1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General HTC M8 wont boot

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by haavard, Jun 22, 2016.

  1. haavard

    haavard Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2016

    Jun 22, 2016
    6
    3
    6
    Male
    Today while surfing reddit several apps on my phone began crashing, so I figured it could need a restart. However, my device wouldn't turn on again after turning it off. I've tried going into recovery mode, reboot it through fastboot and factory reset it. It just freezes on the same HTC ONE startup screen. Is my M8 dead? Or is there anything I can do? Thanks in advance. :)

    Edit: I do not use an SD-card with my phone nor have I rooted it.
     

    Advertisement

    #1 haavard, Jun 22, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2016
  2. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    29,819
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    29,819
    24,509
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    Hello there!
    It's been quite a while since I've had an HTC device but I'll take a stab at it.

    You said you've factory reset the device.....I assume you did so via recovery?
     
    eddiekeyton and haavard like this.
  3. haavard

    haavard Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2016

    Jun 22, 2016
    6
    3
    6
    Male
    I tried to factory reset it through the menu that pops up when I press volume down and the power button. I have tried to use recovery, but my phone ended up freezing at the same screen again.
     
  4. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    29,819
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    29,819
    24,509
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    So you were successful at Factory reset via Hboot:
    [​IMG]

    and also via the recovery screen:
    [​IMG]
     
    haavard likes this.
  5. haavard

    haavard Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2016

    Jun 22, 2016
    6
    3
    6
    Male
    No I was not successful, I tried to factory reset it, but I failed. Whatever I would try to do it would just get stuck at the white HTC ONE screen on start up. Therefore I am wondering if my phone is dead.
     
    Mikestony likes this.
  6. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    29,819
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    29,819
    24,509
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    Hmm, I suppose the next thing I would try is to flash the most recent firmware.
    I believe that is done via a file in the form of an .img file.

    Let me see if I can dig up a guide to do so....
     
    eshieldsvx4 and haavard like this.
  7. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    @haavard

    Whatever happened,I'd find the exact HTC M8 RUU .exe for your phone & run it via PC,if possible.
     
    haavard and Mikestony like this.
  8. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    29,819
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    29,819
    24,509
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    Yeah, that's what it's called lol :D Boy, it's been a while...I'm a little rusty :D
     
    haavard and KOLIO like this.
  9. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I would be as well if not for just picking up a couple HTC's recently..... ;)

    EDIT:

    @haavard
    If you do run the RUU .exe,make sure you have the phone charged up/leave plugged-in after running the program.
    Some patience is called for,although the process is relatively easy & painless (you'll lose all data/etc...),the initial boot-up will take some time.Fifteen to thirty minutes isn't unheard of.
    If you see the LED fading/pulsing ever so slightly during the process,this is a good sign,just wait & your phone will boot-up.
    Wouldn't be a bad idea to have a small desktop fan handy to keep the phone cool during the process,the phone tends to get quite warm on initial boot & keeping it cool may actually speed up the process a bit.....
     
    haavard and Mikestony like this.
  10. haavard

    haavard Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2016

    Jun 22, 2016
    6
    3
    6
    Male
    I'm not really techsavvy so I have no idea how to do that lol
     
  11. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    29,819
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    29,819
    24,509
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    Another person that may provide some help is @saltire , as I've seen several of his posts in different threads there getting folks back on track with Evo's that got borked.

    May want to rattle his cage to see if he can pop in here also:)
    I'd hate to steer you in the wrong direction with flashing stuff as I'm not familiar with the M8, or where to find files for it :(
     
    saltire, haavard and KOLIO like this.
  12. haavard

    haavard Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2016

    Jun 22, 2016
    6
    3
    6
    Male
    I would do this if I knew how to, I'll research it in the morning. Have to get some sleep now. :)
     
    KOLIO and Mikestony like this.
  13. haavard

    haavard Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2016

    Jun 22, 2016
    6
    3
    6
    Male
    @Mikestony @KOLIO
    Hey guys, I've managed to find out which RUU file I need. Sadly I can't find a download for HTC__Y13. Do you guys know where to download it? I read that I have to RELOCK it by typing fastboot oem lock in the cmd prompt, but mine doesn't relock. How do I do that?

    Edit: Found the correct RUU.exe but when I try to flash it fails. https://gyazo.com/59efb1bbe18ab8e9ae129e5ea6cdd6ba
     
    #13 haavard, Jun 23, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2016
  14. saltire

    saltire Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    1,011
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    @haavard PMed you back, I'll take a look at this tomorrow and get back to you here. We can probably get you back up and running OK.

    thanks for headsup @Mikestony work v busy so not dropped by for a while
     
    Mikestony and KOLIO like this.
  15. eshieldsvx4

    eshieldsvx4 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2014

    Feb 16, 2014
    99
    41
    53
    Male
    I have a few RUUs lying around on my laptop. I have the WWE and T-Mobile RUU for MM.

    I suggest http://graffixnyc.com/ for a comprehensive list. GraffixNYC is an XDA user whose specialty is HTC devices. Thanks to him I was able to bring my firmware up to MM without displacing my KK installation.

    I'm a slow upgrader.

    Hope that helps.
     
    KOLIO and Mikestony like this.

HTC One M8

The HTC One M8 is the Taiwanese company's flagship phone for the first half of 2014. It built on its predecessor with an upgraded 5-inch 1080p display, Snapdragon 801 processor, 2GB of RAM, 32GB of internal storage, and an UltraPixel rear Duo Camera.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...