1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support HTC Music app Force Closes

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by k2buckley, Jul 20, 2011.

  1. k2buckley

    k2buckley Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    23
    5
    16
    Hey guys. I usually frequent XDA, but the 3D forums over there are a complete mess and rather annoying to browse now-a-days. I've decided to start spending more time here because it seems to be a lot more civil and friendly. I will always try to help others out and answer any questions that I have knowledge on. Please ignore my extremely low post count, because as I said, I spent most of my time with the Evo4g on XDA. thanks!:p

    That said, after searching for a bit, I was unable to turn up any previous threads with users experiencing force closes with the HTC Music app. I can almost always produce a force close by going to the 'artists' section of my library. Then if I choose an artist that I have multiple albums of, first I notice that the album arts are all mixed up and out of place. For instance, the album art for "john frusciante's To Record Only Water For Ten Days" will show up on "John Frusicanten's The Empyrean". So I'll choose the Empyrean, and it will display all of the songs for To Record Only Water for Ten Days. Then I'll hit the back button to go back to the albums and choose the correct album, but I always get a force close at that point. It drives me crazy. It happens to pretty much any artist that I have multiple albums. The stock music app seems super buggy. I've tried a couple of factory resets, and the problem still exists.

    I would prefer to just use the Google Music Beta all the time, but I always find myself missing the lockscreen widget. Anyways, has anyone else experienced anything like that? I'm just curious if it's widespread, or if I have some sort of weird issue with my music collection, which I don't think is the case, because I never had any issues with the same collection of music on my Evo 4g. Thanks in advance.
     

    Advertisement

  2. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #36
    Points:
    683
    Posts:
    6,360
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    6,360
    4,062
    683
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    if your music is encoded in different wrappers/formats and you have lots of files, it could be causing your issue. i dont think its widespread.

    there are other 3rd party apps such as poweramp that work wonderful. have you tried other players?
     
    k2buckley likes this.
  3. k2buckley

    k2buckley Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    23
    5
    16
    The only other one I've used is the Google music beta, which gives me no issues at all. The only reason I tend to like the HTC music player is because of the lockscreen widget. I'll try giving power amp a try though, I'm sure I can get used to not having the lockscreen widget.

    Thanks for your quick reply.
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  4. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,440
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    I admit my ignorance here - where's the lockscreen music widget?
     
  5. k2buckley

    k2buckley Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    23
    5
    16
    When you have music playing via the HTC Music player, if your phone is locked, and then you go to unlock it, there is a Music widget on your lockscreen by default that allows you to pause or change tracks when the phone is locked. If you use a pattern, it saves you the extra 3 seconds of unlocking the phone and going to your music player to change tracks or whatever (yes I'm lazy) It comes in handy when I'm out on a walk and the sun is reflecting off the screen, I don't have to mess around with unlocking the phone, because the widget is right there.

    The most convenient way to change tracks that I've found, was on CM7 on my evo, it allows you to long hold the volume rockers to change music tracks. That way you don't even need to take the phone out of your pocket. Just find the volume rocker, hold it down, and your track changes. I miss that!
     
    marctronixx and EarlyMon like this.
  6. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #36
    Points:
    683
    Posts:
    6,360
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    6,360
    4,062
    683
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    poweramp is not free (maybe its a free version? i forget) however it does have a lock screen feature also. very powerful player.
     
    k2buckley and EarlyMon like this.
  7. linzgeneral

    linzgeneral Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    108
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    108
    20
    38
    Happens to me every time. I was kind of shocked myself that more people wasn't complaining about it. HTC's own app forceclosing - hmmmmm...makes you wonder if this phone was ever tested.
     
    k2buckley likes this.
  8. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,440
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Just like the Evo. No doubt in my mind, we need that close-to-launch stability update.
     
    marctronixx likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...