, it says not accessible.

    Any ideas?

    Note: I was able to mount my phone and transfer the file to the SD card.
     
  20. aclark414

    aclark414 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    151
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009

    Dec 13, 2009
    151
    13
    38
    Ohio
    Weird, it's working now. Closed app manager, reopened and it worked. So nevermind.
     
  21. ShepsCrook

    ShepsCrook Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    20
    1
    16
    When I go to AppManager and hit "Menu" it just brings up filter and sorting...

    Any ideas?
     
  22. Thefoodman52

    Thefoodman52 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,314
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    2,314
    329
    163
    Resource Consumer
    San Diego
    I read up some posts ago.... and I have to kinda agree. What's better about the Hero's virtual keyboard over the Moment's?
     
  23. numus

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    577
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    577
    32
    68
    Hero's actually has a calibration option to adapt the keyboard to how you push the screen in portrait mode (helps a lot).. Also the Hero's keyboard predictive text is much much better then stock android..
     
  24. kiddk1

    kiddk1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    363
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009

    Dec 17, 2009
    363
    15
    58
    Education
    MI
    just installed on my moment it works fine however when I go to the calibrate it force closes
     
  25. Redflea

    Redflea Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,623
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009

    Oct 6, 2009
    2,623
    289
    163
    That's odd. It looks great on my Droid in portrait. I don't type in landscape usually, so that doesn't matter to me.

    Not sure why it doesn't look good on yours, it's clear and sharp on mine.

    Also, I have to have compressed qwerty, and only htc and cootech have really good compact qwerty.
     

Samsung Moment

The Samsung Moment was one of the first Android Phones with a slideout keyboard.

Share This Page

Loading...