1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Htc one m8 unlocked stuck on boot screen

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by zimmdo23, Apr 22, 2014.

  1. zimmdo23

    zimmdo23 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014

    Apr 22, 2014
    21
    7
    16
    Male
    :thinking: I bought a htc one m8 from a guy and it was unlocked and had a bootloader on it well all said and done i went to reset it and ended up wiping evertthing from the phone. it is stuck on the white bootloader screen and i tried the htc sync and it didn't help. does anyone have files or something i could load through my computer to install on my htc one m8????
     

    Advertisement

  2. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,182
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,182
    8,677
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    I don't have this phone but until the real experts come along, I'll try to get some info which may help us/them.

    When you say the phone is unlocked, do you mean the bootloader was unlocked? Is this phone branded for a specific carrier?

    Was the phone booting normally until the reset and did you reset from the phone's settings or from a custom recovery?

    Do you know if you have a custom recovery? To check, it seems you are stuck in the bootloader now is that correct (hboot). If so, first look at the top of the screen...does it say s-on or s-off? Then use the volume keys to scroll to recovery and press power to enter. What does that bring up?
     
    Granite1 and scotty85 like this.
  3. zimmdo23

    zimmdo23 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014

    Apr 22, 2014
    21
    7
    16
    Male
    It is unlocked and I reset it from the recovery I believe and now it's stuck on the white screen with the green HTC and I can't get to the bootlpader I might of wiped the whole operating system
     
  4. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,182
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,182
    8,677
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    Ok. Do you have TWRP recovery installed then? Power off the phone entirely, if need be long press power till it shuts off. Once the phone is off, press and hold volume down and the power button simultaneously and see if you get to the hboot screen.

    While there, again for the sake of interest, check top of screen to see if you're s-on or s-off. Then scroll to recovery and press power to enter. Would like to verify that you can access recovery still and see that it's TWRP or not.
     
    Granite1 and scotty85 like this.
  5. zimmdo23

    zimmdo23 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014

    Apr 22, 2014
    21
    7
    16
    Male
    I have no recovery. The power button by itself don't work. It won't power off the phone. Holding the volume down and the power button does nothing. Then the power button and volume up only reboots the phone till it gets to the white HTC screen
     
  6. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,182
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,182
    8,677
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    Are you long pressing the power button to shut down? Press and hold for up to 15 seconds or more if need be.
     
  7. zimmdo23

    zimmdo23 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014

    Apr 22, 2014
    21
    7
    16
    Male
    I am holding down on the power button and nothing it just stay s on the white boot screen. I held it for a minute and nothing
     
  8. CapThrowback

    CapThrowback Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    878
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    878
    1,647
    273
    Male
    Manager
    Pwnnsylvania
    It's power + volume up you have to hold to reboot this device. That simulates a battery pull.
     
  9. zimmdo23

    zimmdo23 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014

    Apr 22, 2014
    21
    7
    16
    Male
    I did that also. I need a way or program that I can put on my computer to install the operating system and drivers on the phone
     
  10. CapThrowback

    CapThrowback Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    878
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    878
    1,647
    273
    Male
    Manager
    Pwnnsylvania
    You hold Power+Volume up until the phone starts to reboot, and then immediately release those buttons and hold volume down. That should get you into the bootloader. From there you should be able to access recovery.
     
    Granite1 and scotty85 like this.
  11. zimmdo23

    zimmdo23 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014

    Apr 22, 2014
    21
    7
    16
    Male
    It won't go to the boot loader
     
  12. CapThrowback

    CapThrowback Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    878
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    878
    1,647
    273
    Male
    Manager
    Pwnnsylvania
    What does it do? As soon as the screen goes dark from holding Power+Volume up, you're releasing those buttons and immediately holding volume down? The bootloader should come up as you're holding the button.
     
    Granite1 and scotty85 like this.
  13. zimmdo23

    zimmdo23 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014

    Apr 22, 2014
    21
    7
    16
    Male
    It goes black and then turns back on the white boot screen. It does that if I hold them or let them go
     
  14. CapThrowback

    CapThrowback Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    878
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    878
    1,647
    273
    Male
    Manager
    Pwnnsylvania
    You let go all but volume down. That's the only one you hold. You sure you're holding volume DOWN when it reboots, and releasing the other buttons? I've gotten this confused before, that's why I ask.
     
    scotty85 likes this.
  15. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,182
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,182
    8,677
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    Ok, I think I've figured it out now. They made it overly tricky with this phone. :rolleyes:

    Spotted a post from Scotty buried over at XDA...

    Between CapThrowback's method and the above, surely ONE of them has to work.
     
    typerjim and zimmdo23 like this.
  16. zimmdo23

    zimmdo23 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014

    Apr 22, 2014
    21
    7
    16
    Male
    That worked switching to the volume up then down I'm on the boot loader now what do it do
     
    scotty85 likes this.
  17. CapThrowback

    CapThrowback Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    878
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    878
    1,647
    273
    Male
    Manager
    Pwnnsylvania
    Choose recovery and see what happens.
     
    zimmdo23 and scotty85 like this.
  18. zimmdo23

    zimmdo23 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014

    Apr 22, 2014
    21
    7
    16
    Male
    I did it goes to team win recovery project v2.7.0.0 and it has install , wipe, backup, restore, mount, settings , advanced, reboot
     
  19. CapThrowback

    CapThrowback Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    878
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    878
    1,647
    273
    Male
    Manager
    Pwnnsylvania
    Sounds like you need to find a ROM to sideload. I'm on Sprint so unfortunately I can't be of any help on that. Hopefully someone else can chime in and help with that. I'm glad you at least were able to get to recovery.
     
    Granite1, zimmdo23 and scotty85 like this.
  20. zimmdo23

    zimmdo23 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014

    Apr 22, 2014
    21
    7
    16
    Male
    I do really appreciate the help . Thank you
     
    scotty85 likes this.
  21. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,182
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,182
    8,677
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    Is this phone carrier branded or no?
     
    scotty85 likes this.
  22. zimmdo23

    zimmdo23 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014

    Apr 22, 2014
    21
    7
    16
    Male
    Yes it's Sprint
     
    Granite1, scotty85 and iowabowtech like this.
  23. CapThrowback

    CapThrowback Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    878
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    878
    1,647
    273
    Male
    Manager
    Pwnnsylvania
    zimmdo23, scotty85 and iowabowtech like this.
  24. zimmdo23

    zimmdo23 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014

    Apr 22, 2014
    21
    7
    16
    Male
    Dumb question what is adb?
     
  25. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #
    Rank:
     #15
    Points:
    1,493
    Posts:
    12,182
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    12,182
    8,677
    1,493
    Making the Establishment nervous
    Iowa|USA
    zimmdo, if you have a usb card reader laying around or perhaps an sdcard reader built into a laptop/pc...you should be able to remove the sdcard from the phone and then place a rom onto it. The one that CaptainT linked is perfect since its stock with everything working.

    Once you have the rom on the removable sdcard, then replace into phone and use TWRP options to install zip from sdcard > choose zip from sdcard. Find the rom you placed there and flash it.
     
    Granite1, zimmdo23 and scotty85 like this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...