1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Htc one m8 international problem

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Imran jan, Dec 21, 2014.

1. Imran jan

Imran jan Newbie
    None

Dec 21, 2014
    Hi thanks in advance for any help I might get,

Im new to android so sorry if I need things to be explained or Im a bit slow!
    I have a HTC One M8 rooted with superSU and XposedInstaller, S-on, twrp recovery and bootloader unlocked. I wanted to get the OTA Update (3.28.401.9?) and was wondering how I would go about doing this, and how to restore my apps and data after etc.

And also I wanted to know if it would be best to unroot my phone so I could take the Android L update when it is released, and again how would I do that and still keep my data, apps, media etc.

Thanks!

Advertisement

2. olbriar

olbriar  

Jun 19, 2010
    Male
    Land of Oz
    Hi Imran jan. I moved your thread into the root discussion area for the M8. You will get the best answers here. Welcome to Android Forums. Thanks for joining the community.

3. dan55

dan55 Android Expert

Oct 23, 2010
    hi there and welcome
    it sounds like you are on stock rom and rooted - is that correct? if so i think it should be pretty straight forward - ive not done it myself and am a bit rusty with the process - but i think you can just download the latest firmware from HTC dev site and then flash it
    ...i would wait for confirmation from one of the more technical guys first though :D
    cheers
    dan

.......most important bit - DO A NANDOID BACKUP FIRST! :) ie boot into recovery and select the nandroid option to backup everything - then i like to do a Titanium backup of all my apps

#3 dan55, Dec 21, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2014
  4. EarlyMon

EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    None

Jun 10, 2010
    New Mexico, USA
    Better way is to flash a stock rooted rom of that distribution and reinstall your exposed modules.