1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support HTC One specifications and discussion (Keep thread on topic)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by KOLIO, Feb 20, 2013.

  1. Desert Cactus

    Desert Cactus Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010

    Aug 28, 2010
    95
    44
    23
    ok cool thx. I guess if I buy the phone, it will be up to Sprint to unlock it or not...
     

    Advertisement

  2. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    According to HTC, that's the case, 2 frequencies, as the Sprint version isn't the GSM model -

    http://www.htc.com/www/smartphones/htc-one/#specs
     
    Desert Cactus, Hadron and marctronixx like this.
  3. Desert Cactus

    Desert Cactus Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010

    Aug 28, 2010
    95
    44
    23
    EarlyMon, so according to that page the One on Sprint should have the following:

    2G/2.5G - GSM/GPRS/EDGE:
    850/900/1800/1900 MHz

    1900/2100 MHz with HSDPA up to 14.4 Mbps

    3G - CDMA:
    800/1900 MHz for Sprint

    LTE
    1900 MHz

    I guess this is correct since the 2G/2.5G did not specified that is is specific to a particular handset or company?
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  4. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    From AnandTech | Print The HTC One Review (empasis below is mine)

    Attached is the datasheet for the Qualcomm modems used in the various models.

    The Sprint model's modem will do GSM/GRPS/EDGE, but we've seen this same confusion on the releases for the Evo, 3vo and LTEvo - the modem support is there, but the limiting factor is always the actual radio transceiver chips.

    The ifixit teardown is for the middle model with the MDM9215, so I don't have the transceiver chip to show (yet).

    Could I be wrong? Yes. But it's rare for either AnandTech or I to get this one wrong.

    PS - when clean, this will go into the FAQ were it belongs, it also helps answer questions about the DEV phone and what carriers it can work with.

    PPS - Big thanks to marctronixx for the reminder and tip here! :) ;)
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Desert Cactus

    Desert Cactus Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010

    Aug 28, 2010
    95
    44
    23
    ok, so I'm thorough confuse by this phone. Sprint keeps telling me it is a world phone yet cannot tell me the frequency this thing have....

    That last column with the Sprint model shows only two GSM bands and the CDMA and LTE for sprint. The GSM is for data I believe. How then will it make phone call if it is a world phone unless it has the other bands....

    Thanks everyone for trying to shed light on this puzzle for me.
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  6. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    The two bands on the Sprint phone are popular elsewhere in the world - world phone.

    I was in Korea, in an area with CDMA coverage with the same exact frequencies we used - even with the radios matching, I had no coverage.

    I've been in parts of Asia with AT&T GSM phones where I could call but not get data.

    AT&T's model has 3 frequencies rather 2 or 4.

    More frequencies = more coverage...

    ... supposedly, but even when the frequencies match, you don't get guarantees and when they don't - you're stuck.

    Closest you can get here is the ATT or T-Mo phone (but so far as I know, that last one is doing its own thing with AWs on one of those channels, so for world coverage) - you'll still max out at 3 with those.

    UMTS frequency bands - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

    PS - you can do voice on UMTS - http://www.umtsworld.com/technology/wcdma.htm
     
    marctronixx and Desert Cactus like this.
  7. Desert Cactus

    Desert Cactus Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010

    Aug 28, 2010
    95
    44
    23
    Ok, so France uses Edge/GSM 900/1800 and 900/2100 for 3G. I might be able to use the Sprint version in France....

    Thanks Early!

    BTW, I visited New Mexico this February! Awesome and beautiful state! Wouldn't mind living there!
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  8. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Here's an oldie but a goodie from 2006 - GSM, EDGE, WCDMA, GPRS, HSDPA

    Pretty sure that (most of) France won't be a problem.
     
  9. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    BTW - people refer to the entire 800 MHz area as a class name.

    Almost a certainty that the Sprint HTC One is really 800/850/1900 CDMA and will support 1x Advanced services.

    Sprint was clear at last year's LTEvo unveiling that would be required for all 4G phones moving forward.
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  10. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    ironman187 and marctronixx like this.
  11. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    On the heels of GOOGLE I/O 2013 & the announcement of the SGS4 w/stock ANDROID to be available 6/13 direct from GOOGLE,a statement from HTC regarding a stock ANDROID experience on the HTC ONE soon followed:

    HTC denies HTC One
     
  12. TheAtheistReverend

    TheAtheistReverend Anybody want a peanut?
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,837
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    2,837
    933
    333
    EMT
    Minneapolis


    What do y'all think the deal with Nokia and the microphones?
    HTC One HDR microphone disappears from spec sheet after Nokia injunction (updated)
    Will HTC find and use something high enough quality that we who waited will not suffer?
    On that subject, does anyone know of any other productions changes or concerns moving forward?
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  13. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    http://focustaiwan.tw/news/ast/201305160033.aspx

    One production doubling this month and increasing again next month on the heels of the SGS4 release is just huge.

    Pretty sure that the microphone isn't an issue now, and they're getting screens from Japan Display, the as in the supplier from Japan, so I'd be very surprised to see a component change there as well.

    I'm interested to see what the increased production will bring. They planned for it, so we'll see.
     
