1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support HTC One S App Issues!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by noz81, Apr 11, 2012.

  1. noz81

    noz81 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012

    Apr 11, 2012
    10
    0
    15
    Hi all

    I have recently bought a HTC One S on O2 UK which i must say, is a brilliant phone, it is pre-installed with ICS and came with a load of Apps already installed as per usual. i'm having issues with a couple though. I went to download the Ebay and O2 apps from Google Play but it said they were already installed and gave me the option to open them from within Google Play. They are not available to access from the phone in the usual pages in the menu where all the other apps are but do show as being installed on the list of all Apps in the settings menu (cant do anything with them in there though, cant uninstall as it says they are 'built in apps').

    Am i missing something?!?! Surely i shouldnt have to log into Google Play to open certain Apps?? everything else i have downloaded has worked fine and the other ones pre-installed also show on the phone menu. whats the deal with these two?

    Any help or advice would be well received

    Cheers
    Neil
     

    Advertisement

  2. bigt

    bigt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    251
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    251
    42
    43
    Admin
    Hereford
    [​IMG]

    is 'all apps' selected when you open the app drawer, shown in the red elipse above
     
  3. noz81

    noz81 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012

    Apr 11, 2012
    10
    0
    15
    It most certainly is, and they dont show, cant locate them by searching either, but they are there to open on the Play Store and show as installed under the App section on the Settings.
     
  4. bigt

    bigt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    251
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    251
    42
    43
    Admin
    Hereford

    I am stumped then
     
  5. mjrose

    mjrose Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012

    Apr 13, 2012
    3
    1
    26
    sanibel likes this.
  6. as439726

    as439726 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    439
    Joined:
    May 23, 2009

    May 23, 2009
    439
    43
    43
    This may sound silly, but can you uninstall and reinstall?
     
  7. mjrose

    mjrose Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012

    Apr 13, 2012
    3
    1
    26
    Unfortunately not. These apps or pre-installed, you can disable and re-enable them, but doing so dosnt change anything.
     
  8. noz81

    noz81 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012

    Apr 11, 2012
    10
    0
    15
    This seems crazy and something definitely not right. i might go into my O2 shop and see what they say. No point having an Android phone if you cant even launch the Apps i want!
     
  9. bigmark

    bigmark Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012

    Apr 14, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Just like to say I'm having the exact same issue! Let me know how you get on!
     
  10. as439726

    as439726 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    439
    Joined:
    May 23, 2009

    May 23, 2009
    439
    43
    43
    Check xda. Root, remove, reinstall.
    Hoping for you and me when I buy it shortly
     
  11. noz81

    noz81 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012

    Apr 11, 2012
    10
    0
    15
    Sorry, not with you, i'm a rookie!
     
  12. bigt

    bigt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    251
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    251
    42
    43
    Admin
    Hereford
    Have you tried a factory data reset? In settings then storage.

    Warning: Factory reset will permanently delete all your data and customized settings, and will remove any applications you’ve downloaded and installed. Be sure to back up any data and files you want to keep before you do a factory reset.
     
  13. as439726

    as439726 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    439
    Joined:
    May 23, 2009

    May 23, 2009
    439
    43
    43
    Go to xda developers web site. Type "root one S" and it will walk you through the steps.
     
  14. Sprawlsy

    Sprawlsy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010

    Apr 20, 2010
    31
    0
    15
    I am having exactly the same issue with the 'Your Orange' app. Could it be that it only happens to network installed apps??
     
  15. jb5001

    jb5001 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010

    Oct 21, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    I had the same issue on o2... Have you reset your phone since you inserted the micro-sim? I reset my phone earlier, it asked if I wanted to install new carrier settings (or something like that), if you click accept it changes all of your carefully constructed wallpapers (so back up beforehand) to an o2 default, but I can now access the eBay app and other o2 apps! Good.
     
  16. noz81

    noz81 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012

    Apr 11, 2012
    10
    0
    15
    Sounds promising, which type of reset did you do and where is that option in the menu?
     
  17. Sprawlsy

    Sprawlsy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010

    Apr 20, 2010
    31
    0
    15
    *Update* The missing app is now showing, didn't do any resets either, it just appeared this morning when I was scrolling through my apps. Curious!

    Hope the rest of you get sorted.
     
  18. noz81

    noz81 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012

    Apr 11, 2012
    10
    0
    15
    Update from me too. i did a matsre reset including the storage and when it restarted, a load of extra apps appeared, including the ebay and o2 ones. bit weird but all working now...
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...