  14. Desert Cactus

    Desert Cactus Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010

    Aug 28, 2010
    95
    44
    23
    This is huge news for HTC and Android in general. I've always considered Apple to have the best quality built products including phones. This is no longer the case I think. I personally have seen a few Ones already while I have only seen one HTC One X from last year.
     
  15. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    This is a little tangential to your point - but last year's Sprint variant of the One X - the HTC Evo 4G LTE - actually set the stage for this year's One.

    HTC has done aluminum before on their old Windows phones but the One is in a whole other class - and a big part of that is because it's not their first attempt.

    Check out the statements on machining and metallurgy in the following and you'll see why I think that the LTEvo was in many ways actually a prototype for the One.



    Opening line - "We're always looking years in advance..."

    The chassis construction of the One has been the product of evolution as much as invention, that's why it's so good right out of the gate - in my opinion.

    Until recently, while the biggest thread here was what accessory to get, the biggest thread (of about the same size at the time) in the SGS4 forum was comparing it to the One.

    HTC, as you say, is definitely winning with their design specs.
     
  16. Desert Cactus

    Desert Cactus Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010

    Aug 28, 2010
    95
    44
    23
    Yeah, I understand that this is not HTC's first attempt and the Evo LTE is also aluminum. However, the Evo was nowhere close to this in terms looks and feel due to the fact that half of it was that shiny plastic. The worst part was that they were two different colors. I think look wise the One is just that much better which was why I did not bought the Evo LTE although I could have upgraded.

    :)
     
  17. PyroSporker

    PyroSporker Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    1,775
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010

    Apr 3, 2010
    1,775
    1,284
    323
    In my opinion of course, I think even down to the naming of the device shows their degree of planning. It seems to me that the letter X has a long history of being associated with prototype naming schemes. From golf clubs to guns to airplanes.
    One X -> One, while confusing and frustrating helps exemplify the timeline of moving from iteration to improved iteration of a device.
    Variants, which can also be confusing and frustrating helps allow the company to try different builds, materials, and processes. Which can down the road help hone in on what works the best and what didn't work.
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  18. vnguyen972

    vnguyen972 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010

    Nov 16, 2010
    41
    2
    16
    https://support.htc.com/en-us/070-HTC_One_X_ATT/0M0/What_Bluetooth®_Profiles_does_my_device_support?

    EDIT: NVM.. that was the X :)
     
  19. SolApathy

    SolApathy Just another robot
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    1,863
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    1,863
    1,524
    333
    Male
    IT
    Ohio
  20. rangergrrl

    rangergrrl Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    117
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    117
    35
    43
    Network Operations
    Planet Earth
    I've just upgraded to this on Sprint's network from the EVO 4G LTE and i didn't really think about it but...it appears i'm not able to place calls and surf at the same time. My prior phone was capable of this. Is the ONE not able to do this?
     
  21. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #30
    Points:
    683
    Posts:
    6,613
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    6,613
    4,344
    683
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    Post @21 in this thread:

    EM says it best:

    Yes, normal voice plus 4G data, where available, will work - same as for WiMax.

    The coming thing is VoLTE, simultaneous voice and data over LTE alone. Last year at the intro of the LTEvo, Sprint CEO Dan Hesse said that from that phone forward, all Sprint LTE phones would have that capability. I don't know that it's been implemented anywhere on the network yet though.
     
  22. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I'm guessing you're in an area where 4G LTE hasn't been deployed just yet.

    If you're on 3G,it's not possible.The EVO 4G LTE & SAMSUNG GALAXY S3 have the capability (SVDO) on 3G.

    SVDO - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

    I found this post from ANDROID CENTRAL which pretty much sums up why your SPRINT HTC ONE doesn't have simultaneous voice & data on 3G:

    The Samsung Galaxy Victory was the last Sprint LTE phone released to support SVDO. Sprints SVDO capable phones were setup so that EVDO and LTE shared the same transmission path thereby leaving the 1X radio to transmit independently from EVDO. Due to the buildout of Network Vision, that feature won't be needed for very long. I wouldn't let it get to you. If you want that feature, use your old phones until LTE comes to your area

    It's one of the reasons I switched to T-MOBILE.If your purchase of the ONE was tied-in to a contract renewal,I'd consider a return/refund & release from contract without penalty if possible,& select a GSM carrier (T-MOBILE or AT&T) which have simultaneous voice-data on 3G.

    Or,as the quote above suggested,if you still have the EVO 4G LTE,I'd just hang on to it until 4G LTE is available in your area.
     
    rangergrrl likes this.
  23. kopkiwi

    kopkiwi Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    287
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    287
    24
    58
    Male
    Risk Analyst
    Christchurch, NZ
    I love this phone. The build quality is nothing short of amazing and it's sexy as hell.

    My one announce is the LED light, it's ability only to show red and green and the fact you can't actually see it.
     
  24. kct1975

    kct1975 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    1,196
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011

    Sep 26, 2011
    1,196
    1,053
    523
    Male
    NoVA
    I love my HTC One, and am glad I wanted to get it (upgrading from the OG EVO)
     
  25. cannon11

    cannon11 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    150
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012

    Aug 22, 2012
    150
    8
    36
    Male
    Wisconsin
    So on the upper left hand side of my sprint htc one there appears to be a sim card slot. Is that what it is? I thought sprint phones didn't use sim cards, Is it for travelling internationally?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